We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kindness is not their strong point”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Natta Cafe

Natta Cafe
Ranked #5 of 524 Restaurants in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar, European, Brew Pub, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Warm and welcoming Bistrot in the heart of Como, near the Pinacoteca Civica and Piazza San Fedele, perfect for lunch, ideal for dinner with your partner or friends. In a context of the fifteenth century, stone arches, wooden ceiling with exposed beams and a spacious mezzanine, with the famous balcony, create a pleasant and intimate atmosphere, in addition, the kind staff, the daily special and fresh food, will make you happy and want to come back! -Free Wi-Fi -Pets Allowed -High Chair (Children) -AmEx/Mastercard/Visa/Maestro accepted -Jazz, Bossanova, Swing and Blues Music
Bergamo, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kindness is not their strong point”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were there for one week workshop.
The lunch (sandwich+1 spoon of fruit+drink+coffee) was offered to the partecipants but it happened to find out the price/person they actually paied.
Way more expensive than the quality of the service.
I mostly refer to the kindness of the waiters: asking for a macchiato instead that for a normal espresso seemed to be a real issue.
They better change behaviour if they want customers to come (which maybe is not the case).

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Arin_Francesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natta_Cafe, Proprietario at Natta Cafe, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Google Translation
Cara Francesca, lei non e' stata nostra cliente, ma ospite del politecnico di milano, che ha organizzato il workshop al quale ha partecipato. Ora le spiego come funzionava quella settimana, cosicche' dall'alto del suo dottorato in ingegneria gestionale possa esaminare al meglio la situazione.
Quanto accordato con i referenti del Politecnico di Milano era un catering per un Easy Lunch presso Palazzo Natta con Baguette + Acqua o CocaCola + Macedonia + Caffe' Espresso, capisce bene che per me, allestire un servizio esterno con almeno due dipendenti in piu' (eravate 25) ha un determinato costo e rispetto ad un pranzo normale, presso il ns. locale, e' pacifico che il prezzo possa subire una leggera variazione in positivo.
Poi, due giorni prima del workshop mi e' stato comunicato che anziche' fare i catering presso Palazzo Natta sareste venuti voi nel nostro locale, e le rammento che, inoltre, durante l'orario dei coffee break noi siamo chiusi e dedicare una persona al servizio ha un costo.
Forse ha sentito necessario l'impulso di doversi lamentare per sfogare qualcosa di represso dentro di lei, non lo so, siamo stati sempre disponibili cercando di soddisfare tutte le richieste del vostro gruppo, preparando piatti per vegetariani e celiaci, oppure servendo the o cappuccino al posto del caffe', oppure preparare 28pasti al posto di 25, perche' c'era qualcuno che faceva il bis prendendo quanto preparato per i colleghi che non arrivavano subito, piccole cose, FUORI PREVENTIVO, che confutano la sua teoria lamentosa secondo la quale avere un caffe' macchiato era un'ardua impresa.
Solo una volta non e' stato possibile servirvelo, perche' ahime avevamo finito il latte.
Me ne pento e mentre le rispondo sono inginocchiato sulla ghiaia.
"They better change behaviour if they want customers to come (which maybe is not the case)"
le recensioni positive sono un filino contrastanti con la sua teoria, come i quasi 300 coperti fatti tra venerdi e domenica.
noi, da professionisti del settore siamo sempre disponibili ad accontentare tutte le richieste dei nostri clienti, perche' da ristoratori la nostra missione e' prima di tutto DARE RISTORO e ci sentiamo profondamente offesi quando siamo accusati di qualcosa che non sta ne' in cielo ne' in terra.
forse dovrebbe cambiare lei atteggiamento e si ricordi che se si pone al mondo con un sorriso, il mondo si porra' a lei con un abbraccio.
Buona giornata e a presto,
sicuro che si ricredera'
Matteo Gerosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    171
    28
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Like the ambience and the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I was on a trip with a group of friends and family members who recommended coming in for a bite. This nice restaurant was located in the historical downtown of Como and I was so happy to dine here. The ambiance is really nice and the food tasted so good. A true Italian flavour ;)

DONT MISS IT OUT

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alberto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go for the Risotto!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We found the cafe--despite the strange numbering system on the walls--for a late lunch after wandering through the old section of Como. We were so glad we found it. The special of the day was risotto with zucchini, and my boyfriend keeps referring to that meal as one of the best he had throughout our 10-day journey through four fabulous cities. The atmosphere is relaxed, the staff earnest, and selections of the day unique. Definitely worth the journey!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here. Very good all round. A limited but good menu. Food, service and list of wines by the glass all fine. Relaxed and stylish atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JimSimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A little piece of Paradise...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Natta Cafè is a little piece of paradise, hidden in the historical downtown of Como, it's a place where you can indulge forever. The atmosphere is special, the staff are extremely polite and caring, with a real attention to detail allowing for a delightful experience. I would whole heartily recommend Natta Cafè to anyone, it worths a visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valebackstage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Natta Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing