We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best places to stay on Lake Como”
Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
near Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“one of the best places to stay on Lake Como”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in room #22 with a small balcony and wonderful view of the lake. This made our stay worth every penny we paid! So gorgeous! The breakfast, which was served inside, could be eaten out on the terrace, overlooking the water, and that's what we did. Breakfast was great, wonderful pastries, cakes, yogurts, fruit, and it was such a delight to sit outside and enjoy the view. What a way to start the day. The room was large, almost a little suite. Wifi in the room worked well.

Room Tip: Room #22 had a lovely view, actually had 3 beds, was huge, like a mini suite, with a desk. We close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    99
    31
    14
    4
See reviews for
54
318
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vacaville, ca
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Hotel du Lac in Varenna was a wonderful hotel in a wonderful setting at a wonderful price. It was not inexpensive, but you get your money's worth and then some. Our rooms were literally on the water. We kept our doors open all night to hear the lapping of the water against the shoreline. There were six of us in our group, three adult couples, and each of us were thrilled with our rooms. We were in the portion without the elevator, but my mom could handle the stairway. And the balcony and view over the lake was worth the climb! Very nice breakfast buffet, and you can take it up to your room if you desire, which I did every morning. Very quiet and clean and elegant. The staff is courteous and extremely professional! Guido was very patient and helpful. We booked a ride from the airport and back through this hotel, and they were right there ready to greet us both times, very nice roomy transport. I have been to Varenna before and we stayed at Eremio Guadio. (Spelling is wrong) I loved that place, too. Very spartan and clean and high up the mountainside, and much cheaper, but if I return to Lake Como, I will book a room here again. Eremio is wonderful, too, but it is quite a trek to get down the hillside and into the town. With Hotel du Lac, it is right there!!!! Just wonderful!

Room Tip: All three of our rooms were different, although right next to each other. Mine was called the Mimos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I had made our 2 night reservation last Aug. for June,2013. Our credit card was compromised and we had to contact the hotel to give them the new card number. I learned at that time that I had mistakenly made the reservation for Aug., 2013, not June! With only a short time before our trip we were told the room we had requested had a hold on it, but they could offer us 2 nights, but in 2 different rooms. We were in no position to turn down this offer. A few days later Valeria called us to say the people who had the hold on the room never confirmed so the room was ours! We so appreciate her help. The room was fabulous! 2 steps up to a double french door and a large deck with the most breathtaking view of the Lake. The room was large and very comfortable. There is a fridge with complimentary water and a very nice bathroom. There is no elevator. Breakfast (included) was wonderful on the outdoor patio. Everyone very friendly and helpful and Varenna is the most beautiful town. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had 3 rooms for 3 nights (six of us... family... all adults) in mid June, all with lake views. It was the first trip for all of us to Lake Como and our first stop on a 3 week trip. What a great way to start. We rented a boat with a guide for a day and visited many places on the lake. It was 450E (well worth it). Unless Richard Branson will rent you his place, the Hotel Du Lac might be the next best realistic option. First, Varenna was our favorite town on the lake that we visited and others indicated the same, including our boat driver (guide). And the Hotel Du Lac seemed to be the best hotel, in the best location in Varenna. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was good and you couldn't ask for a nicer setting. The rooms were nice with beautiful views but who wants to stay in your room when you are at a place like this! The ferry is close by and convenient for getting to the larger towns. We went to many great places on our trip to Europe, but none we liked better than our 3 days at the Hotel Du Lac in Varenna. We will absolutely go back if we make it back to Lake Como.

Room Tip: One part of the hotel has an elevator and another doesn't. If that matters to you, you will wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kintahntee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We did not stay at the hotel but enjoyed sitting on the patio overlooking the lake for a drink one afternoon. The patio has a trellis covered by vines which provide shade and the honeysuckle was in bloom filling the air with an amazing aroma.

Would highly recommend this
serene environment after a long day exploring the towns along Lake Como.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank CRSabol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We love this little gem of a hotel. We stayed here five years ago and were afraid we would be disappointed on our return visit - not so! We spent 4 nights in Room 22, which has a little balcony looking over the beautiful waters of Lake Como. Our room was clean and spacious, and our bed was very comfortable, with top-quality linens. The staff is absolutely outstanding and helped to make this a truly memorable stay. They went out of their way and way beyond expectations to take care of our every need (particularly Valerie, but also Guido and Connor). It is so peaceful and quiet, we loved sitting on our balcony or on the terrace for breakfast or afternoon or evening drinks. The water shimmers and truly makes for a magical experience. We hated to leave and will be back!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dpierce5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseland, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated with a view in every direction from the terrace . We had a room above the terrace so we had a breathtaking view from our small balcony. We were on the third floor. This part of the building had no elevator but the rooms are perfeclty located. A small sacrifice for the view. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The staff was terrific. The breakfast was more than adequate. Tasty croissants, sweets, eggs, cheeses, meats etc. Varrenna has very good restaurants and is convenient by ferry to the other towns on the lake. I highly recommend this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ERK616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eremo Gaudio
Eremo Gaudio
#5 of 6 in Varenna
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Cipressi
Hotel Villa Cipressi
#3 of 6 in Varenna
431 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#5 of 16 in Bellagio
793 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Property: Hotel du Lac
Address: Via del Prestino 4, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing