We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful apartment, Perfect Location!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Terri L
McKinney, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment, Perfect Location!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were extremely pleased with our stay in Varenna and our accommodations at Casa Maddalena! The apartment is wonderfully comfortable and every detail was attended to. It is in a perfection location, just steps to the city center and to Lake Como. Our hostess Marilena was a delight to work with. She is very responsive to all of our requests for information, including giving us a ride from the train station as well as wonderful places to eat and even taxi service back to Malpensa Airport so that we did not need to overnight in Milan before our return to the United States. All in all, a lovely holiday. We would definitely stay in her accommodations again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and our charming hostess Marilena
Liked least: Can't say, it did rain the last day, but even that was wonderful for photos of the lake
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seglea
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Brilliant location and an excellent experience”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week in Casa Maddalena, as a couple for some days and then joined by our son and his wife. Marilena, the proprietor, did everything possible to make things convenient and comfortable for us; she speaks excellent English (and German). The apartment is in a historic building and it isn't huge, but it is very well equipped and full of character, and all the essentials are modernised. It's up two steep flights of stairs, but there is a stairlift so the apartment would be ok for someone with some mobility issues. The only downside was that the wifi was a bit intermittent while we were there, but a lot of people seemed to be having trouble with their wifi at the time so it may have been nothing to do with the apartment anyway.
The location is wonderful, looking out over the main square, and close to cheerful cafes and interesting restaurants, as well as some useful shops. The lakeshore is a short walk away. You're not going to sleep past 7 am, because that's when the church clock gets going (but if you want fresh bread for breakfast you'd be well advised to get up and go and buy it then anyway). In summer at least there's going to be plenty of temptation to stay up late, as there's often something going on in the square - but the soundproofing is good.
Be prepared to pay cash, and on arrival - Marilena doesn't have a credit card facility (but there's an ATM across the square); on the other hand, she doesn't take a security deposit.
We would try to book this place if we were going to stay in Varenna again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Locatopm
Liked least: Wifi signal strength
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelS49
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful - comfortable, convenient, authentic and with the friendliest owner.”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a 3 week stay at Marilena's apartment and it suited us perfectly. We went with two other couples and they stayed in another of her apartments very nearby. The apartment which is situated overlooking the central piazza, was so handy for everything, shops,restaurants, the ferry, the station and the waterfront. Marilena was very welcoming, explaining all the little things we needed to know not just about our apartment, which was very well appointed, but about the village and area generally. She is a very bubbly, outgoing lady who just wants to do everything to ensure you are comfortable, happy and enjoying your stay.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoH280
California Desert, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely flat in a central location offered by wonderful Marilena!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of 4 stayed at Casa Maddalena for a week and had a fantastic time! The apartment is right on the town square which was just the right amount of lively for us. Surrounded by wonderful restaurants and walking distance to the ferry and harbor, we had our choice of activities. Don't miss the hike to the hilltop castle! I like to cook and thoroughly enjoyed preparing picnics and meals in the kitchen, it was a wonderful step back to simpler times. The beds were extremely comfortable and the view of the clocktower from the bedroom window at sunset is really spectacular. The best thing about Casa Maddalena is it's owner Marilena! Marilena went out of her way to ensure our comfort and happiness during our stay. She is so warm and happy we consider her part of our extended family!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded expectations. Perfect location, wonderful host , clean and comfortable apartment”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great location in the town square,and close to the very best restaurants.
Warm and friendly host whose family had lived in Varenna for several generations and consequently she was a wealth of local knowledge and useful information. Our host even met us at the station.
The apartment was clean and comfortable and everything worked.
Highly recommended for a stress free relaxing holiday.
We spent most days on the lake and enjoying the fine restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and our host
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venu M
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Convenient, and extremely helpful land lady”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was very clean and has everything we needed from making breakfast to a very nice dinner. And this apartment is really close to everything, fisherman's house where you can buy fresh fish he caught that night, really good restaurants, close to the ferry dock, 2 minute walk to Villa Monastero. But most important the land lady who lives in the same building. The day we arrived she took us in her car to a town nearby (Bellano) for grocery shopping because she said it is a lot cheaper to buy there then in Varenna. We bought really good wine for around 2 Euros, and enough food for two families for a week for just 80 euros. And she even took us to a bakery with some incredible Paizana.

This apartment is really close to a very good Pizzeria. Pizze e focacce d asporto
Via XX Settembre, 7 (Means name of the street is September 20th). For just 4.50 Euros we had the most delicious Pizza ever.

Also, this apartment is right next to a decent Italian restaurant. Albergo Del Sole
Piazza S. Giorgio, 20.

We really liked our stay and highly recommend it. We stayed there with out 2 year old and a 7 year old.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, Close to everything, & a really helpful Landlady
Liked least: The church bell goes off at 7:00AM and that is really loud.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L1980
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect apartment in a perfect location”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Having stayed in one of Marilena's apartments in 2008 with a friend I had no concerns about renting through her again when treating my parents to a trip to Lake Como for their 65th birthdays and 40th Wedding Anniversary.

The flat has everything that you could need for a comfortable stay on Lake Como with a very well equipped kitchen. Varenna is perfectly located on the lake, we arrived by train from Milan and also did a day trip to Bergamo by train, the ferries are only a short walk away to see all of Lake Como, we also got the C12 bus from Menaggio to
Lugano for a day trip. When the time came for us to leave Marilena gave us a lift to the station so we could head North to Tirano to pick up the Bernina Express.

All in all it has been a fantastic holiday, I would always choose to stay in Varenna over Bellagio! Thank you Marilena for making my parents' holiday so enjoyable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing