We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the station and a pleasant walk to the lake.”
Review of Hotel Engadina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Engadina
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Close to the station and a pleasant walk to the lake.”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel was close to the station. When exiting we went straight down the stairs with our heavy luggage and realised as you exit you can turn right and there is a footpath leading down to the point you need to be at to reach Engadina. Once at the giant hands at the foot of the path away from the stairs you turn left and follow this road until you reach the roundabout and turn right. The hotel is just up from here on the left hand side so,you will have to walk to the lights to cross this busy road safely or be dare devils like us and pick a spot to run across. The hotel is clean and just what we needed for our 2 night stay. The road is very busy out the front but not noticeable in the lobby. In your room you do hear the cars but they weren't a problem for us to sleep. It was 5 minutes to the lake and 2 minutes up on the right is a supermarket for goods you require. We were desperate to do washing and found a coin laundry finally at Quick Wash Via Carloni 14. Probably a 20 minute walk from the hotel. Breakfast is placed at your table consisting of mini toasts, juice, coffee, pastries and yoghurt.

Room Tip: Away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank crab67tkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    108
    63
    11
    1
See reviews for
31
89
31
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daresbury UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Around 10 minutes walk from the lake in the center of Como, 2 minute walk down a side street to the Como Aero Club on the lake along a very busy main road (not an issue really). Family run hotel, very clean and very pleasant stay. Room not so large but again no issues with that. Immaculately clean and tidy. Really no avoiding the road noise but again not a real problem as it's the same throughout Como. Breakfast very basic continental style as you would expect.
We would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

These people welcomed us to their hotel. They were friendly, helpful, had a wonderful breakfast included which served cappuccino if you so desired and plenty more. The room was spotless, well taken care of, light colors and cheery. The bathroom was modern and updated. At night we went down and asked for coffee. Staff was happy to make anything we desired, including hot coffee or tea, no charge. This hotel has outstanding service and attitude. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: People in hoe hotel are fantastic and friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irisaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel is a short walk down from San Giovanni railway station, (ideal for getting to and from Switzerland) towards the lake. There is also another railway station on the other side of town. There is a large supermarket nearby, if you want to put your own choice of drinks in the mini-bar. I don't know why its called a mini-bar, its just a fridge in your room with some drinks. The hotel entrance is small in what looks like an undistinguished block of flats and there is another similar hotel in the next block. The road signs do not make it easy to find for the first time. The hotel is a short walk to a park by the lake and the other side of the park there the main touristy part of the town and ferries across the lake. My room was smaller then I had expected, but OK, cool, clean and everything in it worked well, particularly the air-con. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and answered all my questions. Breakfast was also fine. It is not a fantastic hotel, there are certainly smarter ones in Como, but what it does, it does well and if you are just passing through for a night or two, on a limited budget without great expectations, then I would certainly recommend it

Room Tip: The hotel is back from a main road, so although I had no problem with noise, I would see if I could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heinrich000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed for two nights in September. If you've seen all the lovely old fashioned style villas with views of the lake, you could be a little disappointed when you arrive at this 1960s concrete looking hotel! But, it turned out to be a very convenient, quiet, comfortable place to stay.

The hotel was very clean, the room comfortable, decent air conditioning. The décor was quite simple. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a free breakfast of croissants, rolls, jams, yoghurts etc. The check-in and out was very easy.

Como itself is quite big and some areas are quite modern, but there is a lovely medieval quarter about 10 mins walk from the hotel. The walk was very quick and even walking at night we felt perfectly safe. If you walk the other way from the hotel, there is a lovely walk along the lake past the hanger with all the sea planes and along to a lovely villa called Olmo, which has an area for sunbathing on the lake front.

I would very much recommend this hotel if you have never visited the area before, as Como is a good base to explore the lake and this hotel is a good place to spend a few nights. If you're looking for a lovely view or a romantic break, maybe consider one of the hotels dotted along the lake instead, but for us as first time visitors, we found the whole stay absolutely fine. I would happily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 3 nights in Hotel Engadina. Our room was very spacious, clean with very good amenities. All the staff we met were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast is adequate and served in a very comfortable breakfast room. Our room had a Juliet balcony facing an inner courtyard but with a view of the nearby hilltop.

This hotel is located just outside the old town of Como, near the university. A short walk to the beautiful lake front and promenade, the San Giovanni train station, and the old town with its quaint streets, piazzas and cafes. It is busier with traffic than inside the old town, but once in our room we did not notice any traffic noise. There is also a grocery store nearby.

We would not hesitate to recommend this property to visitors to the beautiful region of Lago di Como. Enjoy!!! Ciao!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cardinal525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed 2 nights , found manager , son and receptionist to be very kind and helpfull ,breakfast service great! Unfortunately room small for 3 people. Safe did not work but was fixed next day..Cleaning was ok but items were misplaced! My wives make up kit never found.
Location exellent.Expensive for room type.Would recommend for short stay only ,but not with 3 single beds in room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giovanni s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Como hotels
0.1 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
569 reviews
1.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#9 of 32 in Como
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#2 of 32 in Como
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Continental
0.0 mi away
Park Hotel Meuble
Park Hotel Meuble
#11 of 32 in Como
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Engadina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Engadina

Property: Hotel Engadina
Address: Viale Fratelli Rosselli 22, 22100, Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Engadina 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Engadina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Engadina Hotel Como
Hotel Engadina Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing