We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly let down one night was enough”
Review of Albergo Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergo Firenze
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Como
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel from the outside looks good - it has 3 stars so maybe that is just for location. We had stayed in another hotel which is part of the centrohotleslagocomo group which was really enjoyable and excellent food (Hotel Tremezzo) so we thought the standards would be similar.... but no we were really disappointed with the rooms, the bed and bedding were poor and uncomfortable, the bathroom had mould in the shower bits were broken it didn't feel clean at all.
I hope as the previous reviewer mentioned that they do refurbish the rooms as it must have been good at one time the floors are a beautiful wood but that is all I can say that was good about it. Air con did not work, glazing was poor and street noise drifted in, the plumbing was horrendous as the room above used the facilities it sounded as if it was raining on a tin roof overhead and there was very little soundproofing and every word can be heard from adjoining rooms. It is such a shame as it could be really nice great location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Choxaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Albergo Firenze
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 244 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, bed was like sleeping on a pallet of bricks, tv didn't work until I called down to reception and someone came up to fix it, they couldn't fix it so told us we would have to wait until the next day (I told the girl in no uncertain terms that that was not good enough) She sent someone else up who replaced a cord and the tv worked (the power point for the tv was hanging out of the wall). The bar fridge was so old that it looked like one of the first ones ever produced and was not plugged in. I turned the air-conditioner on and it blew air, not hot or cold air just air. Next morning as we were going to breakfast we found that the door did not lock and when we reported this was told that no one could look at it then as it was breakfast time and the staff were busy in the dining room. I insisted so she sent the assistant manager up to look at it and he could not get it to work so we changed rooms. The second room was only marginally better bet was still like bricks, but at least the tv and fridge worked, air-con the same as first room. Breakfast was a nightmare, as I am on a gluten free diet there was only, cereal, three types of fresh fruit and believe me it was not all that fresh, bread (no toaster any where in sight) and cakes (donuts, croissants and chocolate type tarts) yuk.
If you want to spend you hard earned money on this place, by all means do but I have reported it to my travel agent for her to advise the company that recommended it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rankothestanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Had a lovely view from the small balcony overlooking the Piazza Volta. Location very central for restaurants, sights and the ferry. WiFi was irregular and air conditioning woefully inadequate for the warm weather. When we mentioned both problems we were told that the hotel was under new management and these were things that would be addressed. Alas, too late for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a Piazza view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoseCeltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had room number 32 which opened up to a stunning lake view in the morning! The boat service is right across the street and is in a great location - perfect for evening strolls and people watching.
It is worth getting a day pass to go see Mennaggio and Varenna...the two other beautiful towns nearby.
Note that it may be possible to take the train from Varenna to Milan as an alternative to taking the train from Lac Como to Milan. It will save you money if you are heading to Milan after the trip to Bellagio, which is about 45 minutes by taxi from Lac Como. You can take the ferry (2hours for the slow ferry - about 4.50 euros) or the hyrdofoil (about 20 euros a person - 35 minutes). The ferries and hyrdofoil will drop you off right in front of the hotel!

Room 32 had AC, room 12 did not. The showers are hand held type in a tub, no enclosures. Excellent breakfasts!

Room Tip: Some rooms (room 32 ) have AC. Not all do. At night, you may not need it though, as it can get coo...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJG2224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Location of the hotel is great, right amongst all the cafes, restaurants and across the road from the pier, where we got the boat up Lake Como. Room was a reasonable size and pretty clean & tidy inside. There were a few gripes we had though: It was noisy until the cafe's closed at night and there was no air-con but the main thing that totally disappointed us was NO INTERNET FOR OUR ENTIRE 3 DAY STAY. It was very frustrating not being able to check emails and research/plan our trip. In fact this was the only hotel in Europe we stayed at which had no working internet (it was broken down apparently). Oh, the breakfast was pretty decent, and the staff were helpful (and sympathetic!) Apparently the hotel has been through a number of different managers in the past 18 months which is why things aren't going too smoothly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spurner_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night on the spur of the moment -- a day trip that turned into an overnight. The location is perfect for people-watching - steps away from the bustling piazza. The room was a comfortable size, not too tiny, and a very good value. We ate dinner in the piazza that night and had a wonderful time watching all the people and dogs walking by. Best surprise was breakfast the next morning, which included a delicious buffet of breads, meats, cheeses, fruit, and other good stuff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

This small hotel, overlooking Piazza Volta, is in the heart of Como and just a short walk from the Lake. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms beautifully clean, and the breakfast excellent. The dining room staff were, in particular, efficient, friendly and patient. The only problem could be that, in Summer, Como is very popular with tourists, and concerts in the square below the hotel are quite loud and go on until late at night, so if you are at the front of the hotel, sleeping could be a problem! However, if you like live, good and diverse entertainment, Como is the place. No need for a car, everything is within walking distance, although bicycles are very popular and useful. Many of the local shops have English-speaking staff.

Room Tip: try to get a room at the back of the hotel because of the noise from the Piazza, but it isn't a...
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grahamcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Como hotels
0.1 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
0.2 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
0.4 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#2 of 32 in Como
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Firenze

Address: Piazza Alessandro Volta 16, 22100, Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range: $92 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Firenze 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Firenze is a welcoming 3-star hotel located in a historical Neoclassical building, in the centre of Como, in Piazza Volta, meeting point of the town. Hotel Firenze is situated in the limited traffic area: however, guests can reach the hotel by car and leave their luggage, they can then declare the number plate and the model of their car to the reception in order to avoid fines.The advantage of the pedestrian area is allowing guests to enjoy the maximum relax without the trouble of the noise of the city traffic. Hotel Firenze is located at walking distance from the Como S. Giovanni railway station and from the FerrovieNord railway station, both important for connections between Como and Milan. The little tourist pier of Como represents the starting point to reach the wonderful lake destinations such as Bellagio, Argegno, Tremezzo and many others.In this hotel, business travelers or visitors on vacation will find an ideal place to relax and refresh close to the lake. Hotel Firenze offers its guests the best services: the large hall overlooking Piazza Volta – where breakfast is served every morning – and hosting business appointments as well as meetings with friends for entertaining moments; free internet wireless connection; 44 rooms equipped with digital TV, direct telephone, mini-bar, air-conditioning and hairdryer.The kind and reserved staff, the welcoming and familiar atmosphere, the quality services complete the offer and guarantee a pleasant and unforgettable stay. Hotel Firenze is an excellent starting point to visit the town of Como. The hotel is located close to the spectacular lakeside promenade, while the streets around the hotel branch out with their many boutiques, restaurants and tourist attractions.A boat ride is mandatory when in Como and represents the ideal opportunity to visit wonderful landscapes, while a trip aboard the renowned funicular climbing along the mountain as far as Brunate will let you enjoy a breath-taking view on the city and on the basin of the Lake Como. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Firenze Como, Italy - Lake Como
Albergo Firenze Hotel Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing