We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in wonderful dream location”
Review of Royal Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Victoria
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in wonderful dream location”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We have just returned from an 11 day stay at the Royal Victoria Hotel in Varenna, Lake Como, our first visit to this lake. Varenna is a picture-postcard lakeside small village, with lovely side streets, lakeside walk and great views across the lake. In our view it is by far the prettiest of the mid Lake Como villages, but be prepared for lots of steps! Varenna is very popular for weddings, and we can see why - it is an idyllic location. There are many ferries to take you elsewhere on the lake - (the mid Como ticket covering 4/5 locations was 15 Euros for the whole day, or 12 if you are over 65)
The Royal Victoria is centrally and conveniently situated,and yet quiet and secluded
The hotel has 42 bedrooms, but the ones with the lakeside view are the "star rooms" - the views are simply stunning, from morning to late evening. We have travelled extensively and these are the best views from a hotel we have ever seenThe rooms have been upgraded and are very nice, well cleaned and comfortable ( could do with tea/coffee making facilities)
We cannot speak highly enough of the staff, who were attentive friendly and efficient and helped make our stay really memorable, especially Livio, Lorenzo ( cup winner) and Francesca. And the food and service in the gourmet restaurant was simply outstanding for the whole of our stay ( we booked half board for a change and would do again at this hotel despite the good number of restaurants in the village) The hotel has a small pool, sunbeds, lovely terrace and two restaurants

We would definitely return to Varenna and the Royal Victoria

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are the best, for the views across the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keekee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review. We Always try to welcome our guests at best. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay by us. You'll always be welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    128
    44
    11
    5
See reviews for
59
240
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 7 night stay, great location and nice room with lake view. Particularly appreciated the care and attention provided by Lavio and his team, can't praise them enough. Room was clean, we'll decorated but a bit small. Would have like coffee/tea making facilities in the room as one would expect of a 4 star hotel. Otherwise a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your review. We keep in consideration your suggestions better to improve.

Waiting for you next time you'll be in Italy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I booked lake como to celebrate my 40th birthday. As the lake has so many different places to stay you never really know until you arrive if the location and accommodation will be the right choice. Varenna and Royal Victoria are both totally amazing and exceeded my expectations. We had a top floor lake view room which if you can upgrade to this will totally make your holiday. I've travelled quite a bit but our view was outstanding, the best ive ever had. Our room was classically decorated with fridge, air con and the bathroom had a top of the range shower and a proper hair dryer!! Breakfast had lots of choice and the bread to die for, we didnt have dinner in the hotel as so many other places nearby.The outside space is well kept with a small but nice pool, good sun beds and again views over the lakes. Varenna is the most picturesque of villages with plenty of good restaurants and places to walk and the hotel is a 5 min walk from the centre. The only thing I would advise is if you are slightly older or have a problem walking to far, there are quite a lot of steep steps and a few hills to get to different parts of the town but this is the same through out lake como. Boats are easy to get to and you have to go and explore the beautiful lakes. I had the best birthday and this was thanks to the hotel, friendly staff, location, great food (too much!!) and I would go back tomorrow!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank laurielil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guest,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay by us and you appreciated our service. We are glad to have been part of your best birthday! We'll waiti for you for the next!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Extremely nice hotel, we had room to the piazza but hotel has really nice terrace and backyard for enjoying views on the Lake Como. Service was good and our room was really modern and nicely renovated. We had dinner on both restaurants and food is great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetriKoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guest,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay by us and you appreciated our service.

We wait for you next time you'll be in Varenna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

My husband and I began our Italian vacation at Royal Victoria and we could not have had a better place to stay. The views were fabulous as well as the food at the hotel restaurant. The staff was very helpful, informative and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guest,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay by us and you appreciated our service. We always try to welcome all our guests at best.

You'll always be welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a four night stay in the Royal Victoria. Our room on the top floor had a nice little balcony with a stunning view of Lake Como. The room was cheery, the bed was large and comfortable, and the bathroom was modern and roomy. The staff was friendly and accommodating...and spoke English very well. The breakfast, which was included, was excellent, with a wide choice of items: cereals, juices, eggs, various rolls and tarts, meats and cheeses. The hotel is well situated right on a pretty piazza across from the church, and we had the fun of being there when the piazza was filled with a farmer's market and craft fair. It is easy to walk everywhere in Varenna, and the Royal Victoria put us right in the middle of everywhere we wanted to go. We loved every minute of our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor with a balcony. It is worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobsLassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for your good words. We are happy you enjoyed your stay by us and you appreciated our service. We Always try to welcome all our guests at best.

Thanks so much, see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 3 night stay in this hotel. Paid extra for a lake view room, which I would definitely recommend. View is fantastic. Staff are friendly and helpful, hotel is nicely decorated. The garden area is well kept and the pool is nice but it's not heated so a shock to the system when you jump in, Even if it is July and 25 degrees. Breakfast is okay nothing special. Service is good though. The restaurant attached to the hotel dose a great pizza but it is quite pricey like all the restaurants in varenna. Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulief84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for your good words. We are happy you enjoyed your stay by us and you appreciated our service. We'll take your suggestions better to improve.
We always try to welcome all our guests at best.

Thanks so much, see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
774 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
825 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria

Property: Royal Victoria
Address: Piazza San Giorgio 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Royal Victoria is a four stars hotel facing the lake, situated in the historical centre of Varenna, a charming medieval village and one of the most appreciated tourist destinations of lake Como. The recent renovations have preserved its XIX century aspect; the rooms offer all modern comforts while maintaining the atmosphere of a charming hotel. The bright and comfortable hall provide a refined and attractive atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Varenna
Royal Victoria Hotel Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing