We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Varenna”
Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Friendly and helpful staff. The hotel sits directly on Lake Como with a view of the mountains and Bellagio. The patio bar ( also used for breakfast) also has a great view of the lake and makes for a good start before going to dinner. All shops , restaurants and the ferry dock are all within an easy walk. This is the best hotel in Varenna and is more affordable and a more pleasant place to stay on Lake Como ( as compared to pricey, touristy Bellagio).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boogely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 504 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

A great 4-night stay on the lake. Our room was very clean, well appointed, and had a large balcony right at the water that was as wide as the room and spacious enough to easily fit 2 lounge chairs and a table with 2 chairs. All of the staff were friendly, patient with my halting Italian, and truly aimed to please -- especially Gaetano (spelling?), the gentleman who first greeted us upon arrival. In addition to a smooth check-in and some very good restaurant recommendations, Gaetano helped us avert a potential disaster. When we got off the train in Varenna, the train doors closed before I could grab my backpack. There was no station agent and the Tourist Information office in town was unable to contact anyone who could help -- suggesting we wait until the next morning to call the railroad. When Gaetano learned of the situation he immediately called to the station at the end of the line, spoke to several people, and somehow arranged for my backpack to be on the next train back to Varenna with clear instructions about where I was to meet the conductor during the train's brief 1-minute stop. The bag had my laptop, camera, and medications so this was truly a magnificent result. In addition to being grateful for the positive result, we really appreciated his calm demeanor and his willingness to act immediately.

The hotel offers a complimentary breakfast buffet and a light lunch is available for purchase. It also has a bar/coffee lounge that is spacious, comfortable, reasonably priced -- and with a wonderful view of the lake. The bartender makes excellent cocktails. This is truly a place to relax in comfort with excellent service and a feeling of luxury.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smichaelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We spent four wonderful days here at the beginning of our most recent European trip. The staff is great, the breakfasts and lunches were delicious, and the location is perfect. A perfect place
to get over jet lag. We flew into Milan and took a taxi to the hotel, which was definitly worth
the splurge. We had room 32, which had a small terrace overlooking the lake. The room was cozy, but the bed was quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank looseleaf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was the first hotel we stayed on a two week trip to Italy. A beautiful location with stunning views from the terrace where we ate breakfast and lunch . A very warm and welcoming staff that unfortunately was not not able to save us from the sewer smell coming from the drains in room number 1 . In addition the advertised balcony was only 2 feet wide so not really able to sit and enjoy the view. We met other guests that were happy with their rooms above the dining terrace so if you stay request one of these. Varenna is a lovely town on Lake Como and Hotel Du Lac is great option as long as you avoid room 1 .

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We had a great, large room with a balcony and were very happy with the experience. Staff were extremely friendly an helpful. Hotel is in a reasonably private positon, but also very close to a large number of restaurants (Bar Milo our favourite).
Key advice: don't even think of walking from the railway station, it may look close but its not a pleasant experience if your wheeling suitcases behind you. Think very pronounced cobblestones and you' ll get the picture.

Room Tip: Room 12 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We have the pleasure of visiting Varenna and the Lake Como area for 3 nights recently. We stayed at the Hotel du Lac because of the reviews and the beautiful location of the hotel. We were somewhat disappointed in the experience. The staff was helpful in any assistance and recommendations for dinner and ferry timetables. The breakfast was the worst we have had in our 3 weeks in Italy. It was ok but not what I was expecting from a hotel at this price point.
We stayed in room 1 which is located outside the main building. The smell of sewer from the shower was very strong. The shower doors had mould on them. We did ask for another room or any kind of help with the stench and got little in response . The cleaning staff did pour bleach down the shower drain on the second night. We had to cover the shower drain with a towel to keep the smell down.
I would still recommend this hotel but encourage anyone from staying in room 1!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great service, quiet, beautiful views, super clean, nice amenities, fabulous breakfast, pretty bar with great hors d'oeuvres. We had room 30 with a partial lake view but the private terrace was stunning, very private and quiet. The sun hit it in the afternoon, keeping us warm. It was the perfect place to enjoy a bottle of wine. The beds are a little hard for my taste, so I gave it four stars for sleep quality.

Room Tip: Room 30 was the only one available when we booked two weeks prior to our stay. Don't be put off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie24017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
762 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
829 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
0.4 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Address: Via del Prestino 4, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range: $235 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing