We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best spot for lunch!”
Review of Caffe Varenna

Caffe Varenna
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Exclusive Lake View, Light Lunch & Dinner, Continental Breakfast
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best spot for lunch!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

It was a chilly afternoon waiting to catch the train back to Milan, so I stopped off to sit here and enjoy the amazing view. A large bowl of pasta and bean soup, along with a warming glass of local read wine was exactly what was needed!! The service was great, stopping off to chat with me a bit about town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBorboleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    220
    47
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Patras, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good option at Varenna”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We went there the 3rd of April during our trip around the lake Como. We just had coffee and it was pretty good. Some people had lunch and the plates looked nice. What is great about this cafe is the position very close to the lake and with great view. Maybe this and Veccia Varenna Next to it are the better places considering the position.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“SUPERB LUNCH ON A WET EASTER WEEKEND”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We came across this pretty little cafe as we were walking around Varenna. Quaint, great service & superb light lunch washed down with exquisite Italian (of course) pinot grigio. Loved the town itself. It was just starting to rain as we entered the cafe - a small interesting building, probably a "boathouse". Relaxing, reasonably priced, freshly made lunch. My lasagne was to die for !! Will return, both to the town & cafe.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TOMMYTAYLOR56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely spot*”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Varenna has always been my favorite which has the atmosphere i don't find elsewhere in Lake of Como. Verenna Caffe is always my first stop after stepping in Varenna, great staffs delicious salad with a cup of tea is just what you need before exploring this magical little village.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SumKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Amazing views, amazing food!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We visited the beautiful town of Varenna in September 2012 and were lucky enough to eat at this delightful little cafe. The food, decor and views were all outstanding. We enjoyed breakfast and lunch multiple times at Varenna Caffe' during our week stay. They have a wonderful selection of fresh salads, cheeses, pastries and wine. There menu was extensive so there is really something for every taste. Coffee and cappuccinos were wonderful and their patio has a perfect spot on the lake for you to watch the boats and the beautiful lake. Many people would show up early and enjoy an Italian breakfast in the morning sunshine. Lunch time is often busy and people like to enjoy a leisurely lunch here as the atmosphere and food make for a memorable experience. The staff was very sweet and made you feel very welcome and taken care of.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrookeViews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Varenna also viewed

Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Caffe Varenna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing