We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good standards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plinius

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plinius
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Como
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good standards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed in Hotel Plinius for 1 night and were satisfied with our stay. Most hotels in the area are generally expensive and Plinius was the cheapest we could find at the time. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are spacious. The bathrooms were also faultless. The hotel is well situated, about 5 minutes walk from the Duomo and 10 minutes from the lakeside and the Volta Temple as it is right next to Piazza Volta. It is also only a 5-10 minute walk from the train station (google maps directions can be misleading - it is actually just a straight road). Some nice shops can be found near it too. The breakfast was lovely and there was a balcony from the restaurant with pretty flowers. I would say that the only problem was that the lobby was very small and thus became quite crowded at check-out time. Otherwise, everything was fantastic and if you are looking for a simple and comfortable place to stay for a few nights I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathynevza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    65
    55
    11
    5
See reviews for
22
75
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here in March for a school study group. Hotel Plinius is in an excellent location and has very friendly staff! It is in the heart of Como which was great because we went sightseeing everyday and this really helped. The rooms were nicely cleaned and very spacious. We had an awesome time here and the hotel is very friendly to students!

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side of the hotel are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyLeeSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ristiina, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed in Hotel Plinius for a week in the end of May. We had made the booking several months beforehand. When we arrived in the middle of the night we were first taken into a tiny room without a balcony, which our booking documents clearly stated we had paid for. That was instantly corrected and we were taken into a tiny room with a balcony. I´ve seen that room advertised as a superior single. The room was so small one of us had to sit on the bed if the other one wanted to walk around. No room for two suitcases, not even when they were closed. The temperature of the water pouring from the shower was nor adjustable and it was almost boiling hot. And the terrible noise outside. I did not sleep a bit and spent the rest of the night planning to look for another hotel in the morning if we were to stay in that room. A week´s stay in that room was impossible. We complained about the room immediately, but there was no other room available. We were told that there was a mistake and we would get another room next morning. And indeed we did, we got a nice room with enough space and a stylishly renovated bathroom. After that everything was fine. Without the first night´s disaster we would have liked the hotel a lot. We asked for a reduced price for the first room, and we even got that. Though the reduction was so small that it rather felt like an insult considering the room and the price we paid. Also it surprised us that the hotel had made a payment reservation on my credit card for half the price of the whole week already when we still had at least one day left to cancel the booking completely without any expenses.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank X_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melilla
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

It is a medium sized hotel in the very centre of Como and a walk from the shopping area and cafes of Piaza Garibaldi. The double room is comfortable for two and wifi works with a password that you have to introduce each time you get into the hotel. Scarce breakfast buffet,terrible coffe(ask for one out of the buffet to the waitress,they give it to you for free)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The good things first: the hotel is located centrally in Como the receptionists were very friendly, the place was clean and the wireless LAN worked ok. I was on a business trip and traveling alone. I got into a tiny, narrow room, which was stuffy and hot. With the windows open, there was much noise from a club nearby until after midnight. The next morning the sound of motorcycles in the narrow alley made sure I didn't oversleep. With the windows closed the air inside became stuffy and they didn't protect from the noise anyhow. Breakfast was below average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHI1995, Proprietario at Hotel Plinius, responded to this review, March 31, 2015
Hi Marcel M,
thank you very much for your review. The hotel needed to be renovated and we did it! In Winter 2014-2015 we changed doors and windows, blankets and mattresses. We painted the walls, updated hydraulic and electrical system, improved the lighting and built a new floor, that has new modern and beautiful executive rooms!
I hope you can come to Como again to see the results of our work; in the while I suggest you to visit our Facebook page “Hotel Plinius”, where it is possible to read news and special offers.
Best regards
Umberto Butti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Como hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

You've got your choice - you can have the windows open to try to catch some breeze, because the air conditioning doesn't work, or you can close the windows to shut out some of the loud music coming from some club. Of course, then you can't sleep either, because it's so hot in the room.
Only bright spot of this hotel was Gay, the desk clerk. She was very pleasant and helpful. Other desk clerks were not as good,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatriarchInTraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
277 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This place is close to harbor so if coming in by Ferry, its not very far to walk. Only a few blocks to train station also. Air conditioning doesn't work and two out of three clerks were not helpful with how to get it going, or how to find English TV stations. There's a club down the street and it plays loud, heavy on the bass, music into late night. Stairway smells. Room is showing age. Bathroom clean. Breakfast typical Europe fare. Gay, desk clerk, is only helpful one in two days stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing front of hotel, to decrease noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twominks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Como hotels
0.3 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#2 of 32 in Como
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel Meuble
Park Hotel Meuble
#8 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plinius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plinius

Property: Hotel Plinius
Address: Via Garibaldi, 33, 22100, Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plinius 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Plinius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plinius Hotel Como
Hotel Plinius Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing