We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views, friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Eremo Gaudio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eremo Gaudio
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning views, friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I recently stayed here with my girlfriend when I proposed to her, and it was the perfect place for it. The staff were very friendly and helped me with my arrangements. The place is very romantic and perfectly located - only a 5-10 minutes walk from town - and has absolutely stunning views of the lake. The suite we had, the Teodolinda, has a large balcony with an incredible view. The room itself is OK, not amazing, but fine. Clean and big enough. The town, Varenna, is just wonderful. Small, romantic and friendly people. I highly recommend Varenna and Eremo Gaudio for anyone wanting to go away for a romantic weekend.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VineetB998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    189
    55
    20
    16
See reviews for
43
330
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here at the suggestion of our travel agent and it was the best advice we received. We arrived by train and without hesitation the taxi is worth the 12 Euro. Our room was the Bellagio in the upper level with a balcony view of Lake Como that was a picture. Room was comfortable and the funicular rides an experience in themselves. The restaurant food was good value with again a great view from the terrace. Staff were excellent in particular Lorna who is an asset to the business. The walk up from town each time was an effort at times in the heat wave being experienced but well worth it in our opinion.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham and Caro... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We arrived late at this hotel on a dark, stormy night (the start of a great story...). Our GPS guided us faithfully to Varenna and then in the last few meters began to guide us up an apparent pedestrian walkway. After going up a short distance we decided that it was not suitable for cars and slowly backed down the steep, narrow trail. Upon reaching the bottom, we saw a sign indicating the hotel was up the trail, which we hadn't seen the first time we went up. We then called the hotel to confirm and they said it would be "absolutely no problem" to get up to the property. Doubtful, we nonetheless drove up the paved "road" which eventually led to the hotel. There were two 180 degree hairpin turns which were scary in our SUV. When we rerached the hotel, staff were waiting for us and guided us in.

After that, things got better. The staff quickly checked us in and offered us two rooms in the lower area (newly renovated) which saved us having to use the two funiculars and an elevator to get to the rooms (more about that later). Since we were late for our dinner reservation in town, they called and re-booked for us. We then went to our rooms which were large but spartan and clean. One had two Juliet balconies looking out on Lake Como and the other a large terrace with the same view. The bathrooms were nice with modern features. There were small safes for storing valuables.

The walk into town only took 8-10 minutes and was not difficult.

The next morning we were struck by the amazing views the hotel has, which were not seen when we arrived the prior night. The breakfast which was included in the room price was reasonable with yogurt, cereal, breads, cheese and juice. It was typical for an Italian breakfast.

Overall, the hotel was nice and worth staying for the view. Despite some saying it is far out of town, we would not agree with this, as it was only a short walk

The second day we rode the funiculars and elevator to the top of the property which includes a large terrace overlooking Lake Como and a small chapel. The views from up there are spectacular and a few of the hotel's rooms are located up at this level.

In review, we liked this hotel for the reviews and helpful staff. If you are walking up from the train station it might be a bit harder than if without luggage. If driving, be aware of the narrow, steep driveway which does not look like cars should use it. We would stay in this hotel again if we stayed in Varenna in the future.

Room Tip: Riding the funicular up to the upper rooms may add 5 minutes, which may be worth it for the view. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winnipeg1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great views, great service & and great price. Because the price was so low ($220 euro per night) my expectations were low but my priority was to have a wonderful view. I booked a room with a terrace just to be on the safe side. Come to find out all rooms but one or two face the lake with beautiful views. The terrace was huge with two large outdoor sofas, chair, and coffee table. I'm a snob when it comes to linens and the look of a room. Nothing fabulous here, but definitely adequate. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

Cabs can take you back and forth from the hotel to town for a nominal fee, but we found it nice to walk off the evening dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for the terrace room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We originally booked for 4 nights, but stayed for 7. We got off the train in Varenna with our Jack Russell terrier and hiked 20 minutes to get there (for those less adventurous, you can take a cab). Lorna greeted us warmly and got us situated right away. Let me tell you that no one is exaggerating about the views from the hotel...AWESOME!!! We stayed on the lower level and had excellent views of the lake from our bedroom. Had two dinners there which were good. Lorna always brought something from the kitchen for our Jack, Thor, who she adored. The view from the dining terrace is beyond great. Lorna is the one to talk to if you need any information about the area, she is fantastic. Only one quibble and that is the breakfast, which could use some meat in the buffet spread. To me that is very minor. All in all the Eremo Gaudio is a great value for the money and fine place to stay. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Operettaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel for a second time after visiting several years ago, and we NEVER book a second stay anywhere (preferring to try new places all the time). But the view, staff, and price were just too good to resist.

This time we stayed on the top top top floor (which we don't recommend because you'll have phone tower cords in your view - stay on the 5th or 4th floors instead). And I think we're just getting too old (or lazy) to hike all the way up the hill from the town every time we wanted to go back to our room.

But if you want a nice, clean, pleasant place to stay and don't mind walking uphill for those amazing views, definitely stay at Eremo Gaudio. Dinner here is terrific, too. So if you don't stay here at least eat here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRRecBooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Superb view, excellent service, very clean, friendly staff. Strategically well located in Varenna, traghetto (ferry) to Bellagio and surroundings. Peaceful. Rooms well decorated, new and very clean. We had a private little terrace with the view on the lake.The menu offered by the restaurant is quite cheap and of good quality. The beach is few minutes walk. We'll definitely go back there. Highly recommended for a trip to Como.

Room Tip: The Rope - Higher floors with superb view, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.4 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
395 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
734 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
825 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
741 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eremo Gaudio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eremo Gaudio

Property: Eremo Gaudio
Address: Via Roma 25, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eremo Gaudio 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Eremo Gaudio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eremo Gaudio Varenna
Eremo Gaudio Hotel Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing