We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel - some minor issues”
Review of Lizard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lizard Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2006

We stayed at the hotel Larius for 3 nights. Overall the hotel was fine.

Plus points were that the rooms were very clean, the hotel is fairly new, fixtures and fittings in good condition, sufficient parking available (a big plus in italy!), and friendly & helpful staff.

Also... there are two supermarkets within easy walking distance, very handy if you want to stock up on water etc.

The walk to the city walls is probably about 10 minutes, probably about another 10 minutes to the waterfront.

Not so good points are the airconditioning being switched off at night - the weather was pretty hot so we went from being a good temperature to very hot overnight, then cool when the aircon came back on again. The internet is expensive - 1 euro for 5 minutes - I didn't use it so I can't say whether it was any good. They have a small gym - not sure if it is charged for - if it's important to you make sure you ask beforehand (I think its 10 euros).

Breakfasts were ok but not great. I was a bit disappointed that the coffee was from a nescafe machine, and the juice was under par.

My impression is that the staff are committed to making the venture a success, but the owners have stretched themselves to the limit to fund the venture, and money is very very tight.

If you are passing by como for a few days, and you're looking for a mid-range hotel, then this could be a good place to look at.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank harryb888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 200 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2006

Hotel Larius is located in a largely residential area that is a distance from the downtown area. The hotel is unremarkable, although the restaurant chef takes pride in creating an enjoyable dining experience. The rooms are expected with the exception of air conditioning. Specifically, the hotel has a policy of turning off the air conditioning each night from 11 pm to 7 am regardless of temperature. We stayed there during a hot week in July and the room temperature during the middle of the night was simply unbearable. The hotel owner refused to modify his air conditioning policy or provide a refund.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Frisky_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2005

We found this hotel using the internet and negotiated rates using email. It's a little confusing finding the hotel the first time, so I recommend taking a cab from the train station (Como Nord is closest.)

The hotel is of modern design and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was very accommodating. By all means, have dinner one night in the restaurant! We found it to be every bit as good as Navedano, but less expensive and closer! Try their Italian champagne which we found to be better than French.

We walked from the hotel to wherever we wanted to go in Como. It is perhaps 15 min. to the waterfront.

We loved Como and this hotel and will definitely return to both.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank MCMGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Roberta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lili G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Fabio-Luxburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: La nostra stanza si affacciava nel cortile con vista sulla torre verso il monte. Era abbastanza sil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Geri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Como hotels
0.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#12 of 32 in Como
296 reviews
1.1 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
610 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#10 of 32 in Como
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Como
Hotel Como
#8 of 32 in Como
189 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Continental
1.0 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lizard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizard Hotel

Address: Via Francesco Anzani 12/C, 22100, Como, Italy (Formerly Hotel Larius)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range: $78 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lizard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lizard Hotel is a modern hotel, proceeds in 2004 the renovation of an old mill, able to offer a pleasant stay in a warm and cozy. Located in the old quarters of the charming town of Como in the city center, a few steps from the historic center and the shopping area, full of boutiques of the best Italian designers, The hotel is housed in a young and dynamic context, suitable for every need. Le camere, equipped with every comfort and furnished with style and sophistication, combined with the magical setting of a charming Como, Lizard Hotel make the right choice for a stay of culture and relaxation. The common areas have been manufactured to the highest standards of functionality. Covetto restaurant,il bar, a fitness center with gym, sauna and turkish bath, Internet point and ample parking complete the facilities of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lizard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larius Hotel Como
Lizard Hotel Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing