We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location and good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marco's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marco's
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Como
Berkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed for a week in late June in one of the double rooms with balcony and a superb view over the lake. The room was fairly small and simply furnished but was clean, with a comfortable king size bed, minibar, a small safe and plenty of hanging space. The attached shower-room was well appointed and the sachets of shampoo etc were changed daily. The live music at a nearby restaurant next to the funicular meant there was little point trying to sleep before 11.30pm, but, other than that, the hotel is quiet and, in any event, we were content to sit on the balcony with its wonderful lake view and watch the world go by. Breakfast is served in the 1st floor dining room and, if the weather is kind, on the adjacent terrace overlooking the lake, though if you eat on the terrace be prepared to share your breakfast with the local tree sparrows.There is no hot food at breakfast but a good range of cooked meats with cheeses and melon, fresh rolls and bread, pastries, 2 cereals, choice of juices, yoghurts and some fresh fruit, which varied from day to day. Coffee is waiter-served and freshly made to order. Staff were friendly and helpful and a really nice touch as we checked out was the gift from the hotel of a bottle of home-made limoncello. Would we stay again? - Definitely!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    88
    40
    9
    4
See reviews for
45
102
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Hotel Marco's could not be in a better location. On the lake with beautiful views. The rooms are VERY clean and surprisingly large. The attached restaurant is very good for both lunch and dinner. Service is top notch both in the hotel and the restaurant.

If you are driving, the directions on the website are virtually useless. Get a GOOD GPS and a DETAILED map of the Lake Como area. We were lucky and got one of the 2 parking spaces are the hotel entrance.

Room Tip: There were 3 of us, so had a "triple". This room was slightly larger than the doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MEMcN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

As many other reviewers have said this is in a super spot,right on the lakeside with views over the bay and como.The hotel is a very simple,clean base with excellent stall. We ate in the very nice restaurant on a terrace overlooking lake on a couple of occasions.The hotel is very well situated within easy walk into como. In fact when we visited como in June 2013, most of the lakefront in central como was obscured by hoardings as they are in the process of a major remodelling of the waterfront. This work does not affect the area that Marcos is situated.Whilst the hotel does not have a pool there is a lido just up the road and also one at the villa Olmo ,both open to the public. Overall I would recommend this hotel and will definatly revisit.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janehauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Great little hotel right on the lake front. We had a lovely room overlooking the lake and although rooms are quite basic they are clean & comfy. Breakfast was tasty & plentiful and the on site restaurant served lovely evening meals finished off with complimentary Limoncello! Very good value for money. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerseygirl1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

What a lovely little hotel this was. The staff were all so friendly & welcoming and we had a room overlooking the lake, beautiful! The room was fairly basic but clean and well kept. Breakfast was just right with plenty of choice and the on-site restaurant was fantastic! The food was delicious and our waiter Giorgio was so charming and helpful as were all the staff at this hotel. The complimentary limoncello after your meal just finishes off your meal very nicely. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view as this is a delight to wake up to
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThunderRoad1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murwillumbah NSW
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

When we were shown our room by Diep from the front desk, it took our breath away when he opened the french doors to the balcony. Overlooking the restaurant below, Lake Como glistened in front of us. The room itself was adequate in a small but very cosy and functional hotel. Breakfast on the balcony was nicely put together with unlimited cappuchino and again the ever present views of Lake Como. The restaurant below was operated by the same people as the hotel and it quickly became our restaurant of choice for lunch or dinner. Food was very reasonable, service was par excellance and again THAT view !!! On our month l9ong adventure in Europe, this became our favourite place of all!!!!!! BUT BOOK A FRONT ROOM FOR THE VIEW.
.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Llewelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

While the room was small, the view of the lake from the balcony was great, which is where we spent most of our time, we stayed longer than expected because it was just a peaceful relaxing atmosphere over looking the lake. great location with walking distance to many other restaurants and the main town and convenience shop located close by for nibbles, wine etc to have on the balcony over looking the lake. Trayd (not sure how to spell his name) made our trip very memorable he was more than helpful and friendly throughout our stay, with anything we asked, not sure how it would be without his customer service as he was the main person we dealt with especially when speaking english. Breakfast was always relaxing and great coffee

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassandraheinemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Como hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Quarcino
Hotel Quarcino
#16 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#8 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tre Re
Hotel Tre Re
#23 of 32 in Como
3.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marco's

Property: Hotel Marco's
Address: Via Coloniola 43, 22100, Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marco's 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marco's is a likeable and neat hotel managed by the Leone family since 1991, situated directly – in the meaning of “really directly” – at Lake Como and next to the funicular to Brunate.Enjoy the panorama of Lake Como and major parts of the city of Como, especially from the newly built, beautiful breakfast terrace or the restaurant’s winter garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Marco's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcos Hotel Como
Hotel Marco's Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing