We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with amazing lake views”
Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Lac
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at this property. First of all, Varenna is the perfect base for a Como trip. It's right off the train (10 euro cab right from the Varenna train station), and very convenient for mid-lake day trips. The staff at this hotel are lovely. Very sweet and accomodating. The views from the breakfast room are also incredible. We had a double room with a balcony. It was too cold to sit outside, unfortunately, but the views were truly amazing. Varenna is a very quaint and quiet town. I can't imagine you would find a better property in this area. The free wireless was also appreciated.

Room Tip: Lake views with balconies are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBS_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 505 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this charming hotel in a perfect location on Lake Como. The hotel and room were spotless, with an updated bathroom and great shower. We were in Room 25, which was a corner room with king bed with virtually a panoramic view (views on 2 sides) and a small balcony (big enough for 2 to sit) directly overlooking the lake. The room was quiet and very comfortable with plenty of room to move around, and a sofa under a window, from which we could also look out at the lake. The breakfast was not sumptuous but was absolutely fine. The staff were so helpful and always available. It was a short, easy walk to the ferry and to restaurants. Varenna is such a beautiful town. We plan on visiting again, and staying at the Hotel Du Lac.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and this is an excellent hotel in an excellent location right on the lakde. Most of the rooms have private balconies on the lake. The included breakfast was very good. They have a fantastic bar where they provide free snacks. A great location to unwind after a day of touring around. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the ferry docks. We found Varenna itself to be quite charming with several good restaurants and even a pizza place.

Room Tip: Ask for room 30 below the check in desk. Has a very private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CactusBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We first discovered this charming hotel on a boat trip from Cernobbio a couple of years ago. Coming across it by chance, we enjoyed a cold beer and a simple plate of pasta one lunchtime and vowed to return to enjoy the wonderful peace and quiet and view south down the lake. We stayed for ten days last summer and are returning again this year. Best rooms have view of lake and either a balcony or a terrace - some with sun beds and patio furniture.
Staff are generally young, enthusiastic, helpful and multilingual.
Although they serve a pretty good breakfast and simple lunches on the terrace, there is no restaurant: however it is only five minutes walk away from some brilliant little local places such as Cavatapi. In the early evening, the terrace is a great place for an aperitif.
Love the place!!

Room Tip: Room 12 on the first floor has the largest terrace with sunbeds, table and chairs, right over the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SPMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Hotel du Lac starting on Sept 11. We loved the hotel and its location on the water, and we loved Varenna. We were so glad we stayed at Hotel du Lac over any other hotel in Varenna. The hotel staff service was excellent, our room was large ($245E, superior lake view room) with beautiful views, large bathroom, real shower, soft lovely sheets, comfie bed.

We had the hotel arrange a taxi to pick us up at Milan airport which was worth every euro spent ($140E). Would highly recommend this, we are in our mid 40s and were exhausted even on the taxi ride. After 2 long flights from the US, we had no interest in taking a bus to the train station and then a train to Varenna to save a few bucks. Not to mention, the train station is on the other side of town in Varenna and you either have to walk and find the hotel (which is a little tricky) or get a taxi. We also had the hotel arrange a taxi to the train station on our way out of town and were glad to have done it. No need to lug our luggage for a 20 minute walk across town.

We had room #35 which was on the top floor. The room had 2 twin beds and a loft upstairs with a queen bed. The only down side if there is no comfortable sitting area to sit and look outside at the water. A small couch would be nice. :) We WISHED we had a big balcony but those rooms were all booked. We were so glad we did not stay Bellagio which, in our opinion, was too crowded and not as quaint.

Our only regret was that we had not scheduled more time in Lake Como, we could have easily spent 5-7 nights there. It far surpassed our expectation in beauty and things to do. The alps are right there and you can hike, mountain bike, rock climb, in addition to visiting the various towns via the ferry. We like a variety of things to do including visiting sites, exercising and also just relaxing and taking in the views. We went to the various restaurants in town, the food was good, nothing spectacular. The service was excellent in all the restaurants we went to.

Room Tip: Get a room with one of the balconies, they were booked and we wished we had one to sit and read, dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CalifGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our room was right on the water with a lovely deck. The breakfast was wonderful with a great assortment of cheeses and meats. The weather was very rainy when we were there, so it was nice to have a bar area to sit and another sitting room with a fire place ....that should have had the fire going? Close to everything in town and the ferries.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank barney4852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great spot. Clean, well run .You pay a good price but that seems the norm around the Italian Lakes. Very spacious rooms and a magnificent lakeside outlook, close to both passenger and car ferries(no problem for pedestrians to use these).Housekeeping exemplary. No restaurant in the hotel at night but very good choices in town. Waiting staff appeared a bit casual at times .But overall staff were helpful. It was no problem for them to pack a picnic lunch and they were generous. Breakfast was excellent and had the best lakeside view we saw around Lake Como. Worth it for that alone. There are plenty of steps around Varenna –but it’s a magnificent romantic destination. This hotel was the pick of what we encountered on Como. The walk along Via del Viandante or the Wayfarers trail to Dervio via Bellano is another hidden gem in Varenna. The church of John the Baptist in Varenna (parts dating from the 11 th century)shows the Knights Templar influence and together with Villa Monstero,which has some excellent timber furniture pieces,add to the attractions. There are some very good local restaurants,Il Cavatappi being one, but booking at least a day before is essential.

Room Tip: Ask for a room fronting onto the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lanky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varenna
0.1 mi away
Royal Victoria
Royal Victoria
#1 of 6 in Varenna
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Olivedo
Hotel Olivedo
#4 of 6 in Varenna
762 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 16 in Bellagio
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
3.4 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
829 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Address: Via del Prestino 4, 23829 Varenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Varenna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Varenna
Price Range: $237 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Varenna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing