We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-star quality and service in a splendid location”
Review of Royal Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Victoria
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We love la bella Italia and return year after year for our holidays. We have enjoyed many fine locations and hotels. There is no doubt that this hotel in Varenna, the Royal Victoria, comes top in all aspects - service of the smiling and accommodating staff, style and quality of the bedrooms and public areas, great menu selection and quality of the food, good wine-list, well-kept gardens and terraces leading down to Lake Como with stunning views across to Bellagio. A great hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: If you can afford then do book a lake view for your bedroom. But if you cannot afford, the other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 466 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you have never been to Lake Como, it's worth noting that it is an expensive place to stay. We had booked a hotel which was in our usual price range and it was very disappointing so we decided to stay at the Royal Victoria. I had thought it a bit pricey when we booked a room but it is worth paying for top quality. Our room was very comfortable and nicely furnished and tbe bathroom was superb. The building has been beautifully refurbished and the view from the dining room over the lake is breathtaking. Nice staff, lovely breakfast. If you have a room overlooking the square at tbe front, it can be noisy in the late evening if you have the window open. Parking is at a nearby multi-storey which costs €20 per day but you get your own garage for that!

Room Tip: Rooms with lake view cost quite a lot more than the front rooms. You get the view with your breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeverinoB, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guests,

We are very glad you found in our hotel the solution to your discomfort and you enjoyed your stay by us! We'll wait for you next time you'll be in Italy, maybe trying a lake view room!

Many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect. The rooms are big enough and clean. the balcony is do nice to see the lake. Breakfast is so bad as a 4 star hotel. Servis is bad. Very noisy and expansive hotel. You can find better.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sole-dora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The good points of this hotel are the staff and the restaurant service was excellent. The staff were most helpful and the quality and presentation of the dishes in the restaurant were second to none.
We got free internet, possibly because we were staying 5 nights, otherwise there is a charge. The room did not have a lake view (which would have been 40€ per night extra) was smallish and fairly Spartan. But the big problem was with noise and light from Square outside window. Shutters could not be closed completely and there were no heavy curtains. When we complained next morning they looked for other rooms and we changed to another room also nominally without lake views but could see lake by looking outside window to the right. Lavinia on reception was quite responsive to our complaints by finding us an alternative room. Incidentally, we were offered a reduced price (relative to tariff for lake view rooms but still more expensive than a non-view room) on the room other tripadvisor reviewers had complained had no view unless one stands on tiptoe to look over a wall. We can confirm this is true!
Our second room was also far below the standard of a 4 star hotel. It had poor lighting, an apparently newish airconditioning system that was difficult to operate, was noisy and not very effective, plumbing noises from other units almost unbelievably loud, and drawers that physically came apart when being pulled open. We don’t know if lake view rooms are of better quality but based on our rooms this hotel cannot be recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andersonian1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeverinoB, Responsabile reception at Royal Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear guests,

We thank you for your review which let us the opportunity to answer directly and inform you about all the improvements made during the past winter season.
We were surprised to read your review after 4 months from your stay, but in the meantime many things have changed. For two years we are explaining our guests that we are little by little completely renovating the entire hotel, rooms and restaurants, but it takes energy, efforts and, above all, time. All rooms overlooking the lake (except two) have been completely renovated and the balconies with wall, which you referred to, are changed, too: no more wall but columns through which guests may see the lake as from all other balconies. The hotel is a historic building and we had to wait for special permission to modify them. Concerning the rooms overlooking the old central square of Varenna, half of them have been renovated, for the others we have to wait until next year.
Concerning your stay, we’d like to specify that September is high season for us and unfortunately for our guests, a last minute booking for the following day means to have a small selection of rooms available.
As you said, however, we have tried to facilitate your stay and make it better and we hope we have succeeded! We’ll be glad to welcome you again and show you all our news!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were there in early October with a Rick Steves group so we were unable to choose a room location. Some of our group had fabulous lake views that were out of this world. We were in #118 which overlooked the piazza. Noisy but once the windows were closed not bad. However no A/C as it was "too cold" according to management. It's a beautiful hotel. Very spacious and grand compared to other hotels we have stayed in in Italy. We did not dine in their restaurant so I have no comment on that other than it looked very nice. They have many lovely balconies outside of the restaurant where you can enjoy a glass of wine and the beautiful views. Interesting place with a lot of history.

Room Tip: request lake view for the best experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drobotka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The localization is perfect, near the lakeside and perfect balcony which looking to beatiful lake como. Room was very modern and newly renovated. Good and friendly staff. Varenna the most romantique village of the lake como, we ver much liked the village.

Room Tip: lakeside view room, second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurkeyMarazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Request room 103. There is a cute little balcony off the room that can melt away all of your cares in the world. A sunset from the room is not to be missed. While the price was a bit higher than I would have liked, and the rest of the hotel rather uninspiring, I loved the room and the balcony. The town of Varenna is so cute and quaint, and the hotel is nicely situated on a little square with easy access to everything. It is a bit of a way away from the train station, but very manageable. Breakfast was average.

Room Tip: Room 103 - one of 3 rooms with a balcony that has a table and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
13.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
846 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
829 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria

Address: Piazza San Giorgio 2, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range: $189 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Royal Victoria is a four stars hotel facing the lake, situated in the historical centre of Varenna, a charming medieval village and one of the most appreciated tourist destinations of Como Lake. The recent renovations have preserved its XIX century aspect; the rooms offer all modern comforts while maintaining the atmosphere of a charming hotel. The bright and comfortable hall provide a refined and attractive atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Varenna
Royal Victoria Hotel Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing