We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Décevant”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The bathroom wasn't clean (hairs). Very expensive for the quality and the service. Parking and WIFI paying...
Never go there!!!
I would not call this a "palace"...
Bed & breakfast are much more better!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClementLuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elia B, Reservation Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

thanks for your recent review.
I'm sorry that you encountered a problem during your stay but I'm wondering if you reported this issue to the staff at the reception: we would have been pleased to send immediately someone to clean the bathroom or we would have changed the room.
Parking is upon payment, that's right, as it is in most of the city hotels and as it is in all the hotels in Como city centre: we offer our guests the opportunity to park right outside the entrance of the Hotel, in a private area or in our covered garage and, in my opinion, at a reasonable cost. I'd like to underline that everyone is free to park in other public parkings or garages in Como, where the ticket for a 24hr parking is more expensive.
Wi-fi, as well, is upon payment and we know that this may be a problem for some of our guests: for this year we decided to offer an high-quality service, completely safe and guaranteed but we are working on the possibility to offer it free of charge after the renovation works that will be held this winter.

Regarding your opinion that Bed & Breakfasts are much more better, I personally think that the service our staff offers (truly appreciated by our guests), the quality and the variety of our buffet breakfast and all the amenities (bathroom amenities, welcome drink, newspapers, multilingual staff, 24hr reception, satellite TV with SKY channels etc.) that are included in the price of the room, make the difference between us and B&Bs and are appreciated by all the other guests, as all the other recent reviews can proove.

Best regards

Elia Boschini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 901 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

Made a last minute decision to stay in Como for a night, and somewhat randomly picked the Palace Hotel. When we arrived I cheekily asked for a lake view room, but none were available. They offered to upgrade us to a deluxe room for a fee, and they offered to show us both room types. They might have picked a very small standard room as the normal example, and if so it was a good sales trick. We took the upgrade!

So the deluxe suite, in the newer eastern wing, had a partial lake view from our balcony. We had a balcony! And while certainly not new, it was much bigger and certainly very comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom was almost as big as some of the hotel rooms we've stayed in while touring Italy!

The staff were extremely helpful and courteous, and well dressed (I like that). The location is great, and 3 mins from the ferry, 6 mins from the funicular, and 5 mins from one of two railway stations in Como (Como Lago Nord).

If you do come in to Como via train on the other line (to Zagreb and elsewhere) you will alight at Como San Giovani stazzione, which is a 20 minute walk, or about €10 to €12 taxi ride. Take the taxi.

Back to the hotel - the do present you with this free cocktail voucher, which was basically a lovely little fruit crush (no alcohol that I could detect, so that really makes it a mocktail, but c'est la vie - it was nice).

The breakfast was included in the rate, and this was one of the most comprehensive breakfast offerings I've seen in Italy - and all pretext good quality too.

Anyway, I would stay here again - especially after the proposed room renovations next year!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank guye777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elia B, Reservation Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

thanks for your recent review. We are sorry we were not able to offer you a lake view room: we only have a fiew and they are highly requested, but I'm happy to read that we were able to upgrade you to one of our Deluxe room.

The welcome drink in our Garden Bar Ceccato is a plus we are very pleased to offer to our cherished guests: it is a low-alcohol fruit cocktail that, in our opinion, satisfies the tastes of our customers, but all the suggestions are welcome!

Last but not least we are happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast that daily we offer to our guests.

We all look forward to welcome you back next year and, hopefully, accomodate you in our of our renovated lake view rooms: keep visiting our website or contact us directly for your reservation.

Best regards

Elia Boschini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed at the Palace Hotel in August. The hotel is conveniently situated close to Como Lago rail station and a very short walk from where the boats dock in the harbour. The hotel staff were very polite and helpful. our room was clean and comfortable. Minor niggles. Some floor tiles were cracked in our bathroom and there was a high charge for Hotel wifi Internet use. However, we were assured by hotel staff that rooms were being renovated during winter 2013. The hotel could definitely do with the addition of a swimming pool. That said, I'd definitely consider staying at this hotel again in the future.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elia B, Reservation Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

thanks for your recent review.
I'm happy to read that you were able to appreciate the service that our staff offers to our guests, as well as the location of the Hotel, close to everything, here in Como.
I'm sorry that you found some minor niggles, but I'm pleased to reconfirm that, after the renovation that will begin in October, they will be removed.
Wi-fi is upon payment, as you said, as we decided to offer a service that is appreciated for its speed and quality in connection.
We all look forward to welcome you back and to accomodate you in one of our renovated rooms. For this reason we suggest to you and to all our cherished guests to visit our website where you will be kept updated on renovation works and where you will find special offers and promotions.

Best regards

Elia Boschini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hotel service was very personal with excellent attention to detail. Breakfast room was lovely and the buffet was great. Location is very good, lovely views and the room was very comfortable - an excellent hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elia B, Reservation Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

thanks for your recent review.
We are very happy to know that you spent part of your honeymoon in our Palace Hotel and that you appreciated our service.
I will share your compliments with all the staff, that daily works hard to offer a "very personal service with excellent attention to details" as you wrote!
I would like to remind to our cherished guests that our Palace Hotel will go under renovation of 70 of our 100 rooms, this winter, and we will be pleased to welcome you back next year with these brand new rooms, but with the same attention to the guests that distinguishes our Hotel.
Best regards

Elia Boschini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed two night in Como as part of our Honeymoon, got the boat over from Menaggio and didn't have to walk to far due to the great hotel location on the waterfront. Hotel was lovely, very welcoming staff and friendly service with excellent attention to detail. They went out of their way to ensure that we had a lovely stay.

Room was lovely, clean and comfortable and with a great view of the Dome. Air conditioning was welcome and particularly needed at the time of year.

Breakfast room is fab, decoration is great and the buffet has a great range of things on offer.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Como, a gem of a hotel in a lovely City!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elia B, Reservation Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

thanks for your recent review. We are very pleased to read that you decided to spend part of your honeymoon in our Hotel and that you had a great time with us.
I will share your compliments with the staff.
We look forward to welcome you back.
Best regards
Elia Boschini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very clean & beautiful architecture in the building. Felt a bit underdressed when having breakfast when looking at other travellers. Helpful, friendly staff, close to Lake & shops. Wouldn't advise anyone to go to Foxtown-overpriced & highly overrated, shops in Como far better. Got welcoming drink-happy hour was great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Let me start with the pros:
This hotel is in a fantastic location. It's just steps away from one of the train stations, and a short walk to the train station that goes to Lake Lugano, Switzerland, not far from the ferry service, a short walk to the tram, right in the midst of shopping and restaurants and provides a gorgeous view of the lake, fairly spacious room. The outside is absolutely gorgeous. The price is right. Breakfast is good and included.
Cons:
really old, shabby rooms with disgusting carpet, old bathroom, TERRIBLE hairdryer, very uncomfortable bed. The service is snarky. I had a ton of questions, and the front desk seemed annoyed by me, ironing room downstairs...can't have one in the room, just okay clean...probably because it's so old.

If you don't care about any of the cons, which are minor in most ways, then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: ask for a lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjtravelingmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elia B, Reservation Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

thanks for your recent review.
We are pleased to read that, anyway, you consider the cons "minor in most ways" and that you appreciated the location and the breakfast that we offer to our clients: thanks to your review, anyway, we will improve the quality of the service at the reception that is, in any case, appreciated by most of our guests as other reviews show.
All the reviews we receive help us to improve the quality of the service we offer and, moreover, we are very pleased to inform our clients that in October 2013 our Hotel will go under renovation: 70 of our 100 rooms (and probably you slept in one of those) will be totally renovated
I sincerely apologize if you felt that with your questions you were annoying our staff and I hope to welcome you back in the future.
Best regards

Elia Boschini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Como
3.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
0.6 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
620 reviews
0 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: Lungolario Trieste 16, 22100, Como, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range: $151 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majestic and prestigious, the Palace Hotel faces the lakefront and perfectly combines the Liberty style of its main building "Plinius" with the classic lines of the "Pianella" wing; two styles, yet one soul defining the Palace and its history, making this property unique. The hotel features 94 rooms - the majority of which completely renovated - and common areas where the elegant atmosphere of the art deco blends with the modern facilities of the highest standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing