We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Olivedo
Nearby Hotels
Royal Victoria(Varenna)
$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$492
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Albergo Beretta(Varenna)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$138
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence L'Ulivo(Bellagio)(Great Value!)
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$827
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel du Lac(Varenna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Eremo Gaudio(Varenna)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (780)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveler rating
406
213
78
39
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
213
78
39
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry terminalpumpkin gnocchilake comocorner roomtop floorold world charmhotel restaurantcroissantsno liftquiet at nightvarenna esinothird floorour room was spaciousthree nightsgreat roomsmall balconysitting area
Filter
Updating list...
561 - 566 of 780 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We aren't those kinds of Americans that complain about not having the same amenities as we do in the States while traveling abroad. Regardless, our stay at Hotel Olivedo exceeded our expectations. The room was great, the view was spectacular and the bathroom was more than adequate. Laura, who runs the hotel, is the Italian mother you never had (and I have an Italian mother, so I know). She took great care of us. We recommend Hotel Olivedo and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Book at least 3 weeks or more in advance
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rarenskc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Very welcoming patronne, Laura, idiosynchratic and entertaining hostess. Very comfortable rooms with beautiful views over the lake. Situated immediately beside Varenna ferry terminal. Excellent Italian food cooked by her brother. Also locked carpark at extra cost.
Pricey, but reflecting the location. Only negatives are the buffet breakfast, which is basic minimal Italian and lacks the variety one now expects in good Italian hotels and her refusal to accept any form of card payment, either debit or credit cards, only cash; also no internet booking via booking agencies.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick37772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

I had to cut and paste this from another comment, they explain how we felt the whole time.
"There is the constant smell of Laura's cigarette smoke that finds it's way up the stairs and if you step out of line expect to be reprimanded by the sergeant major. Make sure you do not break curfew or go down late at night because the alarms will sound. This is more like reform school than a hotel, very disappointed."
We bought ice cream at another place near by and wanted to use the internet at our hotel and Laura told us to leave and go eat it at the place we bought the ice cream from. We went to our room and eat it. If the internet worked in the rooms then this would solve alot of problems. We felt we were being watched and disrespected our whole stay. Very uncomfortable feeling. We usually stay in 4-5 star hotels, but we were in a pinch. We expected very little, but hospitality and warmth cost nothing
Nice room, but again needs much much much more hospitality.
We stayed 2 nights and then escaped on the train.
There is Internet- at one desk on the first floor and usually a lineup. Very disappointed .

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pietroSiena, Manager at Hotel Olivedo, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2011

Ladies and Gentleman readers,
no problem with hopitality or others, the only think, they buy a ice cream in another restourant and they want to eat in my immaculate restourant.
Sorry we are not use to that ,we eat in the main restourant where we buy.
This is,the only reason why they complain,no others complain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We spent two nights at this hotel with a 3 and 5 year old. It is full of lovely antique furniture and knick knacks which really add to its charm. It is beaitiful old building that really stands out from the others surrounding it. We had a lovely view of the lake from two sides of our room which was fantastic. Only a few minutes downhill walk from the station and directly opposite the boat services to nearby Bellagio and Mennagio and further beyond, this could not have been a better location for young kids, We even had a small playpark right opposite the hotel which was much appreciated. Breakfast was basic but fine. Staff were very friendly and accomodating adding in an extra bed to our room for our little one. Despite being on the square it was very quiet. We didn't use the restaurant as the food did not really suit our children and was a little pricey but it was so wasy to walk to other nearby restaurants that this really didn't matter. Its a nice five to ten minute stroll along the lake front to some lovely places to eat or slightly uphill for the same amount of time to the main square. We would definitely stay there again is we were ever in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMIL_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Hotel Olivedo will captivate you when you take a look at the lake from your room's balcony. Amidst a truly relaxing atmosphere, this is a great value for the great service from Laura (the owner), who was always very attentive to our needs. Even though it was low season, Lake Como was packed with tourists during our visit and it was hard to find a spot to park. Laura immediately offered us hers the day we arrived, cooked a nice dinner for us and gave us tips to get around.
The rooms are very clean, and the location is hard to beat!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews