We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lakeside Bar” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Il Molo

Bar Il Molo
Ranked #6 of 32 Restaurants in Varenna
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ickleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Lakeside Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Visited this bar/cafe several times during our stay. Great location for watching the world go by and for watching all the activity on the lake. Oh, the food and drink is good too and reasonably priced

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JonG371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    317
    96
    47
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cabanas, Portugal
Level Contributor
121 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Excellent evening.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

I was looking for a venue to hold a birthday celebration supper in Varenna, with some atmosphere, not too expensive, where we didn't have to choose off a set menu (despite being about 35 of us), and where we wouldn't be kicked out at 10pm. I found all of this with Bar Il Molo. Simone the Manager could not have been more helpful via email in advance of our trip, although it did help I knew the venue from a previous visit last year. I asked to be given the front terrace, and when we arrived everything was blocked off and ready for us. On Friday evenings in the summer they have live music, which was great for the atmosphere. The service was excellent despite the size of our group, the value for money was superb, and we had a super evening, will definitely be back next year!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AffinityGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location - acceptable meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We had lasagna and asparagus quiche - or something like that. Both were okay - not the best. We saw lots of people eating the pizza, so in retrospect, we should have tried it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gjpeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Unplanned visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We poped in quit late but that was no problem at all. The kitchen is open till one o'clock. We were very hungry because off à long journey and we ordered pizza. They served it very quick and that was very welcome. Most importantly they were excellent.

Helpful?
Thank BLBNBLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent View, great menu and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

we recently dined in this wonderful little restaurant in Varenna, the menu was very large and provided a lot of options, the pizza was one of the best we had on our trip. The prices were very reasonable for a waterfront restaurant, the service was friendly and the location stunning! So good we came back the next night.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Il Molo also viewed

Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 
Varenna, Lake Como
 
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Bar Il Molo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing