We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!!”

The Market Place Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 524 Restaurants in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We had a glorious meal here on Thursday 8 May with a group of 9. Whilst the menu was a set menu because of the group size the food was fabulous. Highly recommend this place. Staff very attentive and professional. Chef to be complimented!!!
Can't wait to come back to como next year and sample some more if this fine food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happytravellers9960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    207
    62
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ottimo!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Best food in Como. The diner was very fine. The tastes are super. The wine is great. The sommelier knows his job very well.
Price is good.
We can recommend the menu to everyone!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Wim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
437 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great Quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We were looking for a great meal in Como so after consulting Tripadvisor we settled on The Market Place. The decor was modern but a little understated. Unfortunately they did not have a menu in English but the waitress explained what was available. Although there was limited choice we were happy to select the lamb and the beef. The wine list was adequate although not a lot of choice in wine by the glass. The waitress knocked over a beer on the adjacent table whichl spilled on my wife's new pants but that was quickly rectified with a trip to the bathroom. The meat dishes were superb with nice sauces. The dessert was exquisite in presentation & taste. The icing on the cake was they gave us the wine due to the accident with the beer. Would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrantHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Had a solo dinner after looking for a good place to spent the night.
Great food, great stuff.

Recommended !

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandros_Planck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best meal, service and food craftsmanship”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I found the market place by coincidence via tripadvisor and what an amazing coincidence. The food was excellent, fresh ingredients, superb service and a general high passion for food. We were luckily enough to see the kitchen from our table. And what a craftsmanship of the kitchen staff. I was really positively surprised and will definitely come back. The prices were fair compared to the excellent over all experience we had. Grazie milles.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kaktuslotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Market Place Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Market Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing