We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay anywhere else?”
Review of Hotel Olivedo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Olivedo
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else?”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My sister and I stayed at hotel Olivedo in late April 2013 for 4 nights. First trip to Lake Como, first trip to Italy. It was great! Right across the road from both vehicular & passenger ferries. And despite the proximity, not a lot of noise from these.

We were on the 3rd floor, on SW corner of the building. Lovely bright yellow room, 2 big windows / balconeys looking out over Lake Como. Flowers on the balcony. One of us slept on couch bed, other on main queen / king bed. We swapped after 2 days, just to be able to compare. Both were fine.

Bathroom was modern with toilet, bidet, basin & over bath shower. Bath would be great for kids. Heater in bathroom, not needed while we were there, but always welcome in winter. Apparently all the bathrooms are also in the process of being renovated. We had a peek in the room next door. It was also bright & airy, with a nice clean functional bathroom.

Our Hostess Laura was ever present. She has a heap of local knowledge, & happy to point us in the right direction. She even yelled at the ferry men to wait for us when they cast off early on our last day!

The dining room provided a delicious European breakfast each day. Tea / coffee, juice, fruits, croissants, bread, local ham ( best I have ever tasted ), cheese, local butter, jam/ jelly.

Lunch had a range of tasty treats including a delicious ravioli.
Dinner had again a range of treats including some veal dishes.
We had 2 lunches & 2 dinners in house.

Other lunches we had in Bellagio (13 minutes ferry ride away), and at a cooking class with Moreno up in the hills above Varenna.

This Cooking Class with Moreno was wonderful. An all day experience in Italian cooking. Pick up & drop off at the Olivedo front door. Laura can give you details on days & current price. We paid €50 each.

We will both be back.

Room Tip: The fitness centre is the ability to do heaps of walking all over this wonderful medieval town!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    199
    77
    37
    43
See reviews for
90
429
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Hotel Olivedo in May 2013. The hotel is conveniently located just a few minutes easy walk from the Ensino-Varenna train station, and right next to the ferry landings. The owner, Laura, is terrific and was very helpful and accomodating. The room we were in (18) was well appointed, clean, and very spacious - it easily accomodated 3 of us. The view from the room was fantastic out the window and balcony (small) door. Varenna is a beautiful little town and the hotel is part of this beaty. Our Varenna visit was the highlight of our 2 week European vaction.

Room Tip: Room 18 was on the 2nd floor in the corner with a beautiful view and ample room for 3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Quite an old fashioned hotel but located in a good spot. The rooms are comfortable if a little dated. We started our Lake Como trip in Varenna as it was easy to get to via the train. The hotel is a simple ten minute stroll from the train station.

Lovely view from our lake view room overlooking Menaggio on the other side of the lake. The balcony although small could of done with a couple of chairs to be able so sit out and watch the hustle and bustle from the ferries. The ferries can be noisy as you are near both the car and the passenger ferry terminal but we expected this. The price you pay for a convenient location to catch the ferry.The double glazed windows are excellent at blocking out the noise at night and early morning. Hotel also has the slowest lift I have ever experienced, we only used it once and chose to carry the cases back down the stairs as it was quicker !

Quite a lot of noise from the bar next door on a Friday night as it seemed to be most popular with the locals for a late night drink.

Breakfast was standard fare.

The staff were polite and helpful.

I would only rate value as average as this was the most expensive of the three lake hotels we stayed in. I guess you are paying for the uninterrupted view over the lake.

As mentioned by others the hotel could do with a bit of a refurb to bring it up to modern standards.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XRNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Hotel Olivedo and its counterpart, Villa Toretta, were great value for money. My room had no actual number and was officially, "the room between 34 and 35". It was part of the charm of the 200 year old building, that also included eclectic, mostly antique decor; quaint, converted bathrooms and; a breathtaking view from the small, knee-level, 3rd floor toilet window.

Laura (pronounced Lara) and co were charmingly pleasant, friendly and helpful without being overly familiar. The breakfast was more than enough and it was a pleasure to enjoy it while people-and-lake-watching. Lastly, the main hub of shops and eateries was no more than a lovely 10 minute stroll along the Varenna boardwalk.

Such a positive review, but I had a perfect experience and felt completely welcomed. My Australian friends and I are already planning our next stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaeganKrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our recent road trip in Italy started at Hotel Olivedo. Plusses were pleasant welcome from Laura, the owner, convenient location, easy parking and amazing views from corner room. Minuses were skimpy breakfasts (compared to others on our trip), one just average dinner, room furniture (chairs) broken-in needing repair or replacement, difficult-to-use shower curtain in tub. Overall not quite up to 3 Star rating - need for hotel to do major renovation to attain a higher level of comfort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pointq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Varenna was our first stop on our honeymoon of 3 weeks. We spent three nights there. Upon arrival. Laura, the owner, was very pleasant; however, this changed quickly. We would ask her for recommendations about restaurants for dinner, and she kept recommending her restaurant. We don't like eating the same place we're staying. We like exploring and trying different restaurants. We soon realized that Laura was cold with us because we didn't eat at her restaurant. We just ignored her. There was not much to breakfast, as we soon realized in Italy. But it seemed like Laura was running a tight ship, as noticed by other guests as well; the amount of food laid out was very little, and they would not replenish. When other guests would come in after the food laid out was done, the server would bring a few slices of cheese and ham to their tables, to avoid other guests from getting seconds. It almost felt like a concentration camp at breakfast. Laura also smokes at the Front Desk all the time, which stinks up the entire hallway, and not good for non-smokers like us. Our room had a nice view of Lake Como. I think it was not worth the money, and will stay somewhere else should we return to Varenna.

Room Tip: Less cigarette fumes in rooms on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LolaAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Hotel Olivedo on Lake Como in Varenna. Our second floor corner room was delightful with a marvelous view of the lake. Although the ferry landing is right in front of the hotel, noise was not a problem and catching the ferry to Bellagio, Tremezzo and Menaggio was most convenient and a fun way to see towns. The walk along the lake from the hotel to Verenna is very easy and very scenic and the staff was most attentive.

We also dined at the hotel restaurant and enjoyed a wonderful ravioli dish that was stuffed with ricotta cheese and spinach. The pasta was freshly made and simply outstanding. We recommend Hotel Oliviedo and really enjoyed staying in Varenna.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RandellT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.3 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
373 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
487 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#6 of 16 in Bellagio
721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
422 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olivedo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olivedo

Property: Hotel Olivedo
Address: Piazza Martiri della Liberta' 14 | Lombardia, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olivedo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little charming hotel on the edge of Lake Como. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Olivedo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivedo Hotel Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing