We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel in historic area”
Review of Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avenue Hotel
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is very modern and nice, with friendly staff and a good location in the center of the historic pedestrian zone of Como. We had a 2nd floor room that was on the corner of the building. Our room was large and comfortable and the bathroom was very nice.

Our bathroom had a clear glass door on it with some opaque stripes that you could see through, but it isn't really as big of a deal as some other reviews have made it. The way our bathroom was laid out you couldn't see the toilet through the door but you could see the shower. This didn't bother me. If you're comfortable sharing a bed with someone, getting a quick peek of them getting into/out of the shower shouldn't be that big of a deal.

We found our room to be very comfortable and we had free wifi, lots of TV channels and a nice bed. There was some street noise outside, as there are a few bars that were opened late on the weekend we were there. It's a pedestrian-only street so just people noise, which isn't a big deal for us and I actually kind of like hearing some street noise when I'm in Italy.

The hotel offers valet parking. They have a garage off site and will gladly let you drive up to the hotel for loading/unloading, but driving down the narrow pedestrian street was fairly intense and challenging in the afternoon when it was full of people. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk or so from the train station, however it was a little tricky for us to find the first time. It's also a close/easy walk to the ferries that take you all over Lake Como.

This hotel does not have any views of Lake Como and doesn't have much historic charm, but it is in an interesting pedestrian historic zone and is a very nice, clean and modern option. I would stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Higher floors likely have a little less noise from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msu2001la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 284 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great hotel, centrally placed in the old town, very convenient to all the shops, restaurants etc. the hotel has a very modern style and decor - really good. Rooms are excellent but small. The reception staff were excellent, friendly and helpful with good local knowledge. Only drawback was very modern cutlery with difficult to use spoons. Good hotel for short visit to the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

What's find this hotel was! This was the first hotel I booked after using TripAdvisor. At the time of my family's stay last Easter 2012, this hotel was ranked #2 and has since been promoted to top in Como. Atilio and Ava were excellent hosts. Their recommendations for restaurants was great. The hotel was perfectly situated in a quite but centrally located area of the town core. The breakfast was excellent. The rooms was perfectly sized and equipped. This was by far the best value for money hotel we've stayed in. Highly recommended and there will be a repeat stay on our return to Como!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Rooms renovated and comfortable. Very clean. Good hotel especially considering the price. Staff is mostly friendly and helpful. Nice and clean bathroom. Rooms are good size but not very big. Recommend for short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rakefet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at Avenue Hotel during our recent trip to Milan/Como. It is a very nice hotel, about a 15 minute walk from the main train station. The room we were in was quite small - so I would definitely not call the rooms spacious, based on our experience. But although it was small, we made the space work and the finishes were all very clean and modern. They did a very nice job with the renovation of the space and the hotel feels light and airy. Yes, the glass door on the bathroom is strange, but I guess we got used to it after a day. The room ventilation system didn't really seem to work, so we kept the window cracked open at night to keep the room from getting too stuff. Breakfast was included in our room rate, and it was fine. They will make you eggs to order if you'd like and there is a good selection of fruit, bread, pastries, coffee and tea. Nothing fancy, but enough to get the day started. The staff was so friendly and nice. They recommended some really good restaurants and they were always available to help. I would definitely recommend Avenue Hotel if visiting Como. It is clean and modern and just a five to ten minute walk to all the nice sites in town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank expateurotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Even with luggage, this small unassuming hotel is only about a 10 minutes easy flat walk from Como Nord Lago train station. Inside the lobby and breakfast area, it's very modern and clean. Colours of white, occasional red and grey floors are striking. Room is very large, with open closet and large hallway. There is sufficient room to move and still have luggage. What is striking about the room is the "open" modern bathroom because the door is glass and the shower has glass blocks, and both look into the room hallway. The mattress is firm. The hotel elevator is even glass and is outdoors making it an interesting, and short, ride up the four floor hotel.

Breakfast has variety - hot sausage / bacon / tomato / mushroom, other deli meats, cheese, eggs, fruit, cereal, desserts, yoghurt, juice, water and milk. There is even what I believe to be prossecco or some sort of bubbly as there is a bottle in a wine bucket next to the juice. Note that there is a reminder on the tables that you can ask them to cook your eggs to your liking. With a gorgeous town / hilltop view outside the breakfast area, you cannot help to start your day right by staying at this hotel.

While the room price (note that the price is quoted per person) might be more than other places in Como, a stay here is first class. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ou_etes_vous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

stayed avenue hotel lake como 14/03/2013 recently refurbed to the highest quality the staff cannot do enough for you
breakfast such a wide chioce
attilio /elisabetta /lavinia/ thank yuo very much for all your help tony / iasabel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacob099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Como hotels
0.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
0.3 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
506 reviews
0.6 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: Piazzolo Giuseppe Terragni 6, 22100, Como, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Como
Price Range: $115 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avenue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avenue Hotel is a modern 4 stars hotel located in Como, just steps from the charming lake and the main streets of the historic city center. Completely renovated in the style and furnishings, Avenue Hotel is distinguished by its sophisticated design and innovative environments, revealing a perfect choice for holiday or business in comfort and modernity. The rooms are spread over 3 floors and are characterized by the variety of the materials chosen and the quality of the finishes. Guests will also enjoy a comfortable breakfast room, a pleasant courtyard (accessible during the summer). In immediate proximity to the hotel guests will find two restaurants "Il PINZIMONIO" and "LAKE HEART". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing