We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad”
Review of Royal Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Victoria
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We arrived without a reservation and were happy to take the room offered, pricey for what it was - an unmodernised room facing the square as we needed somewhere to stay. Clean and functional, but no English speaking channels on TV. A four star hotel should offer at least a news channel. It was a very hot evening and The air conditioning was not working, it was eventually started by the night porter, but only had one level of output - very high and horrendous noisy. Totally unacceptable so had to endure very noisy Italians drinking in the square below, with windows open. Also problems with Internet, unable to connect and told whole hotel has problems sometime.

Breakfast ok, overlooking the garden and lake, coffee very good.

A hotel of this standard should do better for their guests.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeverinoB, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thanks for your review that's usefull for us better to improve our services.
Unfortunately for you, coming without a reservation could mean a small number of rooms for us to offer you! Next winter we'll close to refurbish all the rooms not modernized jet!
We really don't remember if you asked us about the television, because we also have a few foreign channels and it's strange you didn't see them.
We're afraid about the inconvinience with the air conditioning,but as told our night porter found out how to solve the situation in a while.

We wait for you next summer to check how the last unmodernized rooms will be!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    122
    40
    10
    5
See reviews for
57
222
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I only have words of praise for this wonderful Hotel and its charming staff and management, in this I must commend Rosanna in Reception and her colleague Giulio who came my aid when I needed assistance. We had arrived in Varenna and the accommodation we had originally booked turned out to be terrible. My Husband was in a state and was not feeling well. I had to act fast and find help so I came here. Rosanna showed me 5 rooms so I had an excellent choice, Giulio came with me to help with our bags and brought them from our previous accommodations to the Hotel. Wonderful service indeed. The Hotel is terrific, we have a fabulous room on the top floor overlooking the lake with an enormous balcony. The food is fantastic. We can swim in the lake or just lounge by the pool. Varenna has turned out to be a beautiful experience thanks to the caring people at this hotel. Grazie Mille for everything, when we come to Como again we will stay here without question.

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Beautifully situated on the square of Varenna the hotel looks out over Lake Como, the view being breath-taking. My wife and I pushed the boat out and took a Deluxe Suite as it was our first time to Lake Como and thought we'd go for more luxury which we do not often do in terms of hotels. Rosanna on reception was extremely professional and a pleasure to deal with - charm personified. Guilin took our baggage up - all of it - as I was not feeling well. Evening dinner at the hotel was extremely good, the chef offering some wonderful choices. Lying next to the pool which we do not do much when traveling was relaxing and quiet, bar the pleasant rippling of the waters of Lake Como. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, unlike another nearby which I will comment on in a separate review. Peter & Edna Francis, Cape Town, South Africa. pwfrancis@yahoo.co.uk

Room Tip: If you can manage it, splash out on a Deluxe Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterWesleyFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

First of all, yes, it's expensive. But then, we thought, how often do we get to sit in our room or on our balcony and see one of the most beautiful views in Italy? The hotel is right on Lake Como--there's a garden & pool area just below the rooms facing the lake. The rooms were nice and clean, but the small balcony was a delight. We stayed at the hotel for a week and enjoyed it. The breakfasts were fine--many choices--meats, eggs, cheese, dry cereals, yogurt, coffee, tea, etc. fruit, pastries--enough that we had to be careful to save room for meals during the rest of the day. The location is great too--lots going on in the town square below on weekends--weddings, fancy car rallies, etc. It's also near what we thought of as "restaurant row"--a street running through the middle of the city that was packed with unique places to eat. It was also easy to stroll down to the lake and enjoy just "being there."

Room Tip: Do ask for one facing the lake. If money is a concern, there are less expensive rooms facing the squ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblersOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We love la bella Italia and return year after year for our holidays. We have enjoyed many fine locations and hotels. There is no doubt that this hotel in Varenna, the Royal Victoria, comes top in all aspects - service of the smiling and accommodating staff, style and quality of the bedrooms and public areas, great menu selection and quality of the food, good wine-list, well-kept gardens and terraces leading down to Lake Como with stunning views across to Bellagio. A great hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: If you can afford then do book a lake view for your bedroom. But if you cannot afford, the other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern England
Level Contributor
131 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you have never been to Lake Como, it's worth noting that it is an expensive place to stay. We had booked a hotel which was in our usual price range and it was very disappointing so we decided to stay at the Royal Victoria. I had thought it a bit pricey when we booked a room but it is worth paying for top quality. Our room was very comfortable and nicely furnished and tbe bathroom was superb. The building has been beautifully refurbished and the view from the dining room over the lake is breathtaking. Nice staff, lovely breakfast. If you have a room overlooking the square at tbe front, it can be noisy in the late evening if you have the window open. Parking is at a nearby multi-storey which costs €20 per day but you get your own garage for that!

Room Tip: Rooms with lake view cost quite a lot more than the front rooms. You get the view with your breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeverinoB, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are very glad you found in our hotel the solution to your discomfort and you enjoyed your stay by us! We'll wait for you next time you'll be in Italy, maybe trying a lake view room!

Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect. The rooms are big enough and clean. the balcony is do nice to see the lake. Breakfast is so bad as a 4 star hotel. Servis is bad. Very noisy and expansive hotel. You can find better.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sole-dora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
487 reviews
13.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
751 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria

Property: Royal Victoria
Address: Piazza San Giorgio 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Royal Victoria is a four stars hotel facing the lake, situated in the historical centre of Varenna, a charming medieval village and one of the most appreciated tourist destinations of lake Como. The recent renovations have preserved its XIX century aspect; the rooms offer all modern comforts while maintaining the atmosphere of a charming hotel. The bright and comfortable hall provide a refined and attractive atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Varenna
Royal Victoria Hotel Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing