We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, probably the place to eat when the terrace is open”

Ristorante La Vista
Ranked #6 of 32 Restaurants in Varenna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, probably the place to eat when the terrace is open”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Very good food and service. The other reviews have said it all ; 4/5 rather than full marks as inside dining (too cold to eat outside) lacked a bit of atmosphere and tables are a little too close together. I would imagine that dinner on the outside terrace in warmer climes would be pretty special.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChrisJo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    73
    39
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very good food and view”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a meal here during our recent stay in Varenna. The meal was very good, the staff was attentive and the location on the lake was beautiful. I would recommend this restaurant. It was not our most memorable meal in town though but very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WarmweatherHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Imaginative and delicious”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Try anything and everything. Be adventurous. Edigio will not let you down. I had a starter of foie gras ice cream (!) that is one of the most memorable things I've ever tasted.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RickG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Romantic evening”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I had heard so much about this tiny restaurant, that I booked a table a month before (credit card guarantee) When we arrived, we were ushered to our perfect lakeside table, just as I had requested. The meal did not disappoint. It was perhaps our finest dinner during our 2 week trip. Service is wonderful. Book in advance!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DDDGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Loved the view, very good food. Lamb shank and salad were very nice and the Chocolate cake was excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cctravelercc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Vista also viewed

 
Varenna, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 
Tremezzina, Lake Como
Varenna, Lake Como
 

Been to Ristorante La Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing