We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borgovino

Borgovino
Ranked #9 of 32 Restaurants in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I had dinner here last Tuesday and it as flawless The food was unbelievably delicious, presentation perfect and the service matched the meal. This was as good a meal as we have had anywhere in Italy. We found the restaurant by accident as it was only one block from the apartment we rented.

You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    93
    29
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best In Varenna___Hands Down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The only reason this restaurant is not rated the best in Varenna, or on Lake Como, in our opinion, is the number of reviews submitted by TripAdvisor commentators. You cannot be disappointed unless your idea of Italian food is Chef Boyardee spaghetti. I know you are out there and reviewing restaurants. Shame on you.

Honestly, the couple that operates this restaurant pours their hearts into this place. The Italian wife (sorry, don't know her name) could compete with Iron Chefs. Her Dutch husband runs the front end and is very accommodating and helpful.

We dined here twice in the four nights we stayed in Varenna. The only reason it was not 4/4 was we did not know about it on day one and we needed to compare with the other highly TripAdvisor rated restaurant.

We live in Los Angeles, travel frequently to San Francisco and New York and have dined in the most highly rated Italian restaurants in those cities. We were surprised and shocked to discover that Borgovino beats them all. The cheese plate with truffle oil; bresaola with arugula, capers and parmesan; gnocchi with gorgonzola, the risotto with lake perch; seafood spaghetti; all were among the best we have ever eaten. The dessert tiramisu was the best ever, or certainly among the best depending on how you like this dessert.

Do yourself a favor. Do not miss this restaurant! Take the ferry from Belaggio or Menaggio (if you can get back in time) to dine here. WOW!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank truegrit44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I ate here on our last day in Varenna, we had a 5 course meal in the afternoon complete with a bottle of wine and a complementary limoncello after our meal, the service was great and the food was wonderful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best meal of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Loved Borgovino! It was the best meal of our trip. The gorgonzola gnocchi is absolutely amazing! Reserve ahead because there are only a few tables inside.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lauraandemcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Intimate Setting and Beautiful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

My then wife to be and I went here on the night before our wedding to have a nice quiet meal together away from our wedding guests and I think it was the perfect place. A lovely small restaurant on a quiet side street with cooling air con. The food was delicious, we both shared a meat and cheese board to start, and we both had steak for main and it tasted superb. The deserts were okay, nothing amazing. Dick (Swedish) and his Italian wife run the restaurant and I want to thank them for looking after us that night. Such a nice quiet restaurant where you can relax and enjoy the flavours of the food and wine on offer. We will be back for sure.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jontronix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borgovino also viewed

 
Varenna, Lake Como
 
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Borgovino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing