We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

The concierge, Tatiana, was outstanding! She guided us as to the best features of the town - how to take advantage of the ferry system to see the various cities on the lake

The hotel has a great view of the lake and outstanding gardens to walk through. Not a five star, but very nice.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 439 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

A little late in making this review. But it needs to be done! This had a really good location on lake. The resteraunt was fantastic. And what a view!!! Rooms were clean and cool in the day. Was so romantic plan on coming back for sure. Could not recommend this enough!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kimbal2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed at this gorgeous property in September 2013 and I left my iPad behind. David quickly emailed me and arranged to have it sent to my aunt in Athens, where I would be visiting later. They surely went WAY out of their way to do so and we were very impressed with their help! Besides that, our stay was also wonderful. Our room was a double with a lake view and what a view! When we checked in they were very helpful in checking the ferry schedule to Bellagio and we were just in time to catch it. Our room was very comfortable, the bath room had lots of hot water and the breakfast was very good. A clean, lovely hotel that is lovingly maintained, we would not hesitate to recommend it!

Room Tip: Do book a room with a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank drswaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Villa Cipressi at least 4 or 5 times while visiting Varenna. We just returned from a recent visit and as always we are more than delighted. Davide at the front desk always makes us feel as if we are returning home. He is the best. The service is impeccable. Whatever they can do for us they will do it. The setting is beautiful, the rooms comfortable and very clean, the food is excellent and as I said, the service is the absolute best. Travelers should not miss the chance to stay at the Hotel Villa Cipressi.

Room Tip: Ask for Davide, (David) He will do whatever he can to make your stay special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gloria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent three nights here in early October. The room was absolutely wonderful with a lake view. It had everything you could want. The grounds are beautiful and should not be missed. The staff was very helpful and professional. The breakfast was exactly what you expect to get in europe. Coffee, tea, juice, pastries and bread, salami/ham and cheese, yogurt, and cold cerial. The restaurant was very good offering local foods prepared very well. The wine list was good.

The walk to the center of town was pleasant and offered a much less crowded place to be than the other mid lake towns. I will not hesitate to come here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and liked our stay very much. The building is absolutely great with a fantastic atmosphere, very historical. The room we were staying had partial lake view and was fully equipped with everything you need. Very friendly staff.
The only disappointing thing was the breakfast. In such a place you would expect to have it in the garden under the trees overlooking the lake with quality products but that was unfortunately not the case. It was a very shabby place and everything that was provided was food from plastic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ostschweizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We just had our wedding there back in August and I cannot be thankful enough for the beautiful location, wonderful food, attentive staff service and the great gardens, overlooking the scenic mountains, lush green landscapes and colourful flowers dotted around the coast of the Lake of Como. All this compiled the backdrop of the most wonderful set of wedding photos we could have ever hoped for.
We also say most of our thanks to Weddingbox Lake of Como, Sally and Gemma, who were absolutely, hands down the most wonderful pair in the entire world! They organised everything for us, even the hairdresser came all the way from Milan to Villa C to do my hair for me. All throughout the day they were around, way into the late night, ensuring every single minute that things were smooth and running according to plan. Those poor girls, during the wedding dinner, the plan got thrown out into the rain, but they, coupled with the hotel staff, took everything in their stride and there was not one single hiccup!

We had about 90 people at the wedding, which whilst it's not the largest, for a small and cosy place like Villa C, can be a bit of a squeeze. But David (manager of the hotel) and Sally and Gemma were super organised, super professional and just downright so efficient!

It's not a luxurious hotel, don't expect a porter to help your luggage, don't expect 5* spa and marble inlaid pools with mirrored elevators, modern flat screen TV and silent, integrated air control systems in the rooms. This is completely down-to-earth, rustic, cosy, small and basic in the sense that it's modern and with all the amenities you would need - but if you are looking for luxurious 'extras' then this is not the right place.

What it lacks in the modern facilities of spa, iPhone docking stations and automatic sound systems and lighting, it more than makes up for in the gardens. The many many layers of gardens, interwoven and hidden paths, leading right down into the water. Sit there on the terrace on one of the iron-stead chairs, prop your feet up on the stone balustrades, take a book, a cool soft drink with you, your sunglasses and just enjoy the sound of the water lapping against the stone work down below, see the boats rushing by, feel the breeze brush through your hair and carrying with it, the delicious scent of the gardens around you.

Wedding or not, this is such a wonderful little gem nestled in this corner of Varenna, or the Lake of Como!

Room Tip: The room 305 is the Bridal Suite, with ceiling to floor french windows overlooking all around the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank imajesas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#2 of 6 in Varenna
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Varenna
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
532 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
819 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Cipressi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Cipressi

Address: Via Quattro Novembre 18, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range: $201 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Cipressi 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Cipressi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipressi Hotel Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing