We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean hotel with helpful staff.”
Review of Borgo Antico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Borgo Antico Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed with my husband and two-year-old son for three nights in November while in town on personal business. The room was comfortable and clean; the bathroom was spacious, modern and clean. All staff from the front desk to the cleaning staff was very friendly and helpful, as well as patient with our poor Italian. Breakfast was plentiful enough and had items we could grab on the go as our schedule dictated. Wine was available in the evening, which was nice (I think there might have been bar service). We had jet-lag and a cranky toddler, but everyone at Borgo Antico made it all a bit easier.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank BibliOphelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
There are newer reviews for Borgo Antico Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 416 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

This well located hotel in Como is a great place to stay. Although not on the lake it is close to everything and provides a good sleep as it is in a back street. We arrived and left by train and there was no need for taxis as it was close enough to the station. The rooms are very comfortable with good bathrooms. Staff were excellent and very helpful. Whilst at the hotel we took in the sights such as the lakeside villages, the cable car and the Como township which are all easy to visit from this hotel. We had a very early departure from the hotel and the hotel clerk insisted on us taking our breakfast off the buffet to eat on the train. This hotel highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bankgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. The hotel staff was very kind to let us have our rooms even though we arrived very early. It is located very near to all the sights and close by there is a very good pizza and pasta place recommended by the hotel to us. The parking which was Euro15 per day is situated bat 10mins walk from the hotel. Easy access to the lake even though the hotel has no lake view. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanhamimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We spent one night at Borgo Antico in October. This hotel has good reviews, and deservedly. It’s a brand new hotel, so everything was spotless. We loved the furniture in our room, the VERY comfortable bed, and the huge bathroom. Prices were decent considering we were in Como. The only reason we did not give it a five star rating is the fact that you need to walk for about 15-20 minutes to get to the center… but it was worth it nonetheless!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arthemise21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We visited Como early summer and found Borgo Antico having a decent room rate, being a bit off center of the city. The hotel is rather small, very new and everything is in working order and in good condition, and generally everything worked fine and would consider using this hotel again.

Booking and check-in went smooth, and the room we were given was overlooking the street (= no views), but (unlike some others have said) there was really no disturbing noise at all and no sleep problems. Room itself was of a standard size, clean, comfortable beds, and rather normal in many ways, so no complaints there. One big pro was that the room had fully adjustable a/c system and the guest can control exactly the temperature and cooling fan speed he wants - in most hotels with a/c the system is rather poor, but here it worked very well. However, if I recall, there was no minibar (a cool place to store our water etc mainly).

Hotel is a bit off the immediate city center and it takes about 10 minutes to walk to the seaside and central so it's not really a problem, and the room rate also reflects this location compared to other hotels in the immediate central. There are also a couple of nice restaurants on the same street with the hotel so there's not always the need to walk to downtown to grab a dinner. Breakfast was standard Italian style with only a rather limited selection of cold items available. I could have wished a bit more on this side, but never was left hungry though.

There is very limited parking available on the street next to the hotel but there is a large underground car park just a few minutes off the hotel and the reception will sell you 24h parking tickets (bit cheaper from hotel than if bought from the garage itself) - we used this without problems.

Wifi was free which was great - not the fastest possible but still working. It is time limited with access code, but when the time runs out the girls in reception will just print a new code for you.

The staff was friendly but their competence in English varied very much. The young blonde receptionist spoke very fluent English and was otherwise also very cheerful and helpful (didn't catch her name sadly) while one older lady barely spoke anything else than Italian, but we managed to communicate anyhow. For rooms there is definitely a need for old-fashioned "do not disturb" signs - the electronic lock system does have some sort of button for this, but obviously the housekeeping staff does not understand this since they barged in twice while we were inside. There was also a fire alarm one early morning with no explanation from the staff - the alarm went on for several minutes with no reaction by anyone; not a very good sign if anything would have been actually wrong!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SPu-FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and found the hotel,staff and service fantastic.
The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the train station and although not overlooking the lake,is handily placed for a stroll into the main town.
We would'nt hesitate to stay at this hotel again....it really is very very nice.















Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank wardy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just stayed here for 2 nights, Friday & Saturday.

Very clean hotel & check in staff are ok. Our room was small but well decorated & cleanliness was good. As our room overlooked the road it was impossible to have window opened at night because of noise, def ask for a room overlooking the back of the hotel. Bathroom small but efficient. We had a problem with the air conditioning on the 1st night but this did get sorted after asking.

Breakfast was not as good as the other hotels we have stayed in on this trip & if the hotel is busy then be prepared to wait for a table like we did. When we finally got a table we had to clear it ourselves & dirty plates, cups etc were left on table next to us the whole time we were having our breakfast. Coffee was also only Luke warm on both days & variety of items wasn't very good.

We always rate places by asking ourselves would we return to this hotel & unfortunately on this occasion we wouldn't.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duncancolwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandra B, Responsabile reception at Borgo Antico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Duncan,

We are really sorry to hear that you wouldn't come back to our hotel!
We are sorry for the problems you had with breakfast, and with the table, we'll certainly tell about it to our employees, especially for the problems you had with the table not cleaned and with coffee. Usually our customers like our breakfast, we're sorry if you didn't, we choose our products carefully.
Concerning the room, being on an historical street, there can be some noises if you open the window, but if you use air conditioning keeping the window closed during the night you won't hear anything because the rooms are insonorized (Air conditioning can be regulated by the customers even if maybe you have to wait a while to pass from heat to cool).
We hope you'll change idea on our Hotel and if you prefer, next time, we'll give you a room looking on the back side!

Thank you for your stay

Best regards
Borgo Antico Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Como hotels
0.1 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
0.6 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#13 of 32 in Como
259 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Antico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Antico Hotel

Address: Via Borgo Vico 47, 22100, Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range: $120 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Antico Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo Antico Hotel was launched in march 2013. The hotel is equipped with 24 comfortable bedrooms (18/20 m2) with bathroom, everyone provided with shower, telephone, 32" Led Television, air conditioning, strongbox also for computers and i-pad, wide beds with double sommier, free wireless, bar service and breakfast. Free wi-fi is avaible in the whole building. News of the year: we have 3 new rooms with a little private garden and a meeting room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Borgo Antico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Antico Hotel Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing