We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Albergo Milano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Milano
Ranked #1 of 12 Varenna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed in the hotel and had a room with ' lake side view' which was somewhat misleading because we had to step out onto the small terrace to see the lake. the view from our beds was of a somewhat ugly building across the lane outside. The room a also quite noisy, we could hear activity in the room next door, especially when our neighbours used their bathroom. Having said all that, it's a smart hotel in a great location and the room presented very well. I imagine the view of lake from the rooms that have real lake view is wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelbourneSuzannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 579 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our visit to Varenna on Lake Como. I did some research on accommodation and Albergo Milano was the choice I made for myself and my husband. Our trip was short as we were on a fact-finding two days and we wanted somewhere that was within easy walking distance of the train station and near to the Ferry and the main square. We actually found that Varenna is not that big and everything is accessible. The hotel is located down a narrow street (no car access) and is very easy to find. We were early but our room was ready - we were checked in, given key information maps etc and taken up to our room. We stayed in Room 4 which was perfect for us. A very pleasant mid-sized room with lateral view of the lake, a very good view of the lake and lush gardens. The shower room is a good size with a good shower. The room is on the corner of the building so is next to the narrow street. We were here in April and found it very peaceful. Our room did not have a fridge I am not sure about the others. The bed was extremely comfortable.

There is a lovely terrace for dining (breakfast and dinner) which in good weather I can imagine is breath-taking , but unfortunately it rained quite heavily for the two days that we were there. We booked our first night dinner in the Albergo Milano restaurant and what a divine experience it was. The two young girls who work in the restaurant are a credit to the owners. From the canapé served prior to the meal through to the dessert is flavour explosion. We were lucky to dine there on our second night. Lucky because we did not book and there was a cancellation and we received a call to our room to say there was an available table. We are going back in September so we will definitely be booking a table.

In the room there is a very helpful information booklet that tells you everything you need to know to get oriented in Varenna. All the team at Albergo Milano are extremely helpful and pleasant.

We really liked the hotel it felt very comfortable to be there.

Room Tip: There are rooms with a full view of the Lake that may appeal to first time visitors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The town of Varenna is very very beautiful. Maybe not so much for the kids, but worth visit anyway. We had a big room not in the main building of Albergo Milano. Everything was perfect except one thing: no air conditioning. It was my own fault since I didn´t check it prior booking the room. It was very hot outside and impossible to sleep in penthouse room. But like said, otherwise I would definitely recommend Albergo Milano. Location is perfect, staff is friendly and breakfast is good. We also had dinner in their restaurant but this I found little over priced. The view from the terrace is very nice though.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pekka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent four relaxing days in Varenna and can certainly recommend this hotel as well as Varenna itself as a chilled place to stay. Our room was in the separate Casa Rosa building with a fabulous view over the lake. The staff were friendly and exceptionally helpful. Excellent wifi coverage but if you have problems climbing stairs then Casa Ross might not be for you. We would have no hesitation staying here again. Very easy by train from Milan and convenient for ferry services to Como, Bellagio and Menaggio. We also got an out of season offer too which made it particularly good value too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen_and_Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Varenna was the last stop of our Italy vacation, Lake Como and the Albergo Milano was the perfect place to end a great trip. We actually stayed in their Casa Rossa property which gave us a nicely appointed room with a small terrace overlooking Lake Como. Breakfast was very good although definitely a case of "the early bird gets the worm". It was served on the hotel veranda which was very nice. We had an exceptionally good dinner at the hotel restaurant and enjoyed some banter with the owner and chef "Egi". We loved Varenna and loved our stay at the Albergo Milano. All in all, it could not have been better.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to stay in one of their "sister" properties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twovagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife, 6-month old son and I stayed at Albergo Milano in the summer of 2012. The hotel gives has their main hotel with rooms as well as another building, Casa Rosa, just a short walk away. We stated on the third floor of Casa Rosa and while the three-floor walk up was rough at times, the view from the balcony was breathtaking. One of my favorite memories from this vacation is sitting on that balcony and watching the sun rise and set.

In terms of location, we were an easy walk up to the road, a few steps from the waterfront and a two minute walk from the town square. We were close to restaurants, sights, shops and everything else.

While breakfast is served in the restaurant, be sure to stop back in for dinner. The food and service was excellent!

Room Tip: If you don't mind the extra stairs, ask for a balcony overlooking the lake in Casa Rosa. The bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NathanRKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Albergo Milano is a perfect small Hotel in Varenna. We had a Lateral Lakeview room in the second floor with a small balcony facing the lake. The room was a good size and everything was charming and up to date. It was quite serene and relaxing. The breakfast was typical European buffet served on the restaurant patio with gorgeous view. The owners Bettina and Edgi are very charming and gracious, the others staff member are also very nice and helpful. I would highily racommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Frontal Lakeview room with terrace Room # 1 or # 2 Lateral Lakeview room Rooms # 4 or # 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Varenna
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
439 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Milano

Address: Via XX Settembre, 35, 23829 Varenna, Italy (Formerly Albergo Milano Hotel & Apartments)
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Varenna
Price Range: $133 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Milano 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolce Far Niente at the Albergo Milano, the Sweet Delight of Doing Nothing on Lake of Como will remain our credo for the time being... Besides the charmingly decorated rooms at the main house, Albergo Milano, we also offer comfortable accommodation at our new annexes Casa Rossa, the apartments Casa Gialla and Casa 3 Archi, perfect alternatives for an unforgettable stay in town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Milano Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing