We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend!”
Review of Borgovico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Borgovico Hotel
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Would recommend!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The location of the hotel is a short 5 minute walk from the train station in Como, and another 10 minutes walk to the busier parts of the city centre. The location is one of the main reasons I chose to stay here.
I arrived at 12.30pm, and when I got to the hotel, it was 'closed' as they were still cleaning the rooms (I presumed). The front door was locked so you had to press a bell to be let in. The guy who greeted me was allowed me to wait in the lobby until my 2.00pm check in time, and I actually didn't mind the wait as I was glad to have a rest before settling into my room.
My room was adequately equipped, and it was big enough and comfortable for just one person. The wifi speed was good; no lag issues. And while there were not a huge selection of food at breakfast, the staff was quite attentive to all the guests' coffee/hot beverages' needs.
Overall, for the price I paid, and especially during peak season, I enjoyed my stay and would happily recommend this to anyone considering a good accommodation in Como.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyPengu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank for recommendation, if you come back to como you can call us, you are welcome here.
Many thanks for your good review

Staff Hotel Borgovico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    259
    59
    5
    6
See reviews for
64
296
72
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Hotel Borgovico in Como was a very nice surprise for me. Usually I do stay in Milano, but this time my favourite hotel in fashion city was booked and I decided to use this opportunity to discover Como and I was not disapointed. The location of the hotel is very close to the train station, just 5 minutes walk time. The room was very spacious, very clean, with two floor, wi - fi free of charge.
The staff was very nice, kind, helpful.
I love morning time, and breakfast in the garden with fresh juice, hot caffee, and nice pastery , enjoying sunshine and nice music was just the best.
Looking forward to come back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you very much for the nice review, we look forward to your next visit.
If you want to stay again in Como you are welcome here.
Thank again for your positive vote

Staff Hotel Borgovico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

we had been unable to come to the Borgovico in March due to circumstances out of our control and the staff had kindly offered to give us a discount if we came again, so as our path again crossed Como we decided to give it a try. The hotel looks a tad shabby from the front, but inside was much nicer. We had a room beyond the pretty internal courtyard which was quite small but nicely furnished. The real problems were out of the hotels remit - it was very cold and very wet - unseasonable weather for the end of May. I went to complain and was lent a small electric fire which did warm the room up. The location was good, a ten minute walk to the railway station (a good place to park in a town which is almost impossible to park in), and the breakfast was good if not memorable. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thanks for your review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and we're also sorry for the unlucky weather.
During this period there was a record of cold and because of a law of the town of Como we can't turn on the heater in this month and we had to remedy with the small electric fire.
Thanks a lot for the recommendation to other users of the site

Staff Hotel Borgovico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent here only one night, and we were quite satisfied with our choice.
The room was impeccably clean, fairly large with a very spacious bathroom. The staff was very friendly and efficient. Very nice the internal patio. Breakfast was included in the rate and enjoyable with a good choice of sweet and salty options.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank arbitrary_contact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We enjoyed reading your comments, we are happy that you like our hotel.
If you return to como you can call us, thanks

Hotel Borgovico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hotel was located within walking distance of Como San Giovanni train station, lake promenade and downtown shopping area. Room and common areas were clean and quiet; breakfast was good and plentiful. Staff was helpful in suggesting restaurants and sights to visit. However, can't say that the stay at this hotel was the highlight of our trip. The room was smaller than we expected based on the photos on the website. Location is in a residential area without much of a view.

Room Tip: If you want more than a tiny room, be prepared to spend more on one of the larger room options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingCarrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thanks for your comment.
if you come back in Como you can ask us to book a superior room, that's larger and more comfortable, it's situated in the back of the hotel and it's more quiete
if possible we will try to make you a special discount
thanks

Staff Hotel Borgovico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cham, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

A beautifully remodelled hotel which is a mere 10 minute walk to the train station. The staff were very friendly and helped us find some amazing restaurants. The location is great to shopping and the lake. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank b5c9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgovico, Responsabile reception at Borgovico Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thanks for your vote, we are happy to read it We hope you will come back soon in our hotel, best regards

Hotel Borgovico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Como hotels
0.6 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
830 reviews
0.1 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#2 of 32 in Como
403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
1.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#12 of 32 in Como
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#11 of 32 in Como
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgovico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgovico Hotel

Property: Borgovico Hotel
Address: Via Borgo Vico 91, 22100, Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgovico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Borgovico is situated in Via Como 91 Como stone's throw from the historic center and near to the train station. Our reality is born after a careful renovation that has allowed us to achieve 13 rooms, some with exposed beams and stone walls. All equipped with air conditioning, LCD TV, Sky TV and internet wi fi connection. The Hotel offers a warm and welcoming atmosphere of complete relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Borgovico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgovico Hotel Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing