We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Como area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Terminus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergo Terminus Hotel
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Como
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lake Como area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Run of the mill hotel on "hotel row". Our clerk could not speak English and had to get assistance to answer our questions. Older building, but completely renovated in the last 20 years. Rooms were nice inside and the staff at breakfast were attentive, but the food was nothing special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    179
    75
    48
    18
See reviews for
57
238
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I very much enjoyed our three day stay at the hotel. As it was to be our place to visit, I requested a front room with lake views. It was a lovely room that was a touch noisy for me (I'm hard to please), but when we raised the issue with the staff they responded in a very profesional manner with the result we found ourselves in room # 403.
Just terrific with a touch of Paris about the room with a door opening onto a small balcony with views over the lake, surrounding rooftops to the Duomo dome and to the fernicular. As it was to the rear of the hotel, it was very quite. No more whinges from me.
Chiara on reception was very helpful with dining recommendations - we found Trattoria del Gesmin to be very enjoyable.
We found the staff to be professional, friendly and helpful which does make such a difference - our thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alastair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is very close to the bus station and Statione Nord Lago so easy access from Milan or the airports. The ferry terminal is about 200 yards away and so convenient to all the lake towns. It is quite imposing from trhe outside and traditional within.
Reception staff are a little 'remote' and appear condescending; I'm sure its not intended.
Rooms were not large, adequate but very clean. Breakfast was disappointing; only continental but the Phillipino staf were very helpful and friendly

Room Tip: Try not to get room on left side of hotel alongside small road... service access & noisy student...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antipodesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

There are many good things about this hotel. Its suave, understated fin de siècle elegance is seldom repeated in other destinations. The service from all staff is very attentive, especially the ladies who serve breakfast. They are very quick, professional and keen to please guests, working exceptionally hard to match each resident’s individual requests, and yet they remain engaging, affable and bright. They are a real credit to the establishment. Breakfast in itself is of a high standard even by comparison with that provided in other Italian hotels and caters well for a wide range of needs. The location is absolutely superb, occupying a spot right on the lake edge, and very close to the town centre. It is also literally next to the Nord Lago railway station which, if you are travelling by the quite superb Italian rail network, is exceptionally convenient. The views over the lake are breath-taking and the rooms are very comfortable, with working and effective air conditioning. However, I do not think that the standard of cleanliness, especially in the bathrooms, was as good as we have experienced in other hotels on this trip. There was black mould on the sealant between the bath and the tiling and the tiles themselves had clearly not been cleaned for some time when we stayed there, because they were covered in several layers of water marks. This in itself was only off-putting because it caused me to imagine what other corners might have been cut. Although the decor is loud and dated, it is comforting in its own way, bringing to mind English hotels in the Lake District and there are many services provided, that you might expect from such an expensive hotel, which make for a very restful stay in one of Italy's best-known resorts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hatfieldr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

From business trips my experience of Como hotels is that the standard is not great, chose Terminus as best of an average bunch. The twin bed room we had booked was not available "due to high winds breaking the windows that were being repaired". We were offered two singles "at no extra charge" hahah as if we were going to pay for the inconvenience.They were fine, not too small, comfortable bed. Up early the next morning I saw the coach picking up the tour group that had obviously taken up all the larger rooms; we don't like being treated like morons; tell the truth double booked!
Breakfast fine, irritating piped music but on the second day we were shown a separate room with a large shared table, nice and quiet. One evening there was a party in the restaurant and what sounded like karaoke at 11.30 pm. Whilst we had to request for the noise to stop the concierge ensured that it actually did.
Convenient for station, town, boats, funicular.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSpade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Firstly, paying for wifi these days is a bit like being asked to pay extra for ice in your drink, now we`ve got that out of the way I`ll tackle the the title of my review.
The space this hotel has is wasted, what meal does every guest take ? answer breakfast, so why use a basement style room with little natural light that is too small for the purpose when you have both a magnificent internal hall ( that I suspect was the original dining room ) on the first floor or even better make use of the bar, restaurant & terrace with views over the garden & lake.
The bar & restaurant isn`t the easiest to find and the entrance is via a curtained off doorway that does all possible to put you off from going in and subsequently very few do and it closes early most nights.
Apart from these well intentioned observations - no complaints, we knew that for the rate we paid we weren`t going to get the best room in the house, hotel has a great location it just needs to take a look at itself and start to use its potential.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arbroath55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We had a nice room on the top floor overlooking the lake. It was small but clean and nice. The BEST thing I can say is the staff at the desk and breakfast room were happy and helpful. The staff make the hotel. BUT, in this day to PAY for WiFi is absurd.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Como
0.0 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
0.6 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#2 of 32 in Como
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#9 of 32 in Como
4.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sheraton Lake Como Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Terminus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Terminus Hotel

Property: Albergo Terminus Hotel
Address: Lungolario Trieste 14, 22100, Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Terminus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Albergo Terminus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Terminus Como
Hotel Albergo Terminus
Albergo Terminus Hotel Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing