We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a new ownership at the Cavatappi, excellent”
Review of Il Cavatappi

Il Cavatappi
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Finally a new ownership at the Cavatappi, excellent”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

The old Cavatappi intimacy is celebrated in a rinnovated and elegant new image. The chef (Riccardo) and the maitre (Giuseppe) have rebuilt a new great place through a special attention to details,overcoming the random behaviour of the previous owner
The menu is rich of italian peculiar ingredients prepared with great care, tastefully and well presented with a strong attention to the foreigner expectation. The starter "verdure alla griglia con farinata di ceci" is a taste explosion bringing to an imaginary trip from Liguria to Sicily. The local fish "lavarello" with italian "radicchio" and pumpkin sauce are a memory of the lake. The offer is distinguishing as quality, taste and attention from the other conventional place. Wide wine selection without shooting for high price and an overall excellent price for high quality. A relaxing experience trough a tastefull journey across italian cousine.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmaxel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    420
    123
    21
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The BEST dining experience in Varenna!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

After reading the TA reviews saying how good the previous restaurant owner was and how it is under new management, we were sceptical of going to this restaurant, but due to strong winds and unseasonably cold temperatures, we stumbled into the closest restaurant to the hotel. Boy were we glad! Only a tiny place with one chef and one odd looking waiter, this 2 man show worked wonders on a full restaurant. The food was absolutely sensational, and so was the service! What a find! Don't know what the previous restaurant was like, but I give this one a 5 star rating! If you like sophisticated Italian food with a twist, look no further.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Under New Management”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

It is with great sadness that I inform my fellow travellers that Mario, the chef proprietor of Il Cavatappi, has sold the restaurant and retired. This cosy restaurant with just five tables was widely considered to be the best in Varenna, popular with tourists and locals alike. Sadly, the new proprietors have failed to reproduce the explosion of flavours that Mario managed to achieve from simple but excellent quality ingredients. I visited recently and had the starter of Ravioli with Pesto. The pasta was too thick and the sauce was bland and uninteresting. My companion agreed and felt that it was necessary to refer back to the menu to remind ourselves what it was we were eating. The main course of lamb was tender but the accompanying sauce was flavourless and my companion's steak was perfectly cooked but the sauce mediocre. I can only report that our meal was no better and no worse than any of the other restaurants in the town and that previous reviews need to be disregarded.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Reprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing quaint restaurant, excellent food and service”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Our hotel recommended us to this restaurant, as we visited Varenna in March when not all restaurants were open. The menu was fab, not to fussy or too large to choose from, and portion sizes for each course were more than adequate. Prices are quite high, but think it's on par with the other restaurants in the area and the quality of the food and drink was worth it. There's a window on to the kitchen so you can see the two gentlemen preparing the food which added to the charm.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MyloWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRHOPE
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Service with a Smile”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The meal we had with Mario was not only the best dining experience we had in Varenna it was also one of the most memorable our group (6) experienced in Italy! It started with the owner agreeing to "open" on a Wednesday night as it was our last night in town. By the time we were having our first course others had walked by and soon all the tables were full. Watching the food being prepared was a great treat, try and reserve the table in front of the kitchen so you'll get to enjoy watching Mario and his assistant prepare all the food. The service was simply great, the food was tasty and well priced, the wine recommendations were excellent. Make a reservation for dinner, all the tables are usually booked, you won't regret the choice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HAROLD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Cavatappi also viewed

Varenna, Lake Como
 
Tremezzina, Lake Como
 

Been to Il Cavatappi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing