We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive town - good value hotel”
Review of Hotel Plinius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Plinius
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Expensive town - good value hotel”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The Plinius is immaculately clean, good bathroom, very helpful and charming staff, room decor a bit tired and drab but breakfast buffet good and lovely little breakfast room. There are a few steps up from the street but the hotel has a wheelchair hoist to get up them so this would be helpful for disabled people. The only disadvantage, something which the hotel can do nothing about, is a very rowdy bar opposite, carrying on till late and attracting a biker clientele.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    85
    59
    11
    6
See reviews for
29
92
20
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodside, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I wen to Italy to complete a photography course and me along 14 other people stayed int his hotel. The staff was great, responsive, attentive, helpful! The rooms were big, clean, and very well put together. The bathrooms were great as well. Rooms also had AC with manual controls, so you can set the temp to your liking. The hotel was one black away from the lake, and close to everything else! we are also one 45 mins away from Bellagio by boat. They have WIFI, and a small restaurant and bar... Breakfast in included!

Highly recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Personal advice: bring bug spray when you leave the hotel... you WILL need it! for some reason, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Extorsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We drive from Milan to this hotel, upon arrival , we were informed that we have to park our car in the public parking , which there was none . After going around and around for approx. 1 hour, we finally found a parking place about 2 blocks ago .
The hotel location is considered to be GOOD, but because there is bars closed by, lots of noises up until 3am in the morning ( we checked in on Saturday ) . the room is sparcely furnished , no comforter on beds, just plain sheets .
The bathroom is good ( spacies and well maintained ) -
Based on the room rate, we felt that there is little value to this hotel.
The breakfast is nothing out of ordinary ,

Room Tip: If travel by car, check with hotel first , if they can arrange for parking . more suitabe for young...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motek m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The location of this hotel is fantastic, just 5 minutes walk from both train stations and being surrounded by shopping and eating options, as well as the lake itself.

Rooms are simple but good enough as a base since you probably won't spent much time indoors around here. I didn't notice the much talked about street noise on either of my 2 nights, but I was exhausted and could have slept through a herd of stampeding elephants. Wifi is free.

It's not a stunning or memorable place, but it's a good solid choice with a great location for enjoying the lake Como area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is a decent budget hotel. I was traveling Europe and staying mostly with family or in hostels and this was close to the train station, clean and easy to walk to most of the attractions. It can get a bit noisy at night, but I just turned the television on and it was fine.
I wouldn't want to have an extended stay here, but for a couple of nights, it was ideal.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We had a pleasant two night stay at the Hotel Plinius in October and loved its central location. We arrived by train from Milan so had just a short walk to the hotel. The room was small but we were expecting that and it was by no means a problem as there was plenty of storage space to keep our case and belongings out the way between the wardrobe and the suitcase shelf. The bathroom was clean, the shower large enough, pressure good and water was warm...pretty much all we need out a room to keep us happy!

Other reviewers have mentioned the noise from the street at this hotel...yes you can hear it, but we didn't find it bothered us. We arrived on a Saturday, so in the evening the cool bar down the street had a saxophone player in it, and was heaving. The noise stopped at midnight though...I think I actually dosed off before then and woke up later on....so that goes to prove it didn't stop me sleeping. Apart from that you've just got scooters which I don't really mind as it reminds me I'm in Italy!

Breakfast was simple but filling. There were yoghurts, pastries, cereals etc and the coffee and juice on offer was fine. If you can't find things like jam, look in the drawers below the buffet! These were closed on our first day and I was too stupid to look!!

In terms of being out and about - this is a GREAT spot because you are just a short walk from all the bars and restaurants in the centre of town. We spent time shopping during the day (great selection of shops) and in the evening had some fabulous meals. I highly recommed Il Pomodorino just round the corner and down a bit with its lovely walled courtyard, and the Albergo del Duca which is even closer - a family run place which we had dinner and lunch at - delicious!

Final tip - if you're going on the ferry (we went to Bellagio for the day) - head down to the waterfront and then go along to the right to the building with the 3 flagpoles outside it....this is where you will get your tickets! It can be quite confusing with all the different piers, a kind Ozzie girl saw us peering at a timetable and sorted us out so worth knowing!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quite_particular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

it's very central. good value. clean. the room is smaller than average.
we only had one pillow each on the first day and it was a bit low.
think the cleaner noticed that we folded up the pillow for the first night and gave us extra ones on the 2nd day which is quite sweet.
they have free wifi :) which is very handy.
we didnt bother with the breakfast. it doesnt look very appealing.
since there's a bar right across the street and it was veryyy noisy for most nights till very late - like after midnight. could barely sleep on the first night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xdorax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Como hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
0.2 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#2 of 32 in Como
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plinius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plinius

Property: Hotel Plinius
Address: Via Garibaldi, 33, 22100, Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plinius 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plinius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plinius Hotel Como
Hotel Plinius Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing