We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but small room”
Review of Hotel Marco's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marco's
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Como
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice but small room”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Overnight stop only, but if em had been here longer the room would have been too small. But comfortable bed, good restaurant and very clean. Great staff, all the ones we met couldn't have been more helpful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    91
    42
    11
    5
See reviews for
45
111
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Marco's on the last night of our holiday. Lake Como is a lovely area and the Hotel overlooks the Lake. We had two rooms with a lake view and a small balcony. The rooms were quite small but perfectly adequate and had a large bathroom with good shower. The room had air conditioning. The staff were good and even took our cases to our rooms. They recommended lots of places to visit and the area is surrounded with bars and restaurants. We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food and value was excellent. Como town is also wonderful with a good range of shops, bars and restaurants. I would definitely recommend this Hotel. The only downside if you have a car is that the parking is very limited and is on first come, first served basis. We parked down the street in a metered area but it was not expensive. We had to leave in the morning before breakfast was served but they did offer us coffee and a brioche. Breakfast is served on the terrace over looking the lake which is stunning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 655Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed in hotel marco on lake como, had a front room with a lake view, very small rooms and a bit noisy, lake como wears very tired looking and in need of some sprucing up, we came from stressa on lake maggorie which is so much better, we took the ferry along the lake to Bellargio
Which is full of shops and restaurants I would not go back here

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We started our Italy trip with Como and it was spectacular. The place is beautiful and Hotel Marco's was the perfect resting point. We drove into Como and they helped us park our car just outside at no cost. Marco's is situated very close to the train station as well and you have a great view of the lake from the top floor room. I think we were in No 10. The room size was alright for us but you cant fit a third person. There were lots of cafes and restaurants just below the hotel and it was very near to the pier from where you can take the tours. Highly recommend the place if you want a clean place with a good location. Definitely not for those who want to spend their time lounging in the hotel itself as it is more a B&B. Breakfast was well stocked and the coffee was great. Did I mention a very helpful staff? They made the stay very comfortable.

Room Tip: No 10 has a beautiful view. comfortable for up to 2 ppl.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluejourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed for a week in late June in one of the double rooms with balcony and a superb view over the lake. The room was fairly small and simply furnished but was clean, with a comfortable king size bed, minibar, a small safe and plenty of hanging space. The attached shower-room was well appointed and the sachets of shampoo etc were changed daily. The live music at a nearby restaurant next to the funicular meant there was little point trying to sleep before 11.30pm, but, other than that, the hotel is quiet and, in any event, we were content to sit on the balcony with its wonderful lake view and watch the world go by. Breakfast is served in the 1st floor dining room and, if the weather is kind, on the adjacent terrace overlooking the lake, though if you eat on the terrace be prepared to share your breakfast with the local tree sparrows.There is no hot food at breakfast but a good range of cooked meats with cheeses and melon, fresh rolls and bread, pastries, 2 cereals, choice of juices, yoghurts and some fresh fruit, which varied from day to day. Coffee is waiter-served and freshly made to order. Staff were friendly and helpful and a really nice touch as we checked out was the gift from the hotel of a bottle of home-made limoncello. Would we stay again? - Definitely!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Hotel Marco's could not be in a better location. On the lake with beautiful views. The rooms are VERY clean and surprisingly large. The attached restaurant is very good for both lunch and dinner. Service is top notch both in the hotel and the restaurant.

If you are driving, the directions on the website are virtually useless. Get a GOOD GPS and a DETAILED map of the Lake Como area. We were lucky and got one of the 2 parking spaces are the hotel entrance.

Room Tip: There were 3 of us, so had a "triple". This room was slightly larger than the doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEMcN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

As many other reviewers have said this is in a super spot,right on the lakeside with views over the bay and como.The hotel is a very simple,clean base with excellent stall. We ate in the very nice restaurant on a terrace overlooking lake on a couple of occasions.The hotel is very well situated within easy walk into como. In fact when we visited como in June 2013, most of the lakefront in central como was obscured by hoardings as they are in the process of a major remodelling of the waterfront. This work does not affect the area that Marcos is situated.Whilst the hotel does not have a pool there is a lido just up the road and also one at the villa Olmo ,both open to the public. Overall I would recommend this hotel and will definatly revisit.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janehauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Como hotels
0.3 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quarcino
Hotel Quarcino
#16 of 32 in Como
174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#13 of 32 in Como
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
0.4 mi away
Albergo Firenze
Albergo Firenze
#15 of 32 in Como
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tre Re
Hotel Tre Re
#22 of 32 in Como
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marco's

Property: Hotel Marco's
Address: Via Coloniola, 43, 22100, Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marco's 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marco's is a likeable and neat hotel managed by the Gungor family, situated directly – in the meaning of “really directly” – at Lake Como and next to the funicular to Brunate.Enjoy the panorama of Lake Como and major parts of the city of Como, especially from the newly built, beautiful breakfast terrace or the restaurant’s winter garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Marco's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcos Hotel Como
Hotel Marco's Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing