We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are better options in and around Varenna”

Hosteria del Platano
Ranked #9 of 32 Restaurants in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $44
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“There are better options in and around Varenna”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The restaurant is small and quaint on the main road in Fiumelatte. We were the only diners that evening and three of our party had the same pasta, with lake trout. The servings were far too small although the food was good. My meal was average at best. Very friendly owner and good service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank discriminatin2some
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    49
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
222 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the service and the food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The owner was very attentive and helpful. We dined late one night and were the lasts ones in the restaurant. We had four different entries and everyone enjoyed them as we did with the main courses. The pasta was amazing, fresh, hot and mouth watering. Two of us had deserts that were creative and good. Good value for good home cooked food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best meal so far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We felt so in-the-know going here! We wouldn't have found this place if we hadn't been staying just up the hill. Very nontouristy. Norma is great. Cocoa ravioli is the meal we keep talking about as one of our favorites in Italy. Worth the walk. A mile south of varenna!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaimekurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

The food was very delicious and the portion size was a bit small, but it was really worth the money. Ambience is calm and nice. Service was excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quacktop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Meal in Varenna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The wonderful atmosphere, the best food, and great, personal attention is on display at this tucked away restaurant. Worth the find, and Norma you are the best. Thank you for making our stay so special. I will come back for more black pasta.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hosteria del Platano also viewed

 
Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Hosteria del Platano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing