We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (835)
Filter reviews
835 results
Traveler rating
444
226
80
39
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
444
226
80
39
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferry terminal pumpkin gnocchi lake como corner room top floor convenient location the comings and goings charming hotel people watching hotel owner yogurt third floor our room was spacious balcony overlooking the lake breakfast was included an easy walk an amazing view
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 835 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2016

My husband, daughter and I had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Olivedo in September 2016. Laura was so gracious in accommodating us. We highly recommend this hotel and walking the tranquil promenade in the evening to see the sun set. Laura and her staff provide the most wonderful breakfast in a quaint setting with the most beautiful view. Cudos for keeping true to the history of your wonderful hotel.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1954WVGeorgiaPeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2016

This hotel is in a great spot, however it is run by a bossy women who continually smokes inside & does not consider her guests at all. The room was very quaint but the beds need to be replaced, they are very uncomfortable and dangerous. My husband knocked his leg on the wooden frame and took a piece out of his leg. I kicked my toes on the legs as well. The bed frame sticks out from the mattress and the bedspread covers the wooden frame. The blankets are threadbare and need to be replaced with new bedding. Apart from the owner, the staff were very helpful & friendly.

Room tip: Dont get put into a room in the roof.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rencar02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2016

Hotel Olivedo is a throw back to another time. The hotel sits directly across from the ferry terminal and that is a wonderful perk when tooling around the lake. The room was quite comfortable - good air-conditioning, surprisingly modern bath and excellent ( the best we had in Italy) wi-fi. the room had a safe but no fridge. We had a very small Juliette balcony that really was not what I wanted - but sufficed because the view was great. The hotel also had an elevator that made it very easy to transport our luggage. Breakfast was included and consisted of cheese, meats, granola, croissants hard boiled eggs and delicious espresso, cappuccino and americano coffee. It was all very good, I would have liked just a little more variety over the three days we were there. One quirky thing though, when my husband asked for a second cup of double espresso, he was told he could only have a single. Odd, we thought. I enjoyed chatting with Miss Laura who treated us to a complimentary glass of wine while we waited for a taxi. The hotel policy is to leave the key when you go out for the day. This concerned us a little bit, but Miss Laura was always at the desk so this was not an issue. Enjoyable stay.

Room tip: Room 22 - small balcony with lovely view
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lady_lyn_915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2016

We stayed here for three nights in late September. The Hotel is immediately across the road from the ferry station. This is very convenient if you are going to be visiting other cities on Lake Como. Our room , on the third floor, was fairly large with two windows overlooking the Lake. Exterior shutters close to provide privacy and some protection from the afternoon sun. Room and bathroom were very clean and housekeeping staff was very prompt and did a good job.

There were air conditioning controls on the wall, but the system was not working. Not sure if the system was turned off because of late season, or just broken. Without AC, the rooms did become a bit warm in afternoon and evenings. We left windows open the first night and the room did cool down after a few hours. However, if you wish to leave the windows open for fresh air or cooling when you go to bed, you will be awakened by early morning ferry service. We found out the hard way at 6 AM and ferries come and go continuously thereafter. When closed, the windows do a great job of keeping out this noise. This may become an issue in mid summer if the AC is not working.

The proprietor, Laura, was great. She met us, showed us where to park (20 E per day) and was very much the complete host. Breakfast in AM was acceptable- we have had much better in Italy on several stays. Pretty monotonous menu but staff was very friendly and helpful.

Overall experience was positive and we would recommend.

Room tip: Crowd noise is less higher up you are located.but also more stairs to climb. Ferry stop is very busy during day and evening.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bilo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2016

Had the perfect room with lake view balcony. For every request, Laura responded... could not have been more accommodating. For us, location across from ferry piers was perfect because we traveled to many villages. Her locked car-park solution was also perfect for us.

Room tip: In Varenna, book early and get a lake view room with balcony
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews