We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Risotto!”
Review of Natta Cafe

Natta Cafe
Ranked #6 of 531 Restaurants in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Warm and welcoming Bistrot in the heart of Como, near the Pinacoteca Civica and Piazza San Fedele, perfect for lunch, ideal for dinner with your partner or friends. In a context of the fifteenth century, stone arches, wooden ceiling with exposed beams and a spacious mezzanine, with the famous balcony, create a pleasant and intimate atmosphere, in addition, the kind staff, the daily special and fresh food, will make you happy and want to come back! -Free Wi-Fi -Pets Allowed -High Chair (Children) -AmEx/Mastercard/Visa/Maestro accepted -Jazz, Bossanova, Swing and Blues Music
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go for the Risotto!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We found the cafe--despite the strange numbering system on the walls--for a late lunch after wandering through the old section of Como. We were so glad we found it. The special of the day was risotto with zucchini, and my boyfriend keeps referring to that meal as one of the best he had throughout our 10-day journey through four fabulous cities. The atmosphere is relaxed, the staff earnest, and selections of the day unique. Definitely worth the journey!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    184
    34
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here. Very good all round. A limited but good menu. Food, service and list of wines by the glass all fine. Relaxed and stylish atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JimSimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A little piece of Paradise...”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Natta Cafè is a little piece of paradise, hidden in the historical downtown of Como, it's a place where you can indulge forever. The atmosphere is special, the staff are extremely polite and caring, with a real attention to detail allowing for a delightful experience. I would whole heartily recommend Natta Cafè to anyone, it worths a visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valebackstage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I had a couple of drinks at the Natta Cafe and they were really DELIZIOSO. My husband loves a good bloody mary and that is what he got. I am glad that we read about this cafe on tripadvisor. I strongly suggest you stop at the cafe for a drink and the Salumi e Formaggio Platter.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BelladonnaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a good place to grab a drink and maybe some meat and cheese. Not good for a meal. We had a meat and cheese plate which was average. We also ordered the daily special which was a pasta. The pasta sauce was pre-made and you could tell the mushrooms in it had come from a can. Wanted to love it because our server was quite nice, but just didn't. This was a miss for us, unfortunately.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LivingAbroadFirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natta_Cafe, Proprietario at Natta Cafe, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear guest, i'm sorry but i'm not agree with you, let me explain the reason why.
You wrote you took the day special that was pasta, but there's a difference between the day special and the day menu. We have many dishes from the day menu, coming from a gastronomy, because we are a bistrot, and not a restaurant -i'm saying it again- but it's not a problem to specificate it. You say that mushrooms in the sauce were from can. Not exactly, but, i cannot let you pay just 7.50euros if i pick-up every mushrooms for the sauce, maybe 12.00 or 13.00euros if they were picked-up one by one. I'm so sorry but i've to make you a bad discover, most of restaurants, are using mushrooms from can, and their prices are over ours. But, i don't mind about the others. So, it's quite ridiculous to pay just 7.50 euros and pretend to have not-from-can mushrooms. You wrote that Natta Café isn't good to have meal, good just for a drink , uhm, i think that the almost two-hundred people we served on friday and saturday wouldn't agree with your opinion. But opinions are subjective. About the meat (exactly "cold cuts") and cheese plate it's a bit strange they were just "average", considering that we have only I.G.P and D.O.P cheeses and cold cuts. Like Crudo di Parma, Lard d'Arnad, Caciotta with truffle, Caciotta seasoned two years in nut's leafs, Speck from Alto Adige, Bresaola from Valtellina and many others.
Natta Café is just a little BISTROT where you can drink a good glass of wine or a cocktail, and eat something like cold cuts and cheese plate, wrap, salads, baguette or gastronomy dishes if you want something different.
But, from here to say that its not good for a meal, it's quite "extreme".
Regards
Matteo Gerosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Natta Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing