We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay to tour the lake cities.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Victoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Victoria
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay to tour the lake cities.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in the town square, has a pool, private beach and private dock. The renovated rooms are light and airy. The breakfast is generous. The owner manager is friendly. Would come back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    91
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
48
151
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for five nights. Had a room overlooking the lake and the views were fantastic. It is right in the centre of Varenna. Good pool with plenty of sunbeds when we needed them. Did not think so much of the Gourmet restaurant but there are plenty of places to eat within walking distance. Staff very friendly and helpful except we did ask if there was any music on while we were in Varenna and guided towards the concerts advertised but not told about the opera outside the church the next night! Fortunately, although we could not get a seat we had wine in the hotel's bistro restaurant on the square so were able to see and hear everything.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room overlooking the lake as the views are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a lovely hotel that has recently been updated. It is situated on a quiet little square in the center of Varenna. We didn't request a lake view since the hotel has such wonderful areas to sit outside and enjoy the views that we rarely were in our room. Our room overlooked the church in the center of town and we enjoyed the ambiance and view. Although street side we were not bothered by any noise at night and found the town very peaceful. The pool and breakfast were highlights of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank summerfun77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We arrived on a dazzling day, and the Royal Victoria was equally dazzling. We had made our reservations far enough in advance that our request for a room with a balcony and a water view was honored. In fact, we were treated with the largest room in the hotel (one of the junior suites) which was on the recently redecorated third floor. It was fantastic. The room was huge, and was very comfortable for three adults. The bathroom was equally spacious. But the highlight of the room was the balcony. We looked out over the pool and out to the Lake. Although we spent little time in our room, when we were there, we naturally gravitated to the balcony and spent much of our time there. We ate dinner in the hotel dining room on our first night and it was surprisingly excellent. The risotto, in particular, was really wonderful. The breakfasts (in the same room) were also very good. Another wonderful feature of the Royal Victoria is the pool and terrace area that looks out over the lake. We commandeered a prime table for several hours on one of our afternoons and had a wonderful time basking in the sun, looking out over the lake and being served a variety of cool drinks. I highly recommend the Royal Victoria Hotel.

Room Tip: The top floor (third floor) of the hotel was renovated in early 2013. The rooms on that floor are p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just visited Varena, we loved it! Royal Victoria has some gorgeous lake views and has a great location in Varena. We will definitely return to the Royal Victoria. The staff was very nice. We loved having breakfast on the terrace over looking the garden and lake. The pool was nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PugRiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel had been recently renovated and it showed. The rooms were lovely, with nice material selections; very spacious. The bathroom was well-appointed, with a very nice shower. Our rooms had balconies that looked out over the pool, terrace garden and the lake; lovely.

The staff was not overly friendly at the front desk. They also were not very helpful with recommendations. But their terrace, pool and small beach were delightful. We took advantage of all their amenities. When we rented a boat for one morning it was delivered to the hotel dock; very convenient.

Breakfast was decent, although with a 4-star rating I expected more variety and quantity of selections.

Varenna is perfectly situated on Lake Como; if we ever go back we will most likely stay there again. Our time in Lake Como was in the middle of our vacation, and we were looking for a bit of a respite from the hectic pace of places like Venice, Florence and Rome. With its location directly overlooking the lake and its pool, Royal Victoria was a great place to relax during an otherwise busy vacation.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a room on the "lake" side of the hotel, and with a balcony. Well wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desklampVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The lovely view of Lake Como from our tiny terrace was an absolute delight and the hotel was well located. Our twin room was very small but clean, functional and renovated. Storage space for unpacked items was an issue, but the large shower was an unexpected treat in a small bathroom. We had booked half board, not knowing the quality of restaurants on offer in the town, so my advice would be not to bother with that as you can eat very well outside the hotel. There is a (freezing) pool, access for swimming in the lake and unreliable wifi that you need to pay for. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was beautifully presented, with dessert the undoubted strength of the menu, but the quality of dishes varied. Overall we thought the cost was a bit expensive for the size of the room but we had a pleasant stay. Varenna, however, is certainly the pick of the towns on both sides of the 'middle' section of the lake as it is very lovely indeed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Mosquito Magnet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 stars 662 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria

Property: Royal Victoria
Address: Piazza San Giorgio 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Royal Victoria is a four stars hotel facing the lake, situated in the historical centre of Varenna, a charming medieval village and one of the most appreciated tourist destinations of lake Como. The recent renovations have preserved its XIX century aspect; the rooms offer all modern comforts while maintaining the atmosphere of a charming hotel. The bright and comfortable hall provide a refined and attractive atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Varenna
Royal Victoria Hotel Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing