We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views, Excellent Service, Utter Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning Views, Excellent Service, Utter Bliss”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spend almost an entire weekend at Lake Como staying two nights at the magnificent Villa Cipressi in the lovely village of Varenna. Leaving 3 kids behind we exploited the unique opportunity that a Monday business meeting in Bergamo offered, to live a couple of magical nights and days in this superb location. Villa Cipressi is a fantastic value for money hotel with stunning views of Lake Como, a marvellous garden, a great restaurant with delicious Italian cuisine and amazing staff. We drove in from Milan and wanted to do everything at late hours and were very lucky to find Davide the courteous and efficient night receptionist who gave us perfect advice for all the things we needed. The rooms are a bit old fashioned, but comfortable. Anyway, no-one in his right mind spends a lot of time there, besides sleeping, with so many things to see and so much great food, churces, boat rides, etc. Its simply unmissable and highly recommended. We are coming back !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seta Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    112
    30
    29
    11
See reviews for
57
241
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed two nights at this lovely hotel in May of 2013. We had a great corner room with a view of the lake, which was very spacious. The property, including the gardens, are well kept and the staff was very knowledgeable and courteous. We enjoyed our stay very much and found Varenna a quaint and quiet town, well worth visiting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaAndPaGoOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Varenna is one of the most peaceful and beautiful places on earth, and Villa Cipressi captures the ambiance and history of the area beautifully. Our room was spacious and well appointed, with lake views that were absolutely stunning. Staff was friendly and helpful. But the bed was too firm--so much so that it interrupted sleep. Our room was directly above the breakfast room, and was noisy enough to wake us earlier than we would have liked.

Room Tip: Avoid room 402 if you plan to sleep late! Ask for room with lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowed65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay at Lake Como. The well-tended gardens add charm and a touch of mystery (check out the grotto), with broad views at the center of the lake. The property is very well managed, with helpful and friendly staff. We had a lake view (recommended as the street side would be a disappointment with street noise and no view). The restaurant fare is excellent. The continental breakfast is generous. The location is close to the town square and other restaurants and amenities, including the lakeside walk (passarella) to the ferry, a charming (easy) walk that turns through some streets before following the lakeside. We will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a lake view. The rooms on the street side are noisy with no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The perfect spot for a romantic weekend with your beloved. A bit old fashioned but that is part of the charm. Excellent food in the restaurant and the most beautiful views on the lake. Do spend that little more on booking a room with a lake view.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A gorgeous villa, the rooms have amazing lake views. The hotel is famous for it's beautiful gardens. I love the town of Varenna; it's not as crowded with tourists as Bellagio. It's a pretty town with cute lakeside restaurants and shops, and it's easy to get there by train from Milan.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wendySanAntonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beenleigh
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We visited to see the gardens overlooking Lake Como, as part of the hotel grounds. Very peaceful with lovely views. We stayed for dinner in the outside area of the restaurant. A wedding reception was also being held separately. We all had a stunning view over Lake Como and was especially romantic at dusk, with the hazy pinks and blues of the water and mountains linking. Food was delicious but serves were not large. Service was good. All up we had a nice dinner in upmarket surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamJBeenleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#2 of 6 in Varenna
470 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Cipressi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Cipressi

Property: Hotel Villa Cipressi
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 18, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Cipressi 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Cipressi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipressi Hotel Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing