We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good standards”
Review of Hotel Plinius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Plinius
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed in Hotel Plinius for 1 night and were satisfied with our stay. Most hotels in the area are generally expensive and Plinius was the cheapest we could find at the time. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are spacious. The bathrooms were also faultless. The hotel is well situated, about 5 minutes walk from the Duomo and 10 minutes from the lakeside and the Volta Temple as it is right next to Piazza Volta. It is also only a 5-10 minute walk from the train station (google maps directions can be misleading - it is actually just a straight road). Some nice shops can be found near it too. The breakfast was lovely and there was a balcony from the restaurant with pretty flowers. I would say that the only problem was that the lobby was very small and thus became quite crowded at check-out time. Otherwise, everything was fantastic and if you are looking for a simple and comfortable place to stay for a few nights I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathynevza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 226 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here in March for a school study group. Hotel Plinius is in an excellent location and has very friendly staff! It is in the heart of Como which was great because we went sightseeing everyday and this really helped. The rooms were nicely cleaned and very spacious. We had an awesome time here and the hotel is very friendly to students!

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side of the hotel are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubyLeeSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

It is a medium sized hotel in the very centre of Como and a walk from the shopping area and cafes of Piaza Garibaldi. The double room is comfortable for two and wifi works with a password that you have to introduce each time you get into the hotel. Scarce breakfast buffet,terrible coffe(ask for one out of the buffet to the waitress,they give it to you for free)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The good things first: the hotel is located centrally in Como the receptionists were very friendly, the place was clean and the wireless LAN worked ok. I was on a business trip and traveling alone. I got into a tiny, narrow room, which was stuffy and hot. With the windows open, there was much noise from a club nearby until after midnight. The next morning the sound of motorcycles in the narrow alley made sure I didn't oversleep. With the windows closed the air inside became stuffy and they didn't protect from the noise anyhow. Breakfast was below average.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHI1995, Proprietario at Hotel Plinius, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2015

Hi Marcel M,
thank you very much for your review. The hotel needed to be renovated and we did it! In Winter 2014-2015 we changed doors and windows, blankets and mattresses. We painted the walls, updated hydraulic and electrical system, improved the lighting and built a new floor, that has new modern and beautiful executive rooms!
I hope you can come to Como again to see the results of our work; in the while I suggest you to visit our Facebook page “Hotel Plinius”, where it is possible to read news and special offers.
Best regards
Umberto Butti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

You've got your choice - you can have the windows open to try to catch some breeze, because the air conditioning doesn't work, or you can close the windows to shut out some of the loud music coming from some club. Of course, then you can't sleep either, because it's so hot in the room.
Only bright spot of this hotel was Gay, the desk clerk. She was very pleasant and helpful. Other desk clerks were not as good,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatriarchInTraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This place is close to harbor so if coming in by Ferry, its not very far to walk. Only a few blocks to train station also. Air conditioning doesn't work and two out of three clerks were not helpful with how to get it going, or how to find English TV stations. There's a club down the street and it plays loud, heavy on the bass, music into late night. Stairway smells. Room is showing age. Bathroom clean. Breakfast typical Europe fare. Gay, desk clerk, is only helpful one in two days stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing front of hotel, to decrease noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twominks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Booked last minute whilst on a cycle holiday as the campsite was out of town and we fancied getting a flavour of Como.
The room and en suite were clean and the staff helpful. We were able to store our bikes in the underground garage.
Unfortunately although we got to enjoy a night out in Como I probably would have slept better in the tent. I assumed the air con just wasn't working and had an unsettled night due to street noise with the windows open to cool the room down. In the morning I learned that the air con is switched off overnight which was disappointing.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the street if possible due to noise levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelleMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Como hotels
0.4 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
0.2 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Continental
0.4 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#10 of 32 in Como
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plinius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plinius

Address: Via Garibaldi, 33, 22100, Como, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range: $81 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plinius 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plinius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plinius Hotel Como
Hotel Plinius Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing