We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Anyone who has ever been to Lake Como knows it's not easy to find an unsatisfactory accomodation there. The vast majority of them has beautiful views onto the lake. The same is true for Hotel du Lac, nevertheless the place is quite exceptional. It is situated in Varenna, in my opinion the most beautiful town on the lake. The hotel is positioned directly on the lake shore, so at dusk and dawn you can listen to the sounds of the lake. The atmosphere is very peaceful, the rooms spacious and beautifully furnished. There is a short 5 min. walk to the port where you can catch a ferry for all kind of trips on the lake. And though there is very limited space on the lake coastline which is quite crowded, they have managed to "squeeze in" a little car park for the guests. We spent 4 wonderful and relaxing days in Varenna.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristjan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 505 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in August. We paid extra to get a room with view to the lake. We got that but room 1 which is not attached to the hotel. You actually have to walk out and down below to get to the room. The room has spiders and molds in the bathroom. No wifi in this room at all. Was awful. Don't take that room.
The breakfast was not great at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eth514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We booked this hotel for 5 nights in the first leg of our 3 week trip around Europe and it ended up being a family favorite. Very relaxing with a beautiful view in a very quiet location. The hotel staff were very helpful and accommodating. Will return again!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJKidMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for our first few nights of a trip to the lakes. We hadn't booked but they had their 'best' room available (No 12, I think) which gave us a huge balcony and spectacular views of the lake. It was well worth extra cost.

The staff were friendly, helpful and all spoke to good English, breakfast was good and they were happy to provide items not on show (tomatoes).

They do have a car park but t is at an extra cost so if you are prepared to walk you can park for free at the edge of the village.

Room Tip: Room 12 is their largest room and is on the corner of the building so you get two aspects and a lage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiggerlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved our time here because it was so quiet and relaxing. The scenery is beautiful and there are lots of things to see and do. The hotel is in an good location, within walking distance to lots of activities. We hope to return and next time we would upgrade to a room with a view.

The breakfast was good and offered lots of variety. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spotless.

Room Tip: I would choose to pay for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great location, excellent hotel. The staff is very helpful. In particular Guido provided terrific guidance for dinner reservations and things to do. Connor was very helpful with after hour libations. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smith01004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here only one night as part of our honeymoon (we were on our way to Venice for a Greek cruise). We both wish we could have stayed in this beautiful place longer! The hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming and our room, although slightly more expensive than we wanted to pay, was absolutely wonderful! Amazing views of Lake Como and Italian mountains! Very clean hotel with a nice breakfast spread in the morning (with more amazing views). We would return in a heartbeat! A note to those driving to the hotel... there is parking but you must drive through the main town square (where a market may be taking place), down a VERY steep, narrow road. Tricky but doable.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tausha14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 16 in Bellagio
833 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
3.4 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Address: Via del Prestino 4, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range: $238 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing