We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“excellent hotel...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Quarcino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Quarcino
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Como
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“excellent hotel...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

I stayed for 4 nights....very satisfied. The service was excellent....and the hotel was very good value for money. Its location was one of the main reasons I chose to stay. Its only a couple of minutes from the lakeside, and from Como Lago Nord train station (the quiet one)

Room Tip: I chose a basic single....and was very satisfied with the room features....excellent bathroom, and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaun07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    90
    32
    5
    2
See reviews for
39
65
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night so we could explore Como before getting the boat to Menaggio for the remainder of our trip.

From Milan Malpensa airport we caught the airport express train and changed at Saronno for the train to Como Lago Nord. This station is on the east side of Como and just a couple of minutes' walk to Hotel Quarcino (slightly uphill at the end).. So the location of this hotel was ideal. It's also very close to the good selection of lakeside restaurants on the Lungo Lario Trieste, good for the Brunate funicular - highly recommended! - and only 5 or 6 minutes walk from the boat terminal.

The hotel is inexpensive for Como, run by some very pleasant people - they all had good or adequate English except for one elderly gentleman who was charming nonetheless. Everything was spotlessly clean. The reception area and breakfast room were very attractive. Our room was very plain - another reviewer has accurately described it as 'monastic' - but we had everything we needed there. The bathroom was a good size. The bells? Yes, they were right outside the window and extremely loud, but we were already awake at 7.30 a.m. and found them entertaining rather than annoying. Breakfast was adequate. We didn't have a car, but we noticed the secure parking at the side of the hotel.

Any downsides? Very thin towels, and quite hard pillows. But we can thoroughly recommend this hotel for at least a short stay, particularly for anyone who plans to arrive at Como Lago Nord station.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosemary07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I chose Hotel Quarcino for my recent 3 day stay in Como in August because of the generally favourable reviews in Tripadvisor and I was not disappointed. I was travelling alone and wanted somewhere close to Como Nord Lago Station and somewhere I would fell quite safe walking back to after dinner at night and I did not want to spend too much. Hotel Quarcino lived up to these expectations.
My single room was small and simple but had good storage, a desk to sit at and an excellent bathroom. I was not at all bothered by the nearby church bell which others have commented on. It added to the charm and rang for only a brief time. The service was efficient and very friendly. My room at the back had a pleasant view of the hill behind the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

While the rooms are a bit small and monastic, the hotel is great value for money - the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good and the coffee to die for - close to everything worth seeing.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be the same close to the church with the frequent bell ringing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel has had some great reviews and I can understand why, but I did wonder if was in the same hotel.

Breakfast is much like any other Italian breakfast, except they seem to only want to have enough croissants for a third of the guests, most odd!

Our room was quite dated and so was the bathroom and didn't seem to correspond to the pictures on the website. Heating was an issue and it appears this is not a new observation. Cleanliness appeared ok, but when we moved the small desk closer to the window, its obvious it not been moved for some while.

The pillows are recycled rock and we has ask for softer pillows which were provided.

The staff are keen to help, at least most. Some of the older members of the family could do with going on a look happy and smile course!

Good location.

Not sure if I would recommend, and probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rangehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were quite pleased with this hotel. The location was excellent as was the price. Especially considering the alternatives. I didn't find the bed overly comfortable but the room itself was really nice and the bathroom was great. The price was great and included a pretty nice breakfast each morning. One of my favorite things about the hotel was that they sold a litre bottle of water for 2 euros. After spending more than that on small bottles throughout our trip this was a treat. They had free wi-fi as well a computer in the public area. All in all we really liked this place (I loved the church bells) and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karbop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were awake before the church bells rang (7:45am on Sunday, 7:30am on Monday), so that was not an issue for us, but the bells were quite loud. The only real negative was that the bed and pillows were not very comfortable.

Location was convenient to the funicular, the ferries, and many restaurants. Owners were friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The mom speaks limited English, but a little Italian (eg, room number) went a long way. Breakfast was delicious with various options but very little protein. Our room was clean and decently sized.

Most people going to/from Milan will use the Como S. Giovanni station, which is on the other side of town. A larger taxi costs 15 euros and a smaller taxi costs 9 euros to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Como hotels
0.8 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#2 of 33 in Como
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 33 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.7 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#1 of 33 in Como
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#7 of 33 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
0.2 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quarcino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quarcino

Property: Hotel Quarcino
Address: Salita Quarcino 4, 22100, Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 33 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Quarcino 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned hotel in Como center with garden and Private Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Quarcino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarcino Hotel Como
Hotel Quarcino Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing