We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, great location.”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palace Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, great location.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Palace Hotel in August. The hotel is conveniently situated close to Como Lago rail station and a very short walk from where the boats dock in the harbour. The hotel staff were very polite and helpful. our room was clean and comfortable. Minor niggles. Some floor tiles were cracked in our bathroom and there was a high charge for Hotel wifi Internet use. However, we were assured by hotel staff that rooms were being renovated during winter 2013. The hotel could definitely do with the addition of a swimming pool. That said, I'd definitely consider staying at this hotel again in the future.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elia B, Reservation Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for your recent review.
I'm happy to read that you were able to appreciate the service that our staff offers to our guests, as well as the location of the Hotel, close to everything, here in Como.
I'm sorry that you found some minor niggles, but I'm pleased to reconfirm that, after the renovation that will begin in October, they will be removed.
Wi-fi is upon payment, as you said, as we decided to offer a service that is appreciated for its speed and quality in connection.
We all look forward to welcome you back and to accomodate you in one of our renovated rooms. For this reason we suggest to you and to all our cherished guests to visit our website where you will be kept updated on renovation works and where you will find special offers and promotions.

Best regards

Elia Boschini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    319
    133
    52
    28
See reviews for
127
401
9
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hotel service was very personal with excellent attention to detail. Breakfast room was lovely and the buffet was great. Location is very good, lovely views and the room was very comfortable - an excellent hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elia B, Reservation Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for your recent review.
We are very happy to know that you spent part of your honeymoon in our Palace Hotel and that you appreciated our service.
I will share your compliments with all the staff, that daily works hard to offer a "very personal service with excellent attention to details" as you wrote!
I would like to remind to our cherished guests that our Palace Hotel will go under renovation of 70 of our 100 rooms, this winter, and we will be pleased to welcome you back next year with these brand new rooms, but with the same attention to the guests that distinguishes our Hotel.
Best regards

Elia Boschini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed two night in Como as part of our Honeymoon, got the boat over from Menaggio and didn't have to walk to far due to the great hotel location on the waterfront. Hotel was lovely, very welcoming staff and friendly service with excellent attention to detail. They went out of their way to ensure that we had a lovely stay.

Room was lovely, clean and comfortable and with a great view of the Dome. Air conditioning was welcome and particularly needed at the time of year.

Breakfast room is fab, decoration is great and the buffet has a great range of things on offer.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Como, a gem of a hotel in a lovely City!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elia B, Reservation Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for your recent review. We are very pleased to read that you decided to spend part of your honeymoon in our Hotel and that you had a great time with us.
I will share your compliments with the staff.
We look forward to welcome you back.
Best regards
Elia Boschini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nambucca Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very clean & beautiful architecture in the building. Felt a bit underdressed when having breakfast when looking at other travellers. Helpful, friendly staff, close to Lake & shops. Wouldn't advise anyone to go to Foxtown-overpriced & highly overrated, shops in Como far better. Got welcoming drink-happy hour was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Let me start with the pros:
This hotel is in a fantastic location. It's just steps away from one of the train stations, and a short walk to the train station that goes to Lake Lugano, Switzerland, not far from the ferry service, a short walk to the tram, right in the midst of shopping and restaurants and provides a gorgeous view of the lake, fairly spacious room. The outside is absolutely gorgeous. The price is right. Breakfast is good and included.
Cons:
really old, shabby rooms with disgusting carpet, old bathroom, TERRIBLE hairdryer, very uncomfortable bed. The service is snarky. I had a ton of questions, and the front desk seemed annoyed by me, ironing room downstairs...can't have one in the room, just okay clean...probably because it's so old.

If you don't care about any of the cons, which are minor in most ways, then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: ask for a lakeview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjtravelingmomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elia B, Reservation Manager at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

thanks for your recent review.
We are pleased to read that, anyway, you consider the cons "minor in most ways" and that you appreciated the location and the breakfast that we offer to our clients: thanks to your review, anyway, we will improve the quality of the service at the reception that is, in any case, appreciated by most of our guests as other reviews show.
All the reviews we receive help us to improve the quality of the service we offer and, moreover, we are very pleased to inform our clients that in October 2013 our Hotel will go under renovation: 70 of our 100 rooms (and probably you slept in one of those) will be totally renovated
I sincerely apologize if you felt that with your questions you were annoying our staff and I hope to welcome you back in the future.
Best regards

Elia Boschini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
181 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Great location on lake and near town. The lobby is underwelming and rooms extremely small, but clean. The tiles were cracked in bathroom. The TV had wooden frame suggesting the 70's. The staff were pleasant butbnot enough people to serve guests. The car parking fee was reasonable and accessible. Internet is additional cost which is irritating in the century. No separate concierge for assistance. Overall, ok.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Johnanddon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were at the Palace 30th July 2013 for 4 nights. It was a last minute holiday but was great.
Loved the hotel and location the view was brill! We took a few boat trips up the lake. We think if we were to stay for 2 weeks we would like a hotel with a pool. It was very hot while there and a pool would have just made it perfect. We got talking to a local who gave us a few places to go to eat and we went and it was lovely. The Orologio at Via Ugo Foscolo, 11, 22100 Como. Great service and mostly locals. Loved our time in Como and will definitely go back!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 230 it was a little small but very clean and the view was beautiful just as in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sexybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpalaceComo, Direttore at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for spending time to post your review. We are very pleased to know that you had a great time with us at the Palace Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best regards
Robert Webber
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Como
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
0.1 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
0.6 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
573 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: Lungo Lario Trieste 16, 22100, Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majestic and prestigious, the Palace Hotel faces the lakefront and perfectly combines the Liberty style of its main building "Plinius" with the classic lines of the "Pianella" wing; two styles, yet one soul defining the Palace and its history, making this property unique. The hotel features 94 rooms - the majority of which completely renovated - and common areas where the elegant atmosphere of the art deco blends with the modern facilities of the highest standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing