We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Romantic Spot”
Review of Bar Il Molo

Bar Il Molo
Ranked #5 of 32 Restaurants in Varenna
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Gisburn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely Romantic Spot”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We happened across Varenna whilst driving around the Lake one day. Found this lovely restaurant on the front which reminded us a little of Sorento. We sat out under the large umbrellas whilst the rain poured down and ate our late lunch/early evening meal. Great food, service and lovely atmosphere, then the weather brightened for a lovely sunset. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jude270865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    351
    109
    50
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great reasonably priced food with fabulous views”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I ate here twice and the first pasta dish I had was very tasty and they accommodated me when I wanted to add to the dish. The next time I ate there I had a pizza and it was probably the best pizza I had while I was in Varenna, the staff were very helpful and the views around the bay area are lovely! Definitely recommend going here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank louisesolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food and wonderful view”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

During our 3 weeks in Bellagio, on numerous occasions, we used to catch the ferry across to Varenna just to soak up the ambience of Bar Il Moro .The setting was just beautiful and we would sit for hours having drinks and food. The waitresses were all lovely and attentive and the prices were very affordable. A truly lovely setting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank empirestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice view and ambience”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Good location as most say, lovely views over the lake. Nice chilled atmosphere to soak up the ambience and views. Perfect for an evening to sit and have a drink and watch the sunset behind the mountains.

Unfortunately on the evening we ate here it rained for a while but the staff were helpful and moved us to a drier place with minimum fuss.

Everything is reasonably priced but as others have mentioned the menu can lack a little imagination. I feel this is a problem at a lot of restaurants around Lake Como. Sometimes it is nicer to experience dishes other than pizza and pasta but then it must be difficult to cater for all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XRNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great view and food”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

It has a big menu. We stayed in Varenna 3 days and this was the one of the best bu its setting and variety of the offer. We had tried cheese platter and drinks one night. It was sufficient. We also tried dessert next day. It was better. (Banana split). They also have live jazz some nights. The tables by the lake is preffered more that book in advance if you like the watch sunset. Great spot for a little village like this.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gorhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Il Molo also viewed

Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Bar Il Molo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing