We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but expensive”
Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palace Hotel
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Palace hotel is a grand building situated on the opposite side of the road from the lakefront. However, there is fence running along the lake-side of the road, so from ground floor level you cannot see the water. We paid extra for a lake-view room and the view was stunning. The hotel is a little bit tired but was still a nice place to stay and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The location is excellent, just a 2 minute walk from Como Nord Lago station (we flew to Malpensa and took the train via Saronno) and 5 mins walk from the ferries, funicular railway and cathedral. The staff were friendly and the language was never a problem. I would stay at this hotel again if in Como and although the lake-view room makes this hotel an expensive choice, in my opinion the view is worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gftimes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

429 - 435 of 883 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Clean hotel nice view good breakfast good employees ,good price so for these reasons I recommend this hotel the position of this hotel is great because,beside and front of the lake,in the center of como beside restaurants and shops

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Wonderful location and grand building we were overwhelmed by the reception we received. We needed help organising dinner and transportation to the little island on the lake and they organised a driver to pick us up and return us to the hotel late at night. Also organised an excellent guide for us. Nothing was too much trouble and they took genuine delight in our enjoyment of the dinner. Spectacular breakfast room. Spend the bit extra and get a lake facing room. You won't be disappointed. I was ill during my stay there and reception organised a doctor from Milan, kept me informed about their expected arrival and followed up the next morning to make sure I was feeling ok. More than good service - it was genuine concern and pride in doing their job well. This extended to the staff looking after housekeeping . Our rooms were tidied by the timed we returned firm breakfast most mornings

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbarchetta, Direttore at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your recent review regarding your pleasant stay at the Palace Hotel. I am very pleased everything was to your satisfaction. Special thanks also for your compliments regarding the service delivered by our cherished staff members. Your sign of appreciation underlines the fact that they are a true asset to the hotel. I will proudly share your appraisal with my team.
Hoping to welcoming you back to the Palace in the future,
Very best regards,
Robert Webber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel is located right on the lake and is the perfect spot to hop a ferry or wander the picturesque town of Como. The hotel is an old palace like building and the rooms while slightly old fashioned are large and comfortable. The staff are very helpful and we had a wonderful three days there.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are big and show a view of lake Como.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

A perfect location at the foot of Lake Como. Very nice rooms with large accommodations. Older hotel not necessarily picturesque. Unfortunately the outdoor cafe's view of the lake is blocked by a construction wall that apparently has been there for quite some time. Very friendly and accommodating staff.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms should be booked early. Larger rooms are available in newer section with side view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for three nights with a small tour group. The location of the hotel is excellent and central to everything in Como. Sevice from the staff here was very good. The breakfast buffet was one of the best we had on our trip to Italy and was served in an elegant room. We had dinner here on our last night and it was also very good. The outside of the hotel, along with the grounds, is very impressive. The rooms tend to be small and a little dated. The bathroom had ample space with very nice amenities. It was nice to be able to open the large windows of the rooms to let in some air as the weather when we were here was warm and the air conditioning really was not helpful. We would return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGELONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I had never heard of Como Italy until my super smart, expert husband, got an invite to a muckety muck conference. We were both too busy with work to investigate where we were going so we just went with the flow. Upon our arrival, we were greeted by very welcoming and informed desk staff, who continued to be our lifelines during our stay.

As with many European hotels, the room was small and had insufficient drawer space, but it was comfortably appointed and the mattress was comfortable with a very comfy duvet. As others said, the elevator is small (best for 2 people), but the stairs look like they were designed for a Poirot episode. In other words, they were classy.

Breakfast was delicious and it was the first time I saw salad fixins on a breakfast buffet, but maybe this is a European thing. The fresh fruits were delicious and they offered fresh squeezed orange juice. Since I don't eat traditional breakfast foods, it was perfect for me. Plus, the dining room was decorated in old world art (a bit risque), but very well done. The dining room staff were very attentive.

Due to our scheduling issue, we had to move to another hotel for our last night because the Palace was booked. The Palace has a sister hotel just down the street and they made all arrangements for us to move and transported our luggage.

Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mai2centsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Como
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
0.1 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
0.6 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
825 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: Lungo Lario Trieste 16, 22100, Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range: $155 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Majestic and prestigious, the Palace Hotel faces the lakefront and perfectly combines the Liberty style of its main building "Plinius" with the classic lines of the "Pianella" wing; two styles, yet one soul defining the Palace and its history, making this property unique. The hotel features 94 rooms - the majority of which completely renovated - and common areas where the elegant atmosphere of the art deco blends with the modern facilities of the highest standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing