We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant on the water”
Review of Bar Il Molo

Bar Il Molo
Ranked #6 of 32 Restaurants in Varenna
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant on the water”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

My husband and I stopped in for an afternoon glass of wine (with complimentary snacks) and sat at a table for two overlooking the lake. Great scenery and great service (we loved our waitress Giada!). We also stopped in one night for dinner and shared a pizza that was AMAZING! Prices were very reasonable! Would definitely recommend this place!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    352
    109
    50
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Perfect Breakfast”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stopped here for cappuccino and warm chocolate croissants. The perfect breakfast! Excellent, friendly service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mascalzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food + Awesome Service + Priceless View”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We're visiting Varenna as part of a 3+ week honeymoon tour of Italy which has included (thus far: Taormina, Sicily, Sorrento & the Amalfi Coast, Vernazza & the Cinque Terre and most recently the Lake Como region). Our experience with food has been a roller coaster to say the least...expensive meals that leave a lot to be desired (and a hole in our wallet) and the more few and far between affordable meal with great service and a priceless view to change your outlook on everything! Tonight was such an occasion!!

We had 1/2 L of the house white (9€)--not the absolute best I've had but still very good, the "Big Salad" (10€), Caprese Salad(7€), and Onion Soup (6€). The big salad certainly did not disappoint!! Loads of fresh ingredients--tomatoes, eggs, beans, ham, sausage, olives and various lettuces. Definitely enough to share among several people as a starter--or in our case to feed one hungry guy.
The Caprese was on the smaller side but I was relieved to have flavorful mozzarella and fresh (not mealy) tomatoes. Not as much fresh basil as I would prefer but it certainly did the job. Especially when most others are double the cost.
The star of the show though was the onion soup! For 6€ it was the perfect hot, creamy, homemade goodness I wanted for this chilly evening. Packed with flavor I will definitely return before we leave for another bowl. Served with toast. We sopped up every drop!

There's free wifi, views that are to die for and complimentary blankets which made all the difference on this chilly night. The servers are friendly, helpful, and polite and don't scoff too much at our horribly poor Italian (they also speak perfect English but we can't help but make an attempt!)
This is not a Michelin star restaurant but at a total bill of under 30€ for two very full & happy travelers I would say that's a 5 star experience any day!! We will gladly return!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best view ever”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Took the ferry across to Varenna while spending a week in Cadenabbia. Dropped in for a coffee at the Il Molo and were instantly mesmerised by the views across the small bay.
After a worthwhile trek up to the castle we returned for a well earned beer and bruschetta. Once again the refreshments and service couldn't be faulted not that it would have mattered with the view on offer.

Helpful?
Thank Hemingby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good for early eaters”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This restaurant had really good mushroom pasta with white sauce. My husband had a huge salad. It has a huge selection of pasta, salads, pizza. It also had free wi-fi

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Il Molo also viewed

Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Bar Il Molo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing