We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for backpacker”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo Ristorante Valtellina
Ranked #54 of 59 Como B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2013

small room, old beds, no ac. nice personell. ok for backpackers or one night stay. only a small window in the roof. small shower. very close to Suisse boarder, you see it from the hotel. free parking on street or small parkinglot (no garage)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 50 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

I had made a reservation for that hotel (for the night of july 31st) in may 2012, and had paid in advance.

A few days before the date of the reservation, I saw on the internet that my reservation was cancelled!
the hotel had cancelled my reservation because, they said, I had'nt paid!! they told me they "had the solution for my problem"!! They saw that I had paid and that everything was ok.

When in Como, I asked the manager for some compensation for the trouble they caused us. She said sorry, that she had a new employee that didn't master the hotel software, and that she would offer us the breakfast. I was ok with that, it seemed enough of a compensation.

But on the morning after, the employee of the hotel gave us only coffee, cheese, ham an bread..! I don't call that a breakfast, especially when the other clients sitting next to us were having jam, butter, pastries and everything you can expect from a basic breakfast...

That was a total lack of respect.

Moreover, there isn't any parking, the window (room in the attic) didn't close, and it is much too expensive for such a "cheap" room, far from the lake or anything interesting in Como.

Room Tip: take a shower int he summer before you go to sleep, so you won't melt with the heat on the forth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed here for three nights. We were surprised to find that we weren't in Italy when we thought we were!
However...10 0metres further up the road past the Swiss border crossing, was the hotel. If you fall out of bed and roll downhill...You will arrive back in Swiss territory!

The hotel is situated on a main rd/ traffic junction. Very busy, just take care when crossing. The hotel looks a little shabby from the outside, but is cosy, and traditional on the inside. (Like an old Italian house.)
We were greeted by Patrizia, and shown to our room on the 3rd floor. We paid for the en-suite attic room, and this is what we got. Don't expect a lift in this old building, cos' there isn't one.
The room itself was small, with 2 beds pushed together. Which is ok with us.
There is a small ensuite bathroom with shower, wc and basin. Clean and serviceable.
Thr room was cleaned and sheets/ towels changed daily.

We had a small skylight to ventilate the room, and a fan to help cool down when required.
Downstairs is a restaurant, though we never used it. But on the 3 nights we stayed, it looked busy enough. Apparently they do an all you can eat breakfast buffet for 8 euros. But we went to town for eating
The area itself, is NOT Como lakeside. Just be warned that it is a 15 minute bus ride.
You buy your bus tickets at a coffee shop across the street, and ask for a return which costs 4 euros 20. The bus stop is a few metres down from the hotel, and buses run every 15 mins. They don't issue tickets on the bus. You validate your ticket on the bus via a stamping machine, which gives you 75 mins travel, should you need to change buses along your route.

If you drove like we did to the hotel. Parking is free across the street if you can find a spot!
Though on street parking is cheap. 0800-2000 hrs. Free after these times.
If you are looking for a place to stay, and nothing more. It is ideal for this purpose.
If however, you want the lap of luxury and all the bells and whistles. Pay more and go elsewhere.

Overall the place was fine by us. It did what we paid for, and what we expected.
Just remember...If you want to be IN Como, this won't suit you!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adeyDevonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
1  Thank claudito7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled solo
Thank degiulial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Mirkogitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
2  Thank Stefano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Como hotels
2.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 32 in Como
902 reviews
2.1 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 32 in Como
621 reviews
3.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Como
B&B Hotel Como
#9 of 32 in Como
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Engadina
Hotel Engadina
#10 of 32 in Como
270 reviews
2.4 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
2.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Ristorante Valtellina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Ristorante Valtellina

Address: Via Bellinzona 265, 22100, Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Como
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Ristorante Valtellina 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergo Ristorante Valtellina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Ristorante Valtellina Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing