We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting hints at heritage.”
Review of Borgovico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borgovico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Nice sophisticated , well maintained property. Relaxed atmosphere, lovely little hints at the heritage of the property in ways of leaving walls bare in small areas , found it very interesting!
Rooms are small but well maintained, good modern bathrooms. Good mix of comfort and staying true to the beautiful town. Staff if friendly, breakfast was decent...and the Lake is 10 min walk, one of the main train stations is also 5 min away.
Can come here again for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pankaj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Thank you, we are always very happy to read comments like this.
Customer satisfaction is always our first thought, we hope to welcome you again in our hotel, best regards

Staff Hotel Borgovico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 625 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

Very classily done up property....has a hilly cottage feel. Excellent rooms and bathrooms. Extremely friendly, polite and helpful staff, typical of a small town like Como, very unlike the usually brusque big towns. Loved our stay.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank BhupiJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Your review is very beautiful, thank you so much !
We hope to have you again as our clients, see you

Staff Hotel Borgovico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night as an inexpensive place from which to base our exploration. The room was really small but immaculate and modern. Even the bed, which didn't look comfy, was perfectly lovely and cozy. The complimentary breakfast was delicious, and was more than just pastry and coffee! The staff was incredible, spoke English well, and helped us map out our day. They even made calls to tour companies for us to get our more complex questions answered. They held our bags ALL day, called a Taxi for us (just a 7 Euro trip to the Train Station) and made our last day in Como excellent. An 8 minute walk to Ferry station and 15 minutes to main Piazza. A perfect inexpensive hotel!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MarniBattista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you very much for your beautiful review, we are very happy to read at first "incredible staff".
We hope to see you again in our hotel, kindly regards

Staff Hotel Borgovico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Rather disappointing this hotel which with a few small changes could be a lot better.
It is convenient for and just a few minutes walk from the station, but about 15 minutes walk from the main town and lake area. However there are some nice restaurants a short walk away and some in the same street.
The niggles. The room we had was very dark and needed more lights. The access stairs were also very dark even in the daytime, apparently they are on a timer but they need to be on all the time for safety. It was dusty under the bed, I didn't go checking this but I had to retreive something that rolled under there. Finally the provisions/toiletries were the most minimalistic with just two small shower/shampoo gels and nothing else. These were not always replaced either and I had to go and ask for them on one occasion.
Despite the niggles, the staff are all (except one) extremely friendly and helpful. The room we had was well decorated, the linen was very good and the bathroom was to a high standard.
Hence with just a few changes this hotel could jump a star in my rating.
Until they change a few basic things I could not recommend it.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently. Very handy to the train station. Arrived hours before room was to be ready but staff more than happy to hold our bags and put them into the room once ready.
Staff were very knowledgeable of the area and spoke good English.
Would have no hesitation staying there again if ever back in Como.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwigirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you for your good review and your nice comment about our staff, kindly regards

Hotel Borgovico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have stayed here before and based on our experiences, we came back. Benefits for us are the location - close to old town, lake etc. and the fact that the hotel will arrange parking for you right outside the front door. We were part-way through a 2-week driving holiday in our own car, so having it close by was very helpful.
The hotel is traditional in it's feel - not much in the way of mod-cons. However, the rooms are large and clean. Our superior room had an extra sleeping area on a mezzanine floor. We didn't use this, so might have preferred the extra space to have been usable. We were at the back of the hotel, so no road noise.
The hotel has 24-hour reception staff who are always happy to help guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryMWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you very much for your good review.
We will wait you for the next trip in Como, kindly regards

Staff Hotel Borgovico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

pro:
- the staff is extreamly nice, patient and helpful. He helped us for carrying luggage to our room and give me lots of advice.
- bathroom is spacious and clean.
con:
- location is a trap actually. it says close walk to train station but it includes more than 60 steps and sands roads which are challenging for the luggage and there's no public transporation from hotel to train station. no direct easy bus from hotel to other scenic spots at all either.
- Since we request extra bed (with EUR15 extra charge), we're arranged on the 3rd of Annex building which doesn't have elevator. This makes very inconvenient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank singdong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you for your positive comment about the Staff, thank you very much for this.
We are sorry for the location but obviously we can't improve it.
Our hotel is one of the nearest to the station.
60 steps are really nothing for the italian standard, we have a lot of ancient city with pedestrian area, uphill and brick road, this is a normal route for us.
It's easy to see on internet where we are, we always try to give precise information but we can't say that we are far from the station.
Thank you for your opinion, best regards

Staff Hotel Borgovico

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Como
0.6 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
911 reviews
0.5 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
0.1 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#2 of 32 in Como
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
0.1 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#8 of 32 in Como
275 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgovico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgovico Hotel

Address: Via Borgo Vico 91, 22100, Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range: $73 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgovico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Borgovico is situated in Via Como 91 Como stone's throw from the historic center and near to the train station. Our reality is born after a careful renovation that has allowed us to achieve 13 rooms, some with exposed beams and stone walls. All equipped with air conditioning, LCD TV, Sky TV and internet wi fi connection. The Hotel offers a warm and welcoming atmosphere of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Borgovico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgovico Hotel Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing