We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stay”
Review of Borgo Antico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borgo Antico Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great one night stay”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here on the first night of our 3.5 week honeymoon to Europe. Good clean hotel with plenty of amenities. Good location and we were easily able to walk with our luggage from the train station to the hotel. The shower took some figuring out but was good. Breakfast was basic but decent. All in all a great stay and would stay here again. Rooms and the elevator are small so big bags can be a pain for the both.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPillay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    174
    28
    4
    4
See reviews for
62
230
10
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Well renovated, mixing the old and new. Only 3mins walk into the centre of Como so great location and easy to find.
Staff were very friendly, room was a generous size with a very nice bathroom.
Would highly recommend if visiting Como town itself.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank chiara0913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We were staying only 1 night in Como and chose this hotel largely because of its location, just a few minutes walk from S. Giovanni station. (But be aware, the walk back to the station is uphill and not as easy as the one to the hotel!!). It is an easy 10 minute walk from the hotel into the town centre and lake shore. There are a few restaurants in the same street as the hotel, but a much wider choice in town.

The room was minimalist but very clean, comfortable and relatively spacious. Compact bathroom but with a large shower. There was a good selection of the usual breakfast items for a northern Italian hotel. The manager on duty when we checked in kindly made a pot of tea for me to take to the room for my husband who was not well. Our room was on the ground floor very near reception and the lift, and we heard some noise during the afternoon due to the tiled floors, but were not disturbed during the night. On the positive side, the room had French doors that opened onto a tiny garden area with some potted plants so we could get fresh air.

The Borgo Antico is a small, comfortable hotel and good value compared to the prices for some other, more centrally located hotels in Como. We would return.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not near reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had a pleasant stay in this hotel. The room was clean and modern. It needed a few extra bits and pieces, like a bin under the study table, a small bar fridge and possibly some basic tea and coffee provisions but all in all it was a nice place and well located.

The hotel was only a 5min walk from S.Giovanni train station. Not sure what trains pull into the other one that comes directly into the CBD but we caught a train a regional trying from Milan Centrale to Como (S.Giovanni) for only $7AUD each.

Note the hotel doesn't stick out when walking along, as it blends in with the other shop fronts, so keep your eyes posted. They do have some flags flying above the front windows if that helps. You also need to be buzzed in, either by reception seeing you or there is a small white buzzer on the RHS of the door.

The staff were helpful, though their English was not as good as other places we have stayed however this did not impact on our stay. The breakfast buffet, included in the price, was ok; the range was limited and could have been broader or I'd suggested, due to limited space, providing a few different options each day.

The hotel didn't have those finer touches that others who are well established have, for example they didn't offer or have a communal newspaper to read at breakfast, they didn't have tea/coffee provisions in the room or a mini fridge which we often use to store our water bottles for the next day small food provisions and snacks, and they didn't provide a tourist map or advice on attractions.

I also personally thought the cupboard wasted precious space in the room and they would have been better having an exposed clothes rack and a few shelves.

Italy travel note - for those travelling in the off seasons (March / Sept / Oct) we were told that we the aircon wouldn't work until 15th April as in Italy hotels can't use both heating and cooling, therefore we were very hot and had to keep the French doors open all night to get in some cool night air.

We would have no problem staying here again as the price was irresistible for the service and quality of room we got. If you don't need a 4 or 5 star hotel then so place should not be passed up.

Room Tip: We stayed in what they call a double room, but it was a queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pawstevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorgoAnticoHotel, Responsabile reception at Borgo Antico Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Hello,

thank you for your stay and your opinion on the hotel! We would like to specify that we have tourist maps and usually we suggest attraction to see or things to do in Como, we are sorry if you didn't receive this kind of attention.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards
Carlotta-Borgo Antico Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

on the very positive is the hotel ambiente (funky blue light in the shower), old building and a great degree of cleanness, very good bed quality,

this is accompanied by a good but basic breakfast where you can time-cook your eggs as you like.

on a down-note, English is not the strength of the staff but as of most of the locals in Como, they are good enough and make up with their charm.

on the street there is also a few options for food and drink

definitely worth recommending.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Robertmaciej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

This was a great place to stay while in Como! Close to the main train station and within walking distance of the center of town. When we were there (June 2013) everything in the hotel seemed new, and decorated very nicely. Friendly staff, great breakfast, and air conditioned rooms!...which is a treat when traveling in Europe. Everything we needed for a relaxing visit to Lake Como.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my husband and two-year-old son for three nights in November while in town on personal business. The room was comfortable and clean; the bathroom was spacious, modern and clean. All staff from the front desk to the cleaning staff was very friendly and helpful, as well as patient with our poor Italian. Breakfast was plentiful enough and had items we could grab on the go as our schedule dictated. Wine was available in the evening, which was nice (I think there might have been bar service). We had jet-lag and a cranky toddler, but everyone at Borgo Antico made it all a bit easier.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BibliOphelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Como hotels
0.1 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
579 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
827 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
458 reviews
1.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#12 of 32 in Como
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Antico Hotel

Property: Borgo Antico Hotel
Address: Via Borgo Vico 47, 22100, Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Antico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo Antico Hotel was launched in march 2013. The hotel is equipped with 24 comfortable bedrooms (18/20 m2) with bathroom, everyone provided with shower, telephone, 32" Led Television, air conditioning, strongbox also for computers and i-pad, wide beds with double sommier, free wireless, bar service and breakfast. Free wi-fi is avaible in the whole building. News of the year: we have 3 new rooms with a little private garden and a meeting room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Borgo Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Antico Hotel Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing