We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth finding!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Nuova Isola 1169 - CLOSED

Ristorante Nuova Isola 1169
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth finding!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

A very pleasant experience. This restaurant is a little off the beaten track i.e. not on the lake front, so in order to make up for that the food and service were excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiggerlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Average in every way”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Sadly I can neither blow hot nor cold about this restaurant. It was just adequate in all aspects. We sat outside as it was a warm evening. The table was pleasant but the restaurant is in a quiet side lane and hence has neither the benefit of a lake view nor the possibility of people watching. As a result, the restaurant lacks any discernible atmosphere. The serving staff are polite and efficient but seem to be devoid of any joy in their work. Unfortunately this ambivalence has spread to the food. I started with the spaghetti with lake fish. It was pleasant but unspectacular. My wife ordered the cold meats with rocket which turned out to be carpaccio, which might be a shock if you weren't expecting raw meat. My main was the sliced sirloin with pepper sauce. Again, this was average but the meat lacked any flavour and the sauce was thin and watery. My wife chose ravioli stuffed with pear and tallegio which she declared to be tasty but very filling and heavy. The meal with wine came to €76 which, again, was about average. With many fine restaurants to choose from in Varenna, it is a shame that Nuova Isola 1169 could not find something to make itself memorable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaque, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“quiet- romantic- good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Loved the lake fish sauce over pasta. Staff was friendly food was good. Nice house wine. Served in carafe.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank plibrary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Service is wonderful-the owners are friendly, speak English, you can sit outside or in, fun place to eat. Butter sage ravioli is amazing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank margarita200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
411 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Charming back street restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Restaurant is in a small courtyard just off the main square in Varenna, but without a view of the lake. Nonetheless, it was very pleasant sitting in the outdoor area - quiet, with the occasional passing pedestrians.
The menu was not large but had a good range of dishes. After an entree of beautiful tempura vegetables, we selected the filet of beef and the local fish for mains. The fish was excellent, but the beef was a little too rare for my wife's taste, and accompanied by few vegetables and spartan pepper sauce. Tasty, but could have been better.
For desert we shared an absolutely delicious fruit crepe.
Waitresses were charming and friendly..
Price was very reasonable for the area. Mains in the $14 to 25 range.

Happy to recommend to other visitors.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandJudy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Nuova Isola 1169 also viewed

Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing