We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Metropole Suisse Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$194
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Borgovico Hotel(Como)(Great Value!)
$138
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$263
$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$657
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$305
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$261
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$176
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$129
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
In Riva al Lago Bed & Breakfast(Como)(Great Value!)
$91
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (962)
Filter reviews
962 results
Traveler rating
259
395
186
81
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
395
186
81
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationlake comoferry terminaldirectly across the streetthe main squarepiazza cavourexcellent viewsmall balconycorner roomwonderful hotelfirst stopgelatothree nightsbreakfast was excellentsingle rooma lake view roomcroissants
Filter
Updating list...
570 - 575 of 962 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2010

I have to agree with some of the previous reviewers - this hotel lacks some of the amenities of a 4-star, and is probably overpriced (although we happened to visit during some car race, and many hotels were sold out, so they could charge whatever they wanted). However, the location can not be better in Como. Our room (#83) was a triple, had a separate sitting room, a balcony with partial lake view, and modern bathroom. The antique furnishing is a matter of taste, but it is intentional ( not just old and needs renovation), and gives a place a certain character. Wired internet in the room for a fee, but free Wi-Fi in the lobby. The gentlemen manning the front desk seem to be on a bit dry side, but don't get fooled by it - they had a positive answer to any question I had, sometimes even before I asked. There is a garage for E15 a day, which is small and needs to be booked in advance, which I did not - but got it anyway. More so - they let me keep a car with our luggage in a garage for the entire day after we checked out without extra charge. Breakfast is very good, I wish they had a bit more fresh fruit selection. Did not try this place for dinner. Gelateria in the same building is very good. Overall, it was definitely a positive, relaxing stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you find a good price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

This an old family run hotel. Our room had a lovely lake view but was noisy from the busy road between the hotel and the lake. The room itself was adequate but no more. The staff were uninterested in us, we were never asked if we were OK, enjoying our stay or anything. When we checked out they took our money and that was it. Breakfast was ordinary, tinned fruit, breads, cold meats etc. There is no pool, gym etc.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed at the Metropole Suisse hotel in Como from the 22-24th of July, 2010. We booked our stay thru www.clickitbookit.travel @ Euro 150 per night including taxes and breakfast.

Location: 5 minutes from the train station by taxi (costs 8 Euro), right next to the lake and the shopping area. This is a great location to explore Como on foot.

Reception: Staff seemed a bit stuffy- but they changed our room after we complained about the aircon not being effective.

Rooms: Need an overhaul. This is an old hotel - and everything seemed old in the rooms. They need to be refurbished and renovated - like yesterday! Even the bathrooms need to be re - done. There isn't a safe in the room either.

Restaurant: Superb service and great staff. We had Arthur and Ismail cater to us while at the outdoor restaurant- both are great blokes! And the Mojitos they make at the outlet are really good too.

Morning Breakfast: Was ok

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViraatRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Stayed in March. It was absolutley great, the room was so nice, the men at reception were top class, in paticular the young man whom we mostly dealt with,catered to our every whim,your hotel has not lost its class.By the way the weather was so cold that we looked foreward each evening to returning to the cosiness of the room. My wife had such a nice time that she now wants to return next year, but maybe in May.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank referee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I read on this website to avoid the hotel, but thought it would be fine. I was wrong!! It seemed as though they put us in the worse room possible. There was no view, not of the lake, town square or street. They had us in a room located in a basement over the laundry room. The room comes with a 19 inch TV that they put on top of the dresser near the ceiling, couldn't see the screen. Not sure why this hotel is rated 4 star. The town itself if beautiful, but don't stay in this hotel. The rooms are not comparable to the price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Readysetgogloballlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews