We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dream Come True!”
Review of Royal Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Victoria
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed at Royal Victoria in late July 2013 after my reservation at a neighboring hotel was so disappointing. I then returned around August 7 for a second stay of about 9 days. Another great experience! I can't say enough good about the hotel and the staff

1. The staff- Barbara, Stephania, Francesca, Martin in the Grill, the casual restaurant- all gems! There were many more folks- all nice and polite and helpful and gracious!

2. The location/ Facilities: Right on the Piazza. The beach a mere 72 steps down front, gravelly but perfect for hanging out. The Pool. My room with a small balcony facing the water.Nice firm hard beds. The breakfast. A mini bar and safe in the room. Clean.

I love this place and will be back next summer for sure.

Absolutely wonderful!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marydianesanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Hi Mary!

What a pleasure to read your review and kind words!
Thanks so much for your kindness and for having filled our working days with smiles and joy.

We wait for you next year!

Have a good winter season
All Hotel Royal Victoria Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Royal Victoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 438 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

We went to this restaurant tonight for dinner. We were the first guests to arrive and had lovely lake views. The restaurant was a bit bright and sterile however. It would be good to see to the lights dimmed and music played. It was very clean though. Another two guests arrived and were seated right next to us and one of the dinners proceeded to talk quite loud on his mobile phone for quite some time. Not really want I want to hear when I go out for a meal. Perhaps they could've spaced us out a bit better. All in all the food and service was good.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Fabes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I made a last minute booking for me and a friend at this lovely small hotel in the main square of Varenna. The staff were all great and the hotel is well organised and spotless. The breakfast was very good and the views to the lake peaceful. Nice pool. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If available get a lake view room but I had a street facing room with double glazed windows and it w...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTraveller3823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review, we are very glad you stayed well by us.

We wait for you here for a longer holiday to discover all beauties of our lake!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

A lot of potential: Historic hotel in the lovely village of Varenna; own garden, swimming pool, and direct access to the lake, via a small (public) beach.
But:
-breakfast is messy and in a uninspired room (again, a lot of potential (great view), but so dull, such ugly colours). Staff is friendly, but inspired/unmotivated. Lack of table-cleaning after guests finished their breakfast.
-garden and poolarea: again, potentially great, but not well kept, lack of paint, lack of flowers. Ugly plastic tablecloths, ugly sponsored ashtrays....It all lacks style, inspiration.
The basics are ok, but this hotel could and should do much better. The building and location really deserve it.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room with lake view. Be advised that the upper floor rooms have balconies with v...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flexen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. It's important for us to know what our guests like or dislike. We'll keep in consideration your words better to improve our services.

You'll always be welcome by us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had changed our plans and traveled to Lake Como , booking this hotel by chance. It turned out to be the most perfect stay - a suite with a balcony and Lake view with all the modern conveniences. The breakfast was lovely, the staff extremely friendly and accomodating, and the free wifi a plus. This hotel is very grand and in the perfect town to relax and enjoy everything surrounding it. The is a bank to exchange money a few doors down and a very unique little grocery shop right across the street. The bells that ring in the morning are a delight, well missed when we got home. Ciao.

Room Tip: ask for a Lake view, perfect in the morning and evening.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EJClifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Overall a great stay. We booked for one night and ended up staying for two. We had one of the lake view rooms - quiet, spacious, recently renovated and clean. The receptionists were wonderfully helpful and friendly, and the restaurant downstairs was great for a quick, tasty late night meal (recommend the lasagne, which had lasagne sheets so thin they just melted in your mouth).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ecarylloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Brand new comfortable room overlooking the small characteristic square. Both restaurants with very good food and amazing location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful experience, we'll go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeverinoBeri, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you so much for your review. It's important for us to see that our efforts are appreciated.

You'll always be welcome by us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#3 of 6 in Varenna
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria

Address: Piazza San Giorgio 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range: $191 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Royal Victoria is a four stars hotel facing the lake, situated in the historical centre of Varenna, a charming medieval village and one of the most appreciated tourist destinations of lake Como. The recent renovations have preserved its XIX century aspect; the rooms offer all modern comforts while maintaining the atmosphere of a charming hotel. The bright and comfortable hall provide a refined and attractive atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Varenna
Royal Victoria Hotel Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing