We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Barchetta Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Como
Certificate of Excellence
Wilton NSW
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 days as a leisurely stop before leaving Italy. Como is a lovely city, hotel very convenient to EVERYTHING. Upgraded to a balcony room, worth every euro with lake views esp at night. Reception staff efficient and friendly.
We were offered a "deal" for the restaurant on the first night, went for the next 2 nights, excellent 5 star food and service. Cosmo , the maître d' is so precessional, friendly , courteous, knowledgeable ..a great asset to the hotel.
Agree that WiFi is very disappointing , even in lobby does not work well and room charges are exorbitant especially when we had excellent free lobby wifi in a little 3 star hotel in Monterosso. For a big hotel upgrade needed.
Our room furnishings were getting a little tired but it was a large comfortable room with all amenities. A great stay in Como

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RJSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbarchetta, Direttore at Hotel Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review. It's great to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we appreciate your positive feedback. I will proudly share your comments with my cherished team. Our maitre thanks you very much for the appraisal.
Hope to welcome you back in the future,
Best regards,
Robert Webber
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    207
    60
    10
    6
See reviews for
71
224
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
90 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Price - Rating: 2/5. This hotel is so expensive! Given the price, you can get a better quality room/hotel nearby. It doesn't look outstanding. Bathrobe is not provided, basic amenities and old bedsheet. Wifi is only available at the lobby (barely get the chance to go in i.e. super slow), chargeable at the room! This is unacceptable (its 2014 already), whereas you can get a free wireless at the balcony: comowireless! Room is not soundproof! (you can hear next room activities).

Friendliness of staff - Rating: 4/5. Receptionist, Front Desk and Housekeeping are quite friendly.

Restaurant - Rating: 4/5. Great service, professional, quick and outstanding dishes.

Cleanliness - Rating: 3/5. Balcony and bathroom cleanliness could improved further.

Location - Rating: 5/5. Location is perfect, 10mins walk from the train station, facing the lake (1min walk) and various restaurants, shops nearby.

Cafe for breakfast: Rating: 2/5. Below average basic breakfast. No variety for food selection! More international food selection perhaps.

Plus Points:
1. Nil

Demerit:
1. No wifi
2. Below average food for breakfast

Room Tip: Request Room: 208 for an excellent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmi Zarul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbarchetta, Direttore at Hotel Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review. It's good to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we appreciate your positive feedback. I also appreciate your criticism regarding wifi that we are solving soon. Regards breakfast, I respect your point of view but disagree with your
description of "basic and no variety food selection". Our buffet breakfast has a full range of hot and cold selection and the best cappuccino in town!
Best regards,
Robert Webber
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

This hotel had a magnificent view of Lake Como. It was clean, comfortable and quiet at night. It could get warm at night without AC. We stayed only one night as we took the ferry from one end of the lake to the other. The dock was only a few minutes away. Really beautiful small village.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mamasalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbarchetta, Direttore at Hotel Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review. It's great to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we appreciate your positive feedback.
Hope to welcome you back in the future,
Best regards,
Robert Webber
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

The location of this is excellent but it saddens me when in the 21st century a time of social.media and the internet does this hotel fail to provide.Yes it does have wifi but not free in the room and if you cjoose to purchase their hourly package be prepared to part with €5 per hour . You can persist with the free wifi in the lobby but one needs to be patient and speed is the same as in 1999. I have read reviews on teip advisor and almost all complaints are about the internet and even though management replies to these comments they fail to address the problem whixh to me indicates is more interested in cost saving . The rooms were very outdated and small with very thin walls so sleeping soundly if yoyr a light sleeper maybe a problem
Their restaurant is very good however and service is very polished and professional. I cant say that about the breakfast room staff 8.minutes laye in opening and once inside things not fully set up (no bread or rolls) this was annoying as we had.to catch a train at 7.40am bit of a rush. Common guys listen to what your public is saying and address the issues or just maybe your all out of a job with a hotel with no customers

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thai-riffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbarchetta, Direttore at Hotel Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about the minor inconveniences you encountered during your stay and decided to share with fellow readers. Allow me to explain. We are aware
of the wi-fi being a set-back, but our project to give free wi-fi will be finalized within this year. I can guarantee that we listening to our guests with great attention, nevetheless some projects
take longer than others. Believe me, cost saving is not involved in this issue.
Regarding the rooms, please note that all rooms have been refurbished recently. New beds,
new curtains, new chairs, new carpet, new flooring, new bathroom doors, new taps. Externally
new balconies, new facade and new soundproof window fittings. I would say far from being
outdated.
As far as breakfast is concerned, guest are always welcome even if the buffet is still being
completed. Service always begins at 7 am sharp.
Best regards,
Robert Webber
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainhome, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

View of lake and location were both superb. Room decor was commercial but of a reasonable size. Breakfast was standard but good. Staff was extremely nice and helpful. But, at $450/night it was expensive and it really irritated me when they wanted to charge extra for wifi.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank G N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbarchetta, Direttore at Hotel Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your recent review following your stay at the Barchetta Excelsior. Your compliments are most welcomed and I will gladly share them with my team. I am sorry
we were unable to offer free wifi. We are aware this is a weak point and we are working on
a project to enable free wifi throughout the hotel for all guests. For future readers, the rate
refers to a peak season fair price, applied during the recent Proposte Textile fair.
Best regards,
Robert Webber
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
310 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

This hotel was indeed the best one among the three we stayed during our trip in Lombardy. It was pleasant in many ways since it met expectations in terms of soundproof room, brilliant view on the lake, comfortable bed, decent breakfast for an Italian hotel and great location, however there are few things that make the overall experience average instead of very good. Room's furniture and bathroom/shower could be better in terms of modernity, and the absence of free wifi in the room is a minus. While booking I was aware that Wifi in the room was not for free, and as said for similar experiences, I am fine with that while on vacation. Anyhow, in the XXI century a hotel that is not able to offer this service for free, misses great opportunities.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbarchetta, Direttore at Hotel Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your recent review following your stay at the Barchetta Excelsior. Your compliments are most welcomed and I trust your stay was enjoyable. I am sorry we
were unable to offer free wifi. We are aware this is a weak point and we are working on
a project to enable free wifi throughout the hotel for all guests. Coming soon ....
Best regards,
Robert Webber
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel is in the best location, right on the waterfront. We paid for a room with a view, but this was a little unnecessary as we didn't use the balcony.
The room was clean and had daily maid service, but we really missed the tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
The boat departure station is right out side the hotel as is the funicular ,so the hotel is is the perfect location.
We liked the fact that the bar staff do not adhere to 'English bar measures'.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sherlock50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbarchetta, Direttore at Hotel Barchetta Excelsior, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased to read that you had a great stay with us at the Hotel Barchetta Excelsior. I hope our bartender wasn't TOO generous! Only joking!
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Very best regards,
Robert Webber
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Como hotels
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 33 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.5 mi away
Borgo Antico Hotel
Borgo Antico Hotel
#2 of 33 in Como
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albergo Terminus Hotel
0.5 mi away
Borgovico Hotel
Borgovico Hotel
#1 of 33 in Como
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#6 of 33 in Como
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barchetta Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barchetta Excelsior

Property: Hotel Barchetta Excelsior
Address: Piazza Camillo Benso Conte di Cavour 1, 22100, Como, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Como
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Como
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barchetta Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Hotel Barchetta Excelsior you are surrounded by beauty: the villas with their gardens, art exhibitions, silk outlets, boutiques, romantic boat trips, renowned golf clubs. The only hotel in Como with over 50 rooms facing the lake offering a breathtaking view of one of the world's most beautiful sceneries. The hotel is located a few steps from the Cathedral and from the city center and close to the shopping area. Every single moment you spend in Como will be unique and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Barchetta Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barchetta Excelsior Como
Barchetta Excelsior Hotel Como
Hotel Barchetta Excelsior Como, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing