We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Easton, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a sweet, small hotel in Varenna that has everything. Great location, wonderful food, outdoor eating for lunch and breakfast, bar, -our room was clean, comfortable and had a wonderful view. Guido at the front desk spoke excellent English and was very friendly and helpful with recommendations, guiding us to excellent restaurants. It's quiet and a great place to stay a few days or longer.

Room Tip: Ask for assistance in picking out the perfect room and they will help you by email. I believe all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margarita200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    97
    31
    13
    4
See reviews for
52
314
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed for four nights in late July. It was unseasonably hot during our stay, and our air conditioned room more than paid for itself. The hotel has a wonderful lake-front location, and we had a big porch overlooking the lake. Simply put, very nice hotel in a dramatically beautiful area. The breakfast was always more than adequate, and the front desk was very helpful with directions and travel information. It is about a 15 minute walk from the train station, and located within a 5-10 minute walk of everything in Varenna. We loved it, and would easily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel4Lving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We traveled down from Interlaken, Switzerland for our first visit to Italy. After some research I knew I wanted to be on Lake Como for a few days. All the guidebooks I read touted Hotel du lac and they were dead on! We had a beautiful lake view room with master bed upstairs and wonderful appointments throughout. The views are spectacular. I will always make Hotel du lac my first choice when returning. Just a short walk along the lake, which is a pleasure unto itself, are the ferry landings. We visited Bellagio and Mennagio. My only complaint is that I did not spend enough time in this area. I will be back!

Room Tip: All but three of thier sixteen rooms have lake views. Book early and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramonkmcbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

First of all, Varenna is absolutely the perfect town on Lake Como. Small but enough restaurants and activities to keep you busy. Lots of beautiful things to see...Villa Cipressi, the Castle and more.. don't bother with Bellagio, it is an overpriced tourist town with gaudy shops we spent an hour there which was more than enough. As for Hotel Du Lac, I have nothing but praise. The room is much prettier than the pictures with a small balcony over the lake. Great a/c which is much appreciated in the summer. Also a great shower. The people who work here could not be more gracious. Breakfast is fine with delicious espresso. Highly recommended though be forewarned there are some rooms on the third floor and no elevator. But then, stairs are ubiquitous here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellinghopefully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We came here for lunch with about 20 people. We had made reservations and the staff were really accommodating. It's great for groups as there are few restaurants in Varenna that will take such large parties!

Regarding the food quality, I'd say it wasn't the best quality or best tasting food around, but it's a trade-off for a place being so accommodating for large parties. It was horrible, but nothing to write home about. If you have the choice, I'd recommend going elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcck55210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PONTE VEDRA BEACH
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our second stay. Everything is pretty excellent at this hotel. The room was quiet and private with a great balcony. We especially enjoy the bar they have with great drinks and snacks while relaxing on their balcony. The lunch restaurant was also pretty good.

Room Tip: We like room 30 for our second visit. It's spacious and has a nice private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CactusBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Honestly, there are not many choices when one travels with older kids to Europe. They either ask you to pay at least 50% extra or book an extra room. With weather reaching high 20s, air conditioning is an important feature for us. Large room with air con?? Expect to pay a lot in Europe.
We booked Hotel Du Lac in our first trip to Lake Como. We were promised a large room which sleeps 3 and a terrace overlooking the lake after agreeing to pay a large premium.
Upon arrival, we weren't disappointed with our room. It was clean and the view was priceless. The only problem is that the room and the bed was facing directly (straight
line) to the staircase and the floor had some cracks. There were minimum furniture in the terrace with dated furniture in the room. However, the room was very clean with good linen provided.
Service was good and receptionist very helpful. Location was excellent with walking distance to just about everywhere. However, breakfasts were sadly way below average with stale baked goods and limited choices. In fact, it was one of the worst breakfast in our last extended trip which involved 6 hotels.
The town Varenna was a gem. A very smart choice as a base when traveling around Lake Como area.

Room Tip: Room with lake view but expect to pay extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EELSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
425 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Property: Hotel du Lac
Address: Via del Prestino 4, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Du Lac Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing